We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Every Minute of Our Stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belize Ocean Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved Every Minute of Our Stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had the very best time at Belize Ocean Club!!! The staff are friendly, helpful and really do all they can to accommodate their guests. We had a Oceanfront room on the 2nd floor. It was huge!! Really nice, only think was wish the lighting in the bathrooms were a little brighter. The hotel offers free shuttles to Placencia which is great as it's a good 20 minutes away. Then we would just grab a cab home. It is a great place to relax by the beach or pool and have a Rum Punch! The hotel offers bikes to ride and we used them a few times to explore. If you get to stay over a weekend, hang around for the Sunday Pool Party! This event is open to the town and we met so many awesome people who own or work in Placencia at the bars/restaurants and Inns. We would come back again in a heartbeat!!! Absolutely LOVED this place and all the great people we met.

Room Tip: Get an Oceanview room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    114
    26
    14
    7
See reviews for
146
223
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the BOC for one week in June 2014. Just in time for Lobster Fest. We enjoyed our stay, but they have some kinks to work out. The staff was wonderful and tried to accommodate our every need or want. The rooms were spacious with great views. There were some unhappy people because the hotel didn't have paddle boards, but that was minor. The pool was nice and spacious and was cleaned everyday. The beach was cleaned throughout the day by the staff. The water was a bit rough this time of year, but the breeze was wonderful.

We walked to the Bistro Restaurant which was down the road from BOC. We also tried Mango and a couple other restaurants. We went on a day trip to Laughing Bird Caye and ate at Brenda's Caribbean Shack on the pier. We ate fresh lobster at the Lobster Fest and danced to some great music.

The BOC staff, especially Francis, Emmanuel and Jason treated us like family. In time this will be a great place once its restaurant and the lagoon side is opened. We went into town each day for breakfast or dinner with no problems. I will visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms on the ocean side have a great view. Rooms have a kitchen if you'd like to cook. Do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cwashin403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Belize Ocean Club was so disappointing that we stayed only one night of our planned three. The staff was nice and tried hard, but they just don't have enough to work with. To begin with, the hotel is quite far from the town of Placencia, about a 20-minute car ride. They have a shuttle into town, but it only goes four times a day, at intervals of three to four hours. So if you are interested in seeing the town or having a meal there, it's hard to get to. Second, the beach is small, and on both ends of the hotel property it becomes impassible, so there is no way to walk down the beach. There was very little usable water-sports equipment. The pool was not very clean, and drinks from the beachfront bar weren't very good.

To be fair, the rooms were very large, with kitchens and nice patios. However, there was no safe for our valuables, which made us a little nervous. Dinner was unexpectedly good. And the staff did seem to be making a real effort. But this place needs a lot of attention before it will be worth staying in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a great time at the hotel! My husband and I usually rent private homes, but wanted something easy this time around so we chose BOC on a whim. The staff was great and the room was lovely, clean and modern. The food at the poolside bar is not good, but there are lots of options walking distance in Maya Beach. We loved the Bistro and Mango's. The pool was perfect, and you need it since the ocean is rough and silty there. Overall a nice experience on a gorgeous little caye.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swoyersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The resort was excellent! It was well maintained and very clean. The staff does an excellent job. They are very accomodating and we never had to wait for anything. It was a very pleasurable vacation!!

Room Tip: Building 2 (rooms 201, 202, 203) are right by the pool and very accessible for all activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place was great. It is a small and newer hotel that they are still putting finishing touches to but none of that mattered b/c the price for this type of hotel, service and specially location was worth it. Placencia is a small quiet town. There are great restaurants in town. Great spot for family vacation. Great water activities. If you are looking to relax and do bunch of outdoor activities, I think this is a great option. if you are looking to party, this town is not it.

Room Tip: we had the penthouse. it was great b/c it was on 3rd floor so better view and bigger space, but its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeemak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dfw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We come to belize often. We visit all over the country when we are here. We know what to expect with service etc. This place is just average. They are trying but not there. The staff is not prepared when they are busy. They are polite and friendly all of the time but often miss the little things, like making sure they take drink orders from everyone at the table. We were there during World Cup games and it was obvious that several guests were there in the bar speck all for the matches and the owner insisted on playing music rather than the match commentary.
Also, while we were there the power went out for several (3-4) hours in the night. It got hot. We were informed that there was no back up generator which is why the power stayed off. You would think that would be a priority knowing belize power issues in the south and the heat (duldroms anyone?), however the resort installed several new tv's in the bar... Priorities right?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveler8675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
7.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
15.6 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
15.8 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belize Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belize Ocean Club Resort

Property: Belize Ocean Club Resort
Address: Placencia, Maya Beach, Stann Creek, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Belize Ocean Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belize Ocean Club straddles a beautiful and lush peninsula on the tropical coast of Belize. It is bordered on both sides with water, with the Caribbean Sea on one side, and a scenic lagoon with views of the Maya Mountain range on the other. Rooms are 1100 sq-feet condos, and boast 2 bedrooms and two baths. All rooms are fully equipped for overnight or extended stay, with full kitchen, flat-screen TVs, restaurant, bar, and room service. Featuring one of Belize's finest pools, patrons can swim the length of the infinity pool and sit in the water to be served the chef-engineered drinks and food. The Shore House Restaurant features menu selections from all over the Caribbean, all served in a tropical setting among some of nature's best inventions: thatch, sand, sea and sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Belize Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belize Ocean Club Resort Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing