We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect loacation”
Review of Ranguana Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ranguana Lodge
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights in the Parrot Fish cabana. Basically, we walked down 3 steps off of our porch and were on the beach, about 20 steps more and we were in the sea. Our cabana was air conditioned, but with the sea breeze we didn't even need it most of the time. There was a full size fridge, a coffee maker, toaster and microwave oven in or room which meant we could have breakfast on our front porch(there are also 2 restaurants within steps if that is not for you). Plus, the Lodge is in Placencia village itself so everything from restaurants, to tour operators, grocery stores and souvenir shops are never more then, at most,a 10 minute walk away. Try Tutti Frutti, best gelato ever!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekkergirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

We had a fantastic experience at Ranguana Lodge! We stayed in the Trigger Fish cabana and loved the view, the sound of the waves, the easy access to the water, and the comfortable beach seating (shade or sun). The staff members were cordial and very helpful both before and during our stay. We were amazed at the cleanliness and beauty of the lush grounds. The concrete walkway access to the cabanas was lined with mature trees, shrubs, and flowers. Nearly every morning, the grounds were raked and vegetation pruned. Our cabana was comfortable and clean. Housekeeping did a great job tidying up the room each day. Convenient laundry service was also a plus. Joy, the Ranguana owner and Placencia native, obviously takes great pride in how the family property is maintained. Guest comfort was clearly a priority. We’d love to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B-and-FMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We loved it here! We stayed in a garden cabana and were still able to see the ocean from our porch. The room was very clean and the kitchen has everything you need. It didn’t have an AC, but it has 2 ceiling fans and 2 standing fans. During the day it was about 85 degrees and the room was still comfortable. The TV has tons of channels including the movie channels. I read other reviews about it being loud because of the Tipsy Tuna next door, but we didn’t experience this. Every morning there was someone cleaning the beach and garden area so it always looked nice. The staff was nice. Check out was at 11am but our flight didn't leave until 2pm so they let us leave our luggage in the office while we hung out at a bar next door. Ranguana is in the village so we walked to everything. De’Tatch Restaurant and Bar is very close and has good prices. Tutti Frutti is a must!! I strongly recommend Placencia & Ranguana Lodge!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scl0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We loved this place.We travelled down from Cancun stopping at chetumal/belize city and san pedro along the way.However this was by far the best hotel up to this point.The cabana was situated right on the beach in the centre of placencia.The room was spacious, very clean with a good fridge/air con and bathroom.The staff were excellent and we just loved the location and atmosphere of the place.It is quiet a small place fitting in well with the general atmosphere of the area and if you are looking for a relaxing hol on the beach with a quiet location this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madjide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We hadn't planned on visiting Placencia as the Lonely Planet claims it is just an ex-pat community and that could not be farthest from the truth. Two travelers raved about Placencia so we decided to go there. We didn't have reservations and were so lucky to get a cabana at Ranguana Lodge for $70/night. The setting is gorgeous with lush vegetation and a view of the sea, even from the cabana we had that was not seaside. The cabana had two queen size beds, kitchen table and chairs, shelves for hanging clothes, a full kitchen, a lock box for passports and money, hot water, and a hammock on a gorgeous veranda. We spent five nights here and our only complaint was the obnoxiously loud music Saturday night from Tipsy Tuna, which is the local sports bar near Ranguana. If you want to get sleep before midnight on a Saturday night, bring ear plugs.

The staff was very helpful and our room was cleaned every day. Don't forget to sign the petition against cruise ships coming to Placencia Village. It would ruin the place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPCVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

The cabins are right on the beach and in the middle of town, so the location is perfect! The rooms are clean and spacious and the price is pretty good for the location. The owner was very helpful in giving us ideas where to go and what daytrips to book. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acceb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Lovely little cottages ideally located. Friendly staff and super clean cabins. Great price and very close walking distance to everything. Highly recommend you eart at Rumfish e vino- great wine list! There is an in room safe which I highly recommend you use. I had two pair or earrings that I forgot to put in the safe and both of them ended up missing. Given that both pair disappeared, I am 100% certain I didn't lose or misplace them.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cas0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#15 of 20 in Placencia
126 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranguana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranguana Lodge

Address: Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £52 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ranguana Hotel Placencia
Ranguana Resort Placencia
Ranguana Lodge Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing