We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't recommend” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Seaspray Hotel in Placencia which was the one unpleasant experience of our entire honeymoon in Belize. Despite very friendly staff our stay was tarnished by the fact that we had to triple pay for our room. This was made worse by the fact the hotel had messed up our original reservation but insisted on holding us to the most strict interpretation of their reservation/deposit policy. There's lots of friendly people and hotel keepers in Placencia we strongly recommend you try one of them instead of the Seaspray.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank seegersinsonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    121
    33
    4
    11
See reviews for
30
138
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This was a great place to stay after the three day sailing tour with Raggamuffin. The good clean showers were such a treat, rooms had fans and free water. The staff were very kind to us, especially the junior front desk staff. They were also extremely knowledgeable about getting around the town and out to other parts of Belize, and very helpful to make it all happen.
We stayed in a private room with a bathroom and it was quite good. Comfortable, a bit of a squeeze on space and a bit hot, but otherwise no issues at all. The information provided in the room was surprisingly broad and helpful. We would happily stay here again for the price.

Room Tip: Private room with bath, must have fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundTheBendProject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here with a friend of ours this past July. We definitely enjoyed this hotel. If you are expecting a fancy place this place is definitely not what you are looking for! The Seaspray is a quaint hotel on the beach. It is clean and has all that you would need on a tropical vacation. We stayed in the beach cabana and it was great. The only complaint (and I can't even really say it's a complaint) is that it was not very quiet or private. It would get really windy at night and some nights the wind was so loud it woke me up a few times, a very small price to pay for the experience of living on the beach for a week! The staff (especially Rodesia) was very helpful and very friendly! Overall it was a great experience, and I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LgPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Warning the $25 rooms in back are tiny with no breeze. I booked this hotel looking for a deal, and I guess I got what I paid for. My room was one of the "Economy" rooms which was tiny, with no porch. With my luggage there was no room to move around in and with no sea breeze it was too hot in there. Reminded me of a prison cell, I checked out after two nights which were pre paid.

Staff were ok, some friendly others not so much. You can do better for a little more money two doors down the sidewalk.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasprayhotel, General Manager at Seaspray Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
in response to this review we respect all opinions, but please let us clarify, Our economy rooms are just as they say economy (budget rooms) they are small basic rooms suitable for 1-2 persons, they have 1 double bed or 2 single beds prvt bathroom w/hot and cold water small refrig and ceiling or standing fans or both, these are located furthest back from the seaside, (approximately 150-200 feet from the sea but still on the beach side,)
We have never claimed these rooms to be fancy , they are simple and basic yet clean and comfortable, compared to what you would get in another country for the same price our rooms are very reasonable and its amenities are right with inline for the price, Cleanliness and comfort are what we strive for.... if you are looking for a fancier room with in this price range you will not find that anywhere, we do our best to satisfy, but sometimes expectations can be satisfied by the simply understanding of the words "Simple and Basic".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Overall we were pleased with the accommodations. Don't expect any extras or frills. What you can expect is a modest room with a private bath and a good sense of security. Our room was cleaned every day, the beach was nice and there was security patrolling in the evenings. We had an economy room with no air-conditioning, which meant we slept on to of the bed with all of the windows wide open and fans running, but they do have air-conditioning in some rooms if you don't think you can live without it. The staff were friendly and arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport on our last day.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweethomeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Tough to beat these prices for beach front location. I was literally 40 ft from the water when I was in my room. Wonderful view and the staff keeps the place remarkably clean. They have a guy that rakes the sand every morning as the sun comes up.
The mattresses could be a little more comfortable, but you get what you pay for. Clean sheets every day, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, etc. The only real complaint that I could come up with is that the waves were too loud, but can one really complain about the sound of the sea? I would absolutely stay there again and recommend the place to friends and family. Rooms with A/C are available if you need a controlled climate, but Belize is usually wonderful.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $10/night and stay near the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmwinston38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Wonderful little hotel right on the beach with a good resturant. Rooms are clean and everyday cleaning is wonderful. Towels are fluffy and there is plenty of hot water.
The problem:
This is a very small hotel and when large groups come in they tend to take over and the noise level day and night is over the top. It seems people in large groups do not realize that there are other single travellers sharing the same space.
If you book with this hotel I would suggest you ask if there are any large groups booked for the dates that you will be staying there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffanytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seasprayhotel, General Manager at Seaspray Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
We thank you for this review; and we must apologize for any disturbance the group may have caused.... Yes as one of the few hotels with in the village that has 21 rooms we do cater to groups.
we do do our best to make the tour leaders and the groups understand that we have single travelers with in the hotel and the noise level is expected to be kept to a minimum so as not to disturb any of our other guests, sometimes this may be difficult, but we do respond immediately to any and all complaints any of our guest may have weather it is with another guests, local, or any groups, we also ensure that our Security guard, reminds any unruly guest or guests to "Keep it down" especially at night.... we want All our guest to enjoy their stay here at Seaspray, but not at the expense of the other guests we may have..... consideration for all. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
6.2 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Property: Seaspray Hotel
Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing