We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best value for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Belize
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I spent a night at Seaspray Hotel in Placencia with my family and we all had a great time. The place is very clean, rooms are basic and yet comfortable ( we stayed at the only available which were seaside), Richard at the front desk was very kind ever since our first contact over the phone and of course the beach is nice and other amenities are very close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doctorskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    119
    33
    4
    11
See reviews for
29
137
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
America, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed in room #1 in the back of the "economy" section for a few nites. The room was small, but had a tiny private bathroom, was clean and met my basic needs. I think I paid about $58BZ (29USD) per nite. The location of the hotel is right on the beach and conveniently located close to the heart of the village. I understand that the wife runs this little hotel and the husband runs the DeTatch restaurant immediately next door. This place is no Ritz Carlton, but if you're looking for a clean, safe, affordable and authentic place to stay.... you'll want to consider this one. Btw- they do have larger rooms and a cabana or two right on the beach for an additional cost. I tend to spend most of my time outdoors, so I don't go crazy on rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomthetraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We showed up in Placencia at the end of November with no plans and no reservations, and our first night the Sea Spray was full. Owner Jodie was extremely helpful though, and sent us down the walkway with the promise of a spot for the next 3 nights. We were in SeaView1 and it was the perfect spot for us! The fully equipped kitchenette made morning coffees, afternoon snacks, and anytime drinks easy and convenient. The beachfront location is impossible to beat, and the grounds are very well looked after. Everything in town is within easy walking distance - if you're planning a stay in Placencia, this is the perfect base!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucenTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel was laid back and nothing much to acclaim, but it was so close to the beach and the downtown. Staff were great and very accommodating. The rooms also had a range of value. So one may want to inquire.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummond89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I went to Placencia for a sailing trip with Tradewinds Cruise Club and stayed at the SeaSpray for 2 nights before the sailing trip. As a retiree with limited funds, I was looking for value.
I stayed in the SeaStar room with a private porch, overlooking the beach for just $57.50 a night with refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, microwave and TV.
Very nice. The room and hotel were clean and kept up well. The location was great. The people, Jodie, Rhodesia and Verna as well as others whose names I did not get were very friendly and helpful. There was a supermarket practically next door.
The De Tatch restaurant was next door and the food was very good. Great lobster salad
for a reasonable price.

It was quiet yet in town.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Sea Spray if I am every in Placencia again..

Room Tip: There are many styles available and the web site is very helpful in describing the rooms. The Sea S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pineislandgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

had a great time staying at this budget hotel,very close to the beach, and easy to get around town. would stay here again if in this little town in the future. came with a group of more than 20 people and heard very little complaining about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Seaspray a long time ago now... it was in February of 2008. In rereading my reviews of our trip for nostalia's sake, I realize that I neglected to write a review for the Seaspray. Pure oversight.

We booked our week there solely on the information we gathered fromTripAdvisor reviews/photos and some brief email correspondence with the Seaspray Hotel office staff. We were thoroughly delighted with this little property on the Placencia's beach.

We arrived in Placenica early in the day... around 11am. Naturally, our room wasn't ready for us yet, but we were able to put our baggage safely in the hotel's storage room, have some brunch at Da Tatch and relax on their beach chairs, taking in the view, while we waited. We found the staff in the office, the restaurant and around the property to be nothing but friendly and helpful.

Our second-floor room faced the beach.... what a gorgeous morning sunrise view. Although the room was relatively small, it was only because it was crammed full of anything we night need. It had a comfortable king-sized bed, a large armoir, a small loveseat, large fridge, full bath including a regular-sized tub (and plenty of hot water with good pressure), a kitchen sink, coffee maker, and all the cutlery and dishware that we could use. We did not have air conditioning, but there was not a single day that we missed it... and I like a cool room... the ocean breezes coming in the windows and the two fans were more than sufficient.

The beach itself was lovely. There is some seagrass along the shoreline, but only in patches. The sand is not powder, by any means, but a nice soft sand that is raked clean early every morning. The hotel offers nice large wooden adirondack-style beach chairs at no cost. There is plenty of sun and some nice big palms to offer a shady respite. During the short time we were there, we experienced a couple of rough, stormy days not suited to swimming and also a couple of days in which the water was as smooth as glass. Heaven.

The Seaspray's restaurant, De Tatch, was fantastic. An open-air, thatched roof eatery overlooking the sea, they offer delicious Belizean food at very reasonable prices. Although we didn't try an evening meal here (we were usually out and about) we did try a couple of their breakfasts and lunches. Not a single item we ordered was undervalued or lacking in portion! One morning, we were very disappointed that we decided to try the stuffed fryjacks, though, but only because we had no idea how HUGE they would be and we were in a hurry to catch our snorkelling boat on time. Sooo yummy but sooo big! I thought that it was a good sign, too, to often hear a couple of locals there, chatting with the staff while grabbing a bite.

The location of the Seaspray was exactly what we were looking for. It is literally on the beach and central to other restaurants, bars, and shopping. There wasn't anywhere in Placencia that we wanted to go that we couldn't get to in a short walk from the Seaspray. Some previous contributors complained of insects. We didn't see any ants. There were a couple of mosquitos in the evening, but certainly nowhere near as many as we have at home. And there were a couple of annoying sandflies a couple of days, but a few swats and little dip in the ocean took care of them.

Now make no mistake, this is not a 5-star resort. It is a small, modest hotel in a small, modest seaside town. So be realistic as to what you expect. There occassionally are bugs in tropical places. Sometimes it is hot. Sometimes it is windy. Sometimes they do not have the exact fish you want that day (because it didn't happen to be what they pulled out of the water a couple of hours ago!). But it was just what we had in mind and I hope that we have the opportunity to visit the Seaspray again someday. And I hope that we find it exactly as we left it.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor room that faced the beach. It was a corner room overlooking the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jl2000mail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
6.2 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.6 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Property: Seaspray Hotel
Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing