We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

All I can say is... WOW. I don't usually write reviews of any kind, but wanted to take the time to write how AMAZING this place is to all who are reading. The pool is to die for - and the swim up bar is the icing on the cake - especially with a rum punch in your hand. They make any drink that you request, and the staff are so friendly that you'll get the chance to get to know them during your stay. The infinity pool is always crystal clear and you have an amazing view of the beach as it is just meters away from the pool.

The beach is always well-manicured and so pleasant to float in for hours at a time - you'll lose track of time and the waves lull you into relaxation. The rooms are lovely with tasteful decorations and every detail is taken care of. Strong WiFi connection at the pool too! The AC is a wonderful addition to the place and you are always at a comfortable temperature while in your room at night. My boyfriend and I stayed here and enjoyed every minute. From the swimming in the pool and ocean - to the friendly staff - to the yummy menu - to the paddle boards/kayaks - to the luxurious rooms - everything was just lovely. The lagoon side is also really beautiful and a wedding was taking place while we were there that looked so romantic.

I'll definitely be going there again on my next vacation to Belize. A great place to unwind and recharge. You'll fill your camera with jealousy-inducing pictures everywhere you look. The BOC is what you imagine when you think about a dreamy Caribbean resort. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    135
    28
    16
    7
See reviews for
176
246
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis,IN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I depend on reviews to plan our vacations and these previous reviews from mine are all true! We still never know what people are describing until we actually get there. I took the chance and this place is so far above our expectations. Yes, it is not complete - they are still building the high end restaurant across the road on the lagoon side. So the menu now is limited. And yes, it is 20 minutes from Placencia Village which by the way is amazingly unique with true Belizian people and Belizian atmosphere and has everything you would want but in a very quaint way. But what is a 20 minute ride really when the hotel gives complimentary rides wherever you want on the whole peninsula? Taxis are high to get back but my husband and I want to support the locals by spending some extra to support them as well as tipping all service people so we let the free Hotel shuttle take us in and tip them and take a taxi back. Taxis are easy to get. The thing is, this hotel is AMAZING in appearance, decor, cleanliness, maintenance, staff, drinks, food quality, and the gentle waves and breezes are constantly in your view and experience. The pool, bar and landscaping is opulent yet so relaxing, you are fine to wear your shorts and sandals at all times. The pool- just wow!-never have seen one like it before- just gorgeous. The rooms are comfortable and have the perfect island feel. The bed is perfectly comfortable. We never want to leave and feel that our time here will be a memory of the most perfect Caribbean beach vacation we could ever dream of. We have traveled to many international beaches and this Hotel beach setting is the closest to the water we have ever been with a wide view of the Plecencian coastline. No bad views when the hotel is right at the ocean. We think that now is when to go because when this Hotel is complete it will be too high priced for us. We got great room rates right now for what we have. Hope this helps! We love it!!!! Oh yes, and the staff tries as far as they can to get you what you are requesting. Just wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chapjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took a gamble on a new destination (Belize) and a new resort. Beautiful facility very low key and the staff was fantastic. It was steps from the ocean and the food was very good although the menu was limited. Lots to do nearby

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartyfunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Opened in mid December and totally off the radar screen this hotel has some big strengths and some weaknesses that are way offset by the inexpensive price. When we visited in March the hotel was nearly empty. Positives: brand new resort, not overly large, rooms we'll appointed, huge nice pool, great bar with best drinks in placencia, great service, a relatively (for Belize) big beach, decor was nice a cross between Belize and Miami and as mentioned the prices are way below alternatives such as Lara beyu (although we liked Laru beyu better)... Food was not great although you are golf cart ride away from maya beach bistro which has best food in the area, beach is nice but like almost all of Belize the water is not clear carribean blue until 60 feet offshore, the location of the hotel is a bit in the hinterlands (20-30 minutes outside of placencia where you will start a lot of activities). Overall though given the relatively low price to alternatives for brand new very nice accommodations far outweigh the issues with location and food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed two weeks at the Belize Ocean Club with our son and daughter-in-law, this is our last day! It has been awesome! The front office staff, drivers especially Francis, Lorraine, Charlie and Crystal at the bar and dining room were great. Food was very good, the kitchen would prepare items at request not even on the menu! Our rooms were immaculate and spacious. Staff including housekeeping and grounds people were so kind and friendly, Felt extremely safe at all times. The Ocean Club provided complimentary shuttle to the town, airport and grocery store. Sad to leave, a gem in Belize, hope to return with the rest of our family!

Room Tip: The fitness center will be open soon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a 10 day stay at the Belize ocean club. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and the beach and pool are steps away from the rooms. What truly makes this place special is the amazing staff, they are so polite and friendly. I recommend getting a car as the hotel is a 20 minute drive to Placencia village. The only negative is that the food is a bit expensive for what you get but there a plenty of restaurants in village to eat at.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanFrancisco
Level Contributor
170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This resort just opened in the last couple months. It was previously the Bella Maya. Which had opened in 2008. It didn't survive much more than a year, management problems I guess. But, it was such a beautiful property, good spot on the Placencia peninsula . NOW, a Wow! So we decided to check it out, as they have a Sunday beach party open to the public. Go, it was a really fun time. Good marketing tool to get people to come check it out.
I would describe it as very Caribbean cosmopolitan. People we met who we're staying there loved the rooms. We all agreed the staff are very friendly and attentive. Especially Efner and Jason!! Great place, upscale for the Peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
7.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
15.7 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
294 reviews
15.8 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Ocean Club Resort

Property: Belize Ocean Club Resort
Address: Placencia, Maya Beach, Stann Creek, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belize Ocean Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Ocean Club straddles a beautiful and lush peninsula on the tropical coast of Belize. It is bordered on both sides with water, with the Caribbean Sea on one side, and a scenic lagoon with views of the Maya Mountain range on the other. Rooms are 1100 sq-feet condos, and boast 2 bedrooms and two baths. All rooms are fully equipped for overnight or extended stay, with full kitchen, flat-screen TVs, restaurant, bar, and room service. Featuring one of Belize's finest pools, patrons can swim the length of the infinity pool and sit in the water to be served the chef-engineered drinks and food. 16 Degrees Restaurant features menu selections from all over the Caribbean, all served in a tropical setting among some of nature's best inventions: thatch, sand, sea and sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Belize Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Ocean Club Resort Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing