We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect perfect perfect!”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2007

My husband and our 2 children ages 12 and 7 spent 3 wonderful nights in the angel fish cabin, it was WONDERFUL!!
Joy and Rita were so friendly and helpful.

The beach is unforgettable, a wonderful breeze coming right off the ocean just feet away.

We were there during 07 lobsterfest, which was just a few yards down the beach from our cabin. we loved it, every night after the kids were asleep we would go sit on our pourch and listen to the live band. it would go untill 3am everynight....if you don't like party music book another weekend.

The best food at the best prices was at the De Tatch it was 2 doors down from Ranguana.
Our cabin had a frig, microwave, coffee pot and AIR! but with the wonderful breeze you don't even need it!

I can not say enough great things about our stay they are way to many to list!

We will be going back next year same time same place.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prissieKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Ranguana Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2007

we have just returned from 2 weeks in belize. our first stop was in placencia, a little village in the south. we found the ranguana lodge in the lonely planet guide (love it) it was their first choice and ours now too. upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely brenda, so helpful and warm. our cabana had a kitchen, private porch with hammock and hot/cold shower (never needed the hot is was VERY warm there). joy and brenda were always ready to book a tour, help with our laundry and brenda even got a phone card for me AND made us reservations up north in caye caulker...

the ranguana is very close to good restaurants and fun bars....
the locals are really fun in placencia as well

we will (hopefully) return there one day...

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank hazelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2007

Cabanas are beautiful, gorgeous grounds w/ tons of flowers, right on teh beach (get a beachfront cabana), comfortable bed, right in town but still quite. After seeing other accomodations in placencia, i was so glad i had stayed at ranguana.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eminzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We stayed in Ranguana Lodge for 6 nights. Placencia is the best. The Cabanas - we had a garden one - was about 20 feet from the beach and what a beach. Small by international standards but clean, white sand and gently shelving shore. No rocks or shingle and very very long. You can stand up in the water up to about 20 feet in. Even here huge starfish and fish abound. It has some of the best snorkling and diving to be had in Belize. I would recommend diving with Splash Belize. Pati was a great instructor and took us to some great places.

In our three weeks in Belize we stayed in the mountains, Belize City, Corozal, Placencia and Caye Caulker, Placencia was by a long mark far and away the best place. Very friendly locals, even other guests say "good morning" as you pass its that infectious, great food at great prices, well priced drinks. Not many restaurants or beach bars but what there is is great value. We felt safe and carefree the whole time.

The lodge was basic but clean. It was cleaned every morning with clean sheets and towels provided every day. It had a coffee machine and microwave and full sized fridge with freezer. Joy had great and friendly staff. The area had lovely flowers all over the place most visited quite regularly by humming birds. The beach was never full and you could walk the length of it, right to turtle point and beyond, in the surf, even at night. We walked back from Turtle Inn to Ranguana - 40 minutes - and felt safe the whole time.

I cant name any one bar or restaurant because we didnt have a bad meal the whole time we were there. The only thing that varied was the size of the meals. Be prepared to wait up to 40 minutes for your meal (depending on what you order) as everything is made freshly. That means the rice has to be boiled or the chicken has to be cooked.

The sandflies were not in evidence and the mozzies were negligable. A little "Off" applied and you wouldnt know they were out.

Mrs Beuala does the best "Bun" and "Creole Bread" in Placencia. She bakes and sells it in her own kitchen. A little sign indicates the way. Try it fresh after 10:00am every morning with butter. Brilliant with a coffee from the Secret Garden just across the way.

Dont by your hammocks here, if you can buy them in Belize City Tourist area, much cheaper.

If there is a down side its after dark when the local hoods try to sell you weed. We were not offered anything stronger so that was a blessing.

All in all a very pleasant experience. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Ranguana Lodge or Placencia. We are going to go back and we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Sun_tan_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2007

Just stayed six days in the Parrot Fish cabana of the ocean front Ranguana Lodge on the sidewalk in Placentia, Belize. Since we stayed here after reading tripadvisor reviews, we wanted to put our two cents in.

At $84 per night total cost, this was the bargain of our vacation. The room is simple, but virtually spotless and the location is unbeatable. We never got tired of walking up and down the sidewalk or just sitting in the beach chairs or hammock on the front porch. The oean and sand are literally your front yard. The huge refrigerater, microwave and coffee maker in the room allows you to take care of the basics, but we frequented the many restaurants for everything.

We had considered staying at fancier places up the road and are glad we went here. The manager Joy and her assistant are terrific. They recommended tour operators for excusions (Nite Wind at the harbor), handled our huge pile of laundary and booked our flight to Caye Caulker (book the Seaside Cabanas there, more expensive but worth it).

One tip. Book the ocean front cabanas to be closest to the water (
the two on the outside are best).

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank merrypranksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We stayed in the clean, bright Parrot Fish cabin just paces from the water's edge. This was the perfect beachfront paradise experience - great hammock, beautiful view, bars a stone's throw down the beach. Perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Unattributable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2006

My wife and I visited Placencia from April 9-14. We stayed in the Shell Fish cabana (purple, non-A/C). It was perfect. There was no need for A/C during our visit and was actually glad not to have it as it forced us to keep the windows open which allowed us to hear the waves crashing on the beach throughout the night. Very relaxing! As another reviewer mentioned, the garden cabanas are a bit “rustic” but we found them to be cozy and comfortable. All the cabanas were meticulously cleaned each day. The kitchenette was stocked with every utensil you would need to prepare a meal, but with DeTatch and Trattoria mere footsteps away – why would you cook? The blender however came in handy on multiple occasions! :)

The entire staff is superb. You want to book a tour? No problem! Dinner suggestions? No problem!
If I am fortunate enough to return to Placencia, I will be staying at Ranguana

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yeti249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#7 of 20 in Placencia
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £52 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing