We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!”
Review of Maya Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maya Breeze Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
Reviewed 3 July 2009

Great Hotel and a great value! The owner and staff are so nice and accomodating. We were originally staying at the hotel next to theirs but when we had an infestation of bugs we came to the Maya Breeze. What a difference! This place is great. We stayed in cabana A which is right on the beach and is in top condition. The rooms are very clean and well equipted. Everyday they put fresh flowers in your room and have a daily maid service. There pool is also great for a dip. The bartender John at the tiki bar on the beach makes THE BEST pina coladas by far!!
Overall this place is great! Stay here if you can.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
thank you very much for your comments! we are glad to hear that the rooms were up to your expectation! as this is one of the highest priorities of mine and my staff. Our daily maid service will be glad to see your comments and discuss new ways to improve the rooms further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    9
    1
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We were shown more attention by Dax and Helen than anyplace we've ever vacationed before. The nearby surroundings: pool, beach, bar... were better than we possibly imagined. Dax took us to (and pointed out) the local highlights and accompanied us on an amazing snorkeling trip for a great price. We were able to get around on other adventures too, we weren't locked into any set plan at Maya Breeze Inn. In Placencia City I often felt like a tourist, but on Maya Beach I felt right at home. At times felt I was being too reckless, and sometimes I worried about coming out of the trip in one piece, but I certainly feel now that my memories of that place and the reception we received from the Maya Beach locals and staff at and around the Maya Breeze Inn was top notch. This place is a great adventure. There are top notch restaurants nearby, and though it is a good distance from Placencia City if you don't have a car, we never went without an amazing meal when we wanted it. One warning, don't feel you have to do every crazy that's available. We tried, and perhaps wore ourselves out doing it. But it was fun, and I don't regret very much of it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeoldeoperahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you think this is a great place to adventure! I agree. Thank you very much for your comments! and please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2009

If you are looking for a low-stress and relaxing place to visit in a tropical
locale, I totally recommend "The Maya Breeze Inn" in Placencia, Belize!
The service was outstanding, and Dax, the owner, and Helen, the manager,
helped us with every possible need, from booking us with first-rate guides
on fishing and jungle tours, to informing us about local restaurants and
nightlife. Our suite "D" was clean and comfy, with two window a.c.'s and
several fans to keep us cool, even on the hottest days, and the complete
kitchen had a goodly amount of plates, cups, silverware, pans, etc...
We were 20 yards from the very-nice pool and another 40 yards from the
ocean's edge, Lots of hammocks and beach furniture to relax in/on -
never overcrowded like so many other resorts we've visited, Plus you
are just a few yards from the main road into town, so it is quite easy to
catch a bus or taxi. We really loved hanging out at the wonderful, beach-side bar! Great music - (both on the stereo and from "live" jam and sing-along sessions), quality and reasonably-priced drinks, both with and
without alcohol, and always friendly people to chat with - both tourists and
locals! The only complaint we had was having to go home too soon!
(And yes, we're already planning our next trip back!)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purrfecttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Sounds like you had a very relaxing vacation. Cabin D is still here and the beds will be turned down for you, for your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

The most relaxing place I have ever seen! Wonderfull staff, exciting belizean breakfast, beautifull restaurants in the area: just relax!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericbparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you so much for your great comments. Were so glad you had such a relaxing time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We had read some less than desirable reviews on tripadvisor post booking our stay at Maya Breeze Inn, so we called to voice our concerns. Helen (the beautiful and charming hotel manager!) assured us we'd have a relaxing, noise-less visit and she was right!

Noise and Proximity: We stayed 6 nights in Cabin A, closest to the beach, and the palapa bar. It was amazing to stand on our porch and gaze out at the ocean (we were about 30 feet from the water!) and from inside, we could even hear the waves crashing on the beach (very romantic)! The palapa bar was fantastic for a mid-afternoon cocktail or night-cap if desired. The music played was mild, enjoyable and not at all obnoxious or loud enough to hear in our cabin. Some nights, a few bar patrons gathered here for a drink or two, but again, this was very low-key and it gave us a chance to chat it up with the locals one evening!

Cabins: Room service was ghost like, in the sense that we never saw them doing it, but when we returned to our room it was always freshly cleaned- bed made, floors swept, fresh sheets and towels. There is a little Maya Breeze Inn cafe across the street where we ate breakfast and coffee. It was quaint and delicious! The beachfront palapa bar is run by Jake: a stand-up, friendly guy. He’s a super bartender and a pleasure to converse with! Under the cabins are kayaks and life vests to borrow for exploring a near-by island and snorkeling.

The office staff is great! Helen booked the Monkey River trip for us (DEFINATELY recommend doing this tour!), helped us with our rental car and the owner, Dax, personally drove us to the Placencia airport. Dax is a gem of a man. He's laid back, funny, and knows how to run a wonderful inn that dotes on a stress-free, lovely get-away.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you so much for sharing your experience Trip Adviser. We are very glad to hear that you had fun kayaking to the nearby island and hope you consider planning you next Belize vacation with us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We were hesitant to book this after reading reviews online, so I personally called and talked to the owner before doing so. He was very friendly and assured us this was the place for us and any past issues had been taken care of.
We stayed in cabin B, which is close to the bar, and never heard any loud music nor late night drunkeness for the whole week we stayed there. The cabin was cleaned every day if we needed it, and I couldn't say enough great things about the staff there. They definitely went above and beyond and made sure we were fully taken care of and answered all of our questions (of which we had many every day!). The bartender was the best around, and we sampled many bloody mary's up and down the beach!
David and Helen were the best!!! You guys made our trip so smooth for that first week!!!!!!!
Having the kayaks and snorkel gear around for when we needed them was great, and the mangrove island is a short paddling distance away for some good snorkeling. The lagoon was also fun to paddle around in.
The cabins are a bit rustic, but cabin B was clean, comfortable, and fit 2 couples just fine. The heat plate in the kitchen could use a little work, so if you're planning on preparing a lot of your own food you may want to inquire about this, or book one of the cabins with a full kitchen. We still made a few meals with no problem.

I think this place got a bad rap from a short time period. If you are unsure about booking this place, call and talk to them first. They will put any hesitations you have aside, and when you get there it will be the great beach getaway you are looking for!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurita2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Thank you very much for reconsidering the Maya Breeze Inn during your stay in Belize. We invite all of our future and past guests to call before booking and ask for me, Miss V, so that i can personally attend to your vacation needs and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2009

This was our 2nd time at Maya Breeze and we won't be coming back. The first time we stayed at the Breeze it was perfect. Quiet on the beach and not a lot of people. We booked again knowing it had a new owner and he was adding a swimming pool which we were looking forward too. We had no idea he built a bar near our cabin. (we stayed in cabin A again) When we checked in the manager said, "I hope you don't mind the noise from the bar?" The bar is really close to all the cabins near the water and we weren't the only people complaining.

It was all downhill from there. Don't try and sit on the beach after noon with loud music playing. In the evening the music and people at the bar were loud enough to keep us up past midnight.
Plenty of drunk people and smoking weed.

The staff was excellent all around. Most of the same people from our first visit in 2007.

Now if you want a noisy bar near your cabin until the wee hours this place is for you. We were very disappointed and won't be coming back. Stay at Singing Sands or Maya Beach for the same $$ without the riffraff or noise.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The noisy bar scene until the wee hours.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violetta M, Owner at Maya Breeze Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2015
Be wary but consider reconsidering! we are the new, new owner and would like to re-invite you back to the Maya Breeze. We would also like to thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip Adviser Community! We promise that we will consider all of our customers comments and will constantly be looking for ways to improve the stay of our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 19 in Placencia
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#17 of 27 in Placencia
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
One World Rentals
One World Rentals
#7 of 27 in Placencia
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#9 of 19 in Placencia
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#10 of 19 in Placencia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Breeze Inn

Property: Maya Breeze Inn
Address: # 5 Maya Beach Way | Maya Beach, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maya Breeze Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Breeze Inn is located on the Placencia Peninsula in Maya Beach, Belize, Central America. Maya or Tropic Air Airlines service the Placencia area several times a day or you can rent a car and drive from Belize City. The Inn consists of four beach cabins (for a total of five units) facing the Caribbean sea, a main lodge with the Inn's office and four guest rooms on the Placencia Lagoon, all with air conditioning,cable tv, refrigerators, hot water, fans, lock boxes and private balconies. The Inn has internet service for those who need to check in back home.Maya Breeze Inn caters to those guests who are looking for active adventure tours. Scuba diving, snorkeling and prime fishing grounds are found only a few miles offshore. Day trips can be arranged to explore the river, jungles, bird watching, Maya ruins, cave, peninsula tour, exploration or even mountain rappelling.You can walk the beach, swim in the ocean, play beach volleyball, go kayaking, ride bicycles, moped rentals, beach bbq, or relax on our white sandy beach with a cold beverage from our Tiki Beach Bar or sway in hammock under a palm tree. Come cool off in our beautiful Pool with its spectacular waterfall. For lunch and dinner there are a variety of restaurants and a convenience store within walking distance of the Inn or choose from a variety of restaurants that provide courtesy transfers. We can also arrange transportation to Placencia to shop or dine in local restaurants.Mayabreeze inn is presently under new ownership/management and wants to invite all its clients past and present to come experience true tropical vacation with us, once again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maya Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Breeze Hotel Placencia
Maya Breeze Inn Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing