We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy getaway on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maya Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maya Breeze Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy getaway on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at Maya Breeze inn for two nights having come from another guest house in San Ignacio. Initially we thought that we wouldn't like our stay but adjusted once we settled in. The cabana's were clean and the hotel staff and owner were very friendly and welcoming. It was very quiet and the other guests kept to themselves. The only drawback we had was that there was no breakfast. We had to trek to the local restaurant partly because we timed our visit around Belizean independence day and because the Inn no longer served breakfast. Placencia is a great holiday destination. The Maya breeze inn offers great beach front and also canoeing for those that dare venture to the island across the water. If you looking for a relaxing getaway to read your book by the pool or beach, order drinks at the bar, go bird watching etc... without breaking the bank this is the place for you. My wife and I enjoyed it for these attributes.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you very much for your comments. Although we do not have a restaurant now, there are two of the highest ranked restaurants in all of Placencia on either side of us and within walking distance.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    9
    1
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We live in Belize. Maya Breeze was paradise found! Dax the owner was great Beautiful & relaxing. Tiki bar at door step, the sea just feet away, beautiful pool, great bartender Jake.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Maya Breeze is a great value and exceeded our expectations by far. We stayed in Cabana A right on the beach for our 31st anniversary and loved it. The cabana is simple and spacious with a queen bed with good quality sheets, private full bath (water in shower does not get super hot but warm enough), armoire, A/C, fridge, hot plate and coffee maker. We didn't attempt more than breakfast in the room. Their cafe wasn't open but there were plenty of good food options within walking distance in the little community of Maya Beach. You can also walk to 2 convenience stores. The staff is warm and friendly, as are most Belizeans. We had use of the kayaks and snorkel gear and rented bikes at the B&B next door. The crystal clear pool is well-maintained and nicely nestled between the cabanas and next to the beach bar. The beach tiki bar is very cool and attracts Placencia locals as well as tourists from nearby hotels. Will, the bartender, is a terrific and interesting young man with a head full of knowledge on the history and culture of his country. He shuts down at a reasonable hour so it is not disturbing at all. We rode bikes into the village of Placencia one day and took the local bus another.There is a new highway with a bike lane the whole way. There's even a bowling alley within walking distance. After a few days you feel like you're part of a community.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you for your Great comments. We are proud to now offer out guests free use of our own kayaks and snorkeling gear. I hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We had the beach front room with bath, a few steps to the beach.
NIce swimming. Across the road is a "motorized" bike shop....the way to get around several miles to Placencia. "the lazy man's bike";

Will the bartender is awesome. Cold, cold, cold draft belikin.

Dax the owner is his own phenomenon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mishkocpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thanks so much for your comments! Please consider staying with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

My family and I stayed at Maya Breeze on a whim as we hadn't made reservations anywhere. We ended up in cabin D with two rooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and a living room. Although the couch wasn't comfortable to sit on, we left it as a futon and used it for a lounge area. Drinking water was supplied to our unit, and dishes and cookware. Violetta cleaned for us and changed the sheets and towels every 2 days (rather than everyday), which was great for helping reduce excessive waste for the environment. The pool is cleaned by salt rather than chlorine which I loved for the kids as they spent every spare moment in there. Dax taught my daughter to dive properly and my son loved chatting with him. There were kayaks available to us, but unfortunately we ran out of time doing all the other activities around so we never got to use them. The beach is well kept and the tiki bar gave the parents a place to hang out and socialize after the kids were put to bed in the evening. We had a great time and would highly recommend this place to families, couples or single travellers... it would fit the bill!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thatcrazygirlcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience with the trip adviser community. The fact that you mention our pools cleanliness and our devotion to the environment as well as our guests means a lot to us! We hope that you come back soon and give out kayaks a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mounds, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

We had a wonderful, stay at Maya Breeze. It is a beautiful, relaxing, family oriented place where everyone makes you feel at home. The manager, Helen, accomodated us in every way, and even took care of all the details of our trip, including all the flights back and forth in Belize with Tropic Air. Dax, the owner, made sure we were comfortable and gave us lots of local information to make our stay easier. The bartender at the beach Palapa was very friendly and helpful, along with every employee of the resort that we talked to. The owner was getting married the day we left, but his new bride to time out in the middle of preparation for the wedding to give us a goodby hug and wish us well. Her young sons entertained our 11 year old son the entire time and teated him like their brother. The place and the people were simply amazing and we will return. I recommend this resort highly for anyone needing a little rest and relaxation.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scienceteacher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you for your great comments. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my sons and staff could be helpful and accommodating. We greatly appreciate your business and hope that you return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

After reading the many bad reviews of this small resort we called to cancel our reservations. The manager (at that time) promised us a money back guarantee if we were not happy there. The day we arrived we found that she had just quit. Oh, oh! We found Maya Breeze to be a great little place, great rooms, great pool, nice beach and outstanding staff. The problem was the owner. We enjoyed most of our visit until the owner initiated a loud, physical, drunken fight with the bartender in the middle of our 7th night. The police were involved and we felt that we had to walk on eggshells for the rest of the stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluemorphomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Maya Breeze. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are now under new ownership and management. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with visitors and want you to feel welcome and "at home" for your entire stay. If you come back to The Maya Breeze Inn I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. -Violetta M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#21 of 27 in Placencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miller's Landing Resort
Miller's Landing Resort
#15 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
SailFish Resort
SailFish Resort
#8 of 28 in Placencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Breeze Inn

Property: Maya Breeze Inn
Address: # 5 Maya Beach Way | Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Breeze Inn is located on the Placencia Peninsula in Maya Beach, Belize, Central America. Maya or Tropic Air Airlines service the Placencia area several times a day or you can rent a car and drive from Belize City. The Inn consists of four beach cabins (for a total of five units) facing the Caribbean sea, a main lodge with the Inn's office and four guest rooms on the Placencia Lagoon, all with air conditioning,cable tv, refrigerators, hot water, fans, lock boxes and private balconies. The Inn has internet service for those who need to check in back home.Maya Breeze Inn caters to those guests who are looking for active adventure tours. Scuba diving, snorkeling and prime fishing grounds are found only a few miles offshore. Day trips can be arranged to explore the river, jungles, bird watching, Maya ruins, cave, peninsula tour, exploration or even mountain rappelling.You can walk the beach, swim in the ocean, play beach volleyball, go kayaking, ride bicycles, moped rentals, beach bbq, or relax on our white sandy beach with a cold beverage from our Tiki Beach Bar or sway in hammock under a palm tree. Come cool off in our beautiful Pool with its spectacular waterfall. For lunch and dinner there are a variety of restaurants and a convenience store within walking distance of the Inn or choose from a variety of restaurants that provide courtesy transfers. We can also arrange transportation to Placencia to shop or dine in local restaurants.Mayabreeze inn is presently under new ownership/management and wants to invite all its clients past and present to come experience true tropical vacation with us, once again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maya Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Breeze Hotel Placencia
Maya Breeze Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing