We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect spot on the beach in placencia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“a perfect spot on the beach in placencia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

We loved this place.We travelled down from Cancun stopping at chetumal/belize city and san pedro along the way.However this was by far the best hotel up to this point.The cabana was situated right on the beach in the centre of placencia.The room was spacious, very clean with a good fridge/air con and bathroom.The staff were excellent and we just loved the location and atmosphere of the place.It is quiet a small place fitting in well with the general atmosphere of the area and if you are looking for a relaxing hol on the beach with a quiet location this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madjide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    35
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
81
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

We hadn't planned on visiting Placencia as the Lonely Planet claims it is just an ex-pat community and that could not be farthest from the truth. Two travelers raved about Placencia so we decided to go there. We didn't have reservations and were so lucky to get a cabana at Ranguana Lodge for $70/night. The setting is gorgeous with lush vegetation and a view of the sea, even from the cabana we had that was not seaside. The cabana had two queen size beds, kitchen table and chairs, shelves for hanging clothes, a full kitchen, a lock box for passports and money, hot water, and a hammock on a gorgeous veranda. We spent five nights here and our only complaint was the obnoxiously loud music Saturday night from Tipsy Tuna, which is the local sports bar near Ranguana. If you want to get sleep before midnight on a Saturday night, bring ear plugs.

The staff was very helpful and our room was cleaned every day. Don't forget to sign the petition against cruise ships coming to Placencia Village. It would ruin the place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

The cabins are right on the beach and in the middle of town, so the location is perfect! The rooms are clean and spacious and the price is pretty good for the location. The owner was very helpful in giving us ideas where to go and what daytrips to book. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Acceb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Lovely little cottages ideally located. Friendly staff and super clean cabins. Great price and very close walking distance to everything. Highly recommend you eart at Rumfish e vino- great wine list! There is an in room safe which I highly recommend you use. I had two pair or earrings that I forgot to put in the safe and both of them ended up missing. Given that both pair disappeared, I am 100% certain I didn't lose or misplace them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cas0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

The location is absolutely perfect! It couldn't be any closer to the ocean and is in pretty much the center of "town". 20 feet to each side of Ranguana are great restaurants, D'Tatch and a fantastic pizza place called Trevors (its new but the locals were all there!). The grounds are immaculate, the beach is kept clean and raked, and the bungalows are simple and very clean. The A/C worked fine, thank goodness. Joy, the owner, couldn't have more helpful. We checked out all the other places we considered staying and I would only go back to Ranguana. We debated wanting to stay in Maya Beach but having met several couples on our trip, they all wished they had stayed in town. The town is wonderful and it would be hard to experience it just by visiting for the day. Ranguana lodge is right on the famous sidewalk and swimming in front was great. I guess the amount of seagrass varies with winds, weather, etc because it wasn't bad and everyone was swimming on this stretch of the beach without a problem. Unless you need a resort with lots of amenities and like hanging out in your room on vacation, this is a great uncomplicated place that really lets you feel part of Placencia.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

We had a great 5 days at this lovely little resort the location can't be beat and the bungalows are cleaned every day. It was nice to have a microwave, toaster, coffee pot and full fridge to use there is also a BQ for all guests near the office. It is true the gellato in town is the best this side of Italy. We only did one tour and it was with NiteWind Tours it was quite an experience , we went snorkelling at Ranguana Caye 1 hour boat ride out our driver Ian was great the guide was very good but the owners would only put a certain amount of gas in the boat and it wasn't enough to get back due to rough waters.We had a sick lady having an asthma attack a sick boy and there we sat until dark before they got gas to us and it would have been alot longer if we hadn't been able to drop anchor. Our 9:00 to 3:00 tour got in at 7:00 with very cold and upset people on board. There was no one from the company to meet us so we stopped in the next moring to see what they had to say and they blamed the driver and us for making the driver look for whale sharks she lied and would not take responceability at all. All we wanted was them to say sorry because mistakes do happen but to put the blame on the 7 passengers was very bad business. There are many tour companies in town with good reputations I would check around.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed in the butterfly fish cabana which was very roomy and had a great kitchenette and beautiful garden view. It was very clean, as were the grounds and lovely gardens. I think it is the best place right in Placencia, but there is a club nearby which is very loud late into the night/morning on Friday and Saturday nights, even with earplugs. Of course, other hotels so nicely situated are also close to this club, too. If you can, time your stay during the week. Security is an issue in Placencia, but they have a bolted safe in the room and seem to have better security than most.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iguanasonmyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.2 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.7 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Property: Ranguana Lodge
Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing