We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaspray Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Placencia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ranguana Lodge(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cozy Corner(Placencia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chabil Mar(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Inn(Placencia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
127
129
35
4
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
129
35
4
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea sprayde tatcheconomy roomcheap roomprivate balconyceiling fangreat budget hotelsmall kitchenetteoffice stafftipsy tunasecond floor balconywithin walking distanceper nightbeach chairsfull size fridgeking bedhot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We showed up in Placencia at the end of November with no plans and no reservations, and our first night the Sea Spray was full. Owner Jodie was extremely helpful though, and sent us down the walkway with the promise of a spot for the next 3 nights. We were in SeaView1 and it was the perfect spot for us! The fully equipped kitchenette made morning coffees, afternoon snacks, and anytime drinks easy and convenient. The beachfront location is impossible to beat, and the grounds are very well looked after. Everything in town is within easy walking distance - if you're planning a stay in Placencia, this is the perfect base!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrucenTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel was laid back and nothing much to acclaim, but it was so close to the beach and the downtown. Staff were great and very accommodating. The rooms also had a range of value. So one may want to inquire.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drummond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I went to Placencia for a sailing trip with Tradewinds Cruise Club and stayed at the SeaSpray for 2 nights before the sailing trip. As a retiree with limited funds, I was looking for value.
I stayed in the SeaStar room with a private porch, overlooking the beach for just $57.50 a night with refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, microwave and TV.
Very nice. The room and hotel were clean and kept up well. The location was great. The people, Jodie, Rhodesia and Verna as well as others whose names I did not get were very friendly and helpful. There was a supermarket practically next door.
The De Tatch restaurant was next door and the food was very good. Great lobster salad
for a reasonable price.

It was quiet yet in town.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Sea Spray if I am every in Placencia again..

Room Tip: There are many styles available and the web site is very helpful in describing the rooms. The Sea Star was perfect for myself, a single lady retiree, with the private porch over looking the beach. If I were staying in summer, I would probably choose A/C, but November was perfect with the nice winds.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pineislandgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

had a great time staying at this budget hotel,very close to the beach, and easy to get around town. would stay here again if in this little town in the future. came with a group of more than 20 people and heard very little complaining about this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Seaspray a long time ago now... it was in February of 2008. In rereading my reviews of our trip for nostalia's sake, I realize that I neglected to write a review for the Seaspray. Pure oversight.

We booked our week there solely on the information we gathered fromTripAdvisor reviews/photos and some brief email correspondence with the Seaspray Hotel office staff. We were thoroughly delighted with this little property on the Placencia's beach.

We arrived in Placenica early in the day... around 11am. Naturally, our room wasn't ready for us yet, but we were able to put our baggage safely in the hotel's storage room, have some brunch at Da Tatch and relax on their beach chairs, taking in the view, while we waited. We found the staff in the office, the restaurant and around the property to be nothing but friendly and helpful.

Our second-floor room faced the beach.... what a gorgeous morning sunrise view. Although the room was relatively small, it was only because it was crammed full of anything we night need. It had a comfortable king-sized bed, a large armoir, a small loveseat, large fridge, full bath including a regular-sized tub (and plenty of hot water with good pressure), a kitchen sink, coffee maker, and all the cutlery and dishware that we could use. We did not have air conditioning, but there was not a single day that we missed it... and I like a cool room... the ocean breezes coming in the windows and the two fans were more than sufficient.

The beach itself was lovely. There is some seagrass along the shoreline, but only in patches. The sand is not powder, by any means, but a nice soft sand that is raked clean early every morning. The hotel offers nice large wooden adirondack-style beach chairs at no cost. There is plenty of sun and some nice big palms to offer a shady respite. During the short time we were there, we experienced a couple of rough, stormy days not suited to swimming and also a couple of days in which the water was as smooth as glass. Heaven.

The Seaspray's restaurant, De Tatch, was fantastic. An open-air, thatched roof eatery overlooking the sea, they offer delicious Belizean food at very reasonable prices. Although we didn't try an evening meal here (we were usually out and about) we did try a couple of their breakfasts and lunches. Not a single item we ordered was undervalued or lacking in portion! One morning, we were very disappointed that we decided to try the stuffed fryjacks, though, but only because we had no idea how HUGE they would be and we were in a hurry to catch our snorkelling boat on time. Sooo yummy but sooo big! I thought that it was a good sign, too, to often hear a couple of locals there, chatting with the staff while grabbing a bite.

The location of the Seaspray was exactly what we were looking for. It is literally on the beach and central to other restaurants, bars, and shopping. There wasn't anywhere in Placencia that we wanted to go that we couldn't get to in a short walk from the Seaspray. Some previous contributors complained of insects. We didn't see any ants. There were a couple of mosquitos in the evening, but certainly nowhere near as many as we have at home. And there were a couple of annoying sandflies a couple of days, but a few swats and little dip in the ocean took care of them.

Now make no mistake, this is not a 5-star resort. It is a small, modest hotel in a small, modest seaside town. So be realistic as to what you expect. There occassionally are bugs in tropical places. Sometimes it is hot. Sometimes it is windy. Sometimes they do not have the exact fish you want that day (because it didn't happen to be what they pulled out of the water a couple of hours ago!). But it was just what we had in mind and I hope that we have the opportunity to visit the Seaspray again someday. And I hope that we find it exactly as we left it.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor room that faced the beach. It was a corner room overlooking the restaurant. Was it #21? It was quiet, cool and had a gorgeous view.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jl2000mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews