We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little rustic, but nice!”
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2013

SeaSpray Hotel is located on the northern end of Placencia, near where you enter the town. It is a nice hotel, though a bit rustic, as most hotels and rental cottages in Placencia are. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurants are nearby as is a Chinese-run supermarket only one block away. The restaurant on-site, De Thatch, has reasonably good, but not what I would call great, food. However, service is slow, so leave plenty of time to order and get your meals. The hotel keeps their part of the beach clean and there are nice Adirondack-type chairs to sun in. However, along the beach - and not just in front of the hotel - there is a strip of dead seaweed. This does not impede swimming in the warm water, though. I recommend the SeaStar room. It is second-story, but that just makes for a better view. It's ocean-front, the closest room they have to the ocean (it's an "end" room). I loved the nice porch with a hammock. Note that this room has no AC, but does have a ceiling fan (the room was pleasant in March as there is usually a breeze blowing through the room, due to it's end location). All and all, the SeaSpray Hotel is an enjoyable place to stay.

Caveat: the Tipsy Tuna Restaurant is about 150 yards away and they have LOUD live music on Friday and Saturday nights (until 2 in the morning). So if you are planning on staying at the SeaSpray Hotel on a weekend, bring along earplugs.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an oceanfront room. Reserve plenty of time ahead to get a decent room (I reserved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David18748947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Hotel was full, so needed up in the drivers room by the ice machine, with no air flowing into the room. They actually gave me ripped up towels, and a fan that hardly worked. Trust me when I say the hotel could have been a nice experience, but only if you had a decent room. Don't book without knowing what room you will get. People at desk are not friendly. There looks to be many options in Placencia that would offer a better experience. The front desk when I asked for a beach towel actually said since I was in room 2 I get an old towel, while the people in seafront rooms get a nice towel. I would not recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Only book hotel if you can get decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This was our favorite place in Belize. We could walk everywhere, swim out our front door and relax on the sand beach. We had a room facing the water, Seaview 1, and it was perfect. A small kitchen (no stove) meant we could have breakfast in our room each morning and keep cold drinks and snacks in the fridge. The room was cleaned every day. Wonderful staff, good restaurant, and over all would stay here again. This was the only place we found where you could walk right into the ocean, no eel grass to contend with. Loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This hotel is located in a great area in Placencia and is directly on the beach. Has some beach chairs on the beach in front of property available for use. Room was very clean and housekeeping was available daily. Felt very safe. Close to Tipsy Tuna and close walking distance to other restaraunts/bars. Reasonable prices too. Highly recommend. Will definately come back to this hotel when i return to Placencia. The room even had a mini fridge to keep bottled water, beers, etc cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tach17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

It's a nice little hotel right on the beach, with an excellent restaurant ( try the rice and shrimp dish) There is a cute little coffee shop around the corner that has the best coffee I have ever tasted, and a little grocery store where you can get everything you possibly could need. The beach is beautiful, and there are not a lot of people around - I found it to be very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are tiny, but you are never in them anyways, and they have a little fridge where you can put your drinks, but you will need to go the restaurant for ice, since the freezer part of the fridge doesn't really work. Everything in Placencia is a short walk away - restaurants. dive shops etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LemonLavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The Seaspray is great value for money and is in a great location - right on the beach and close to all the bars and restauarnts. We stayed in the Seaview room which I would highly recommend as it is not much more expeisive and you get a small kitchenette and fidge as well as a private balcony overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel offered at very standard compared to the price and the location. Although rooms are a bit small everything else is high standard. Because of the low price I will definitely recommend this to backpackers since it was vastly better than some of the other hotels/hostels I had peak at on the same road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
243 reviews
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#15 of 20 in Placencia
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing