We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, unbelievably inexpensive for on the beach”
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This hotel is simple (no air which can be a deal breaker, but standing fan) and clean. GREAT LOCATION: two nightlife hot spots just down the beach, Detatch next door is great restaurant for food or drinks, grocery store close w/ all your necessities, beach is great. Complimentary chairs with shade and sun. We LOVED the location, clean simple rooms, helpful staff, and did I mention the location? We didn't love trying to fall asleep in the heat coming from a cold climate (why it's a "4"). Would any of our family trade air conditioning for hearing the surf at night? No. If you are the gated community type, you'll be disappointed. If not, you'll be bragging to your friends about how little it cost to stay beachfront.

Room Tip: We stayed in the seaside cabana for $85/night during Christmas. It was great having your own beachf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IowaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, sits at the strip (sidewalk), doesn't offer 5 star high end accommodation . This hotel offers just what you need:
Clean rooms, friendly staff and at the beach (complimentary chairs at the beach).
Fridge at the room is a pre as well as the beach towels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

You can find fancy costly places in Placencia (Roberts Grove, Turtle Inn for example) but it is impossible to find anything more comfortable, scenic and accommodating. The beach is terrific, the rooms comfortable and clean and local owners only add to the ambiance. Stay there! We find the seaside cabana our favorite and it's only a dozen steps in the sand from the De Tatch restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked Seaspray Hotel ahead of time after reading other TripAdvisor reviews! It was such a great deal, we were uncertain if it would be a nice room. But we were in a Seaview II Room, which had it's own private deck with chairs and hammock overlooking the ocean through the swaying palm trees, a comfortable queen bed, a little living room area with TV and chairs (although we were too busy looking at the ocean to ever watch the TV!), and kitchenette. The shower and bathroom were also nice and had plenty of little soaps/shampoos and a hairdryer for convenience. It was more like a tiny little studio apartment, and all for $69 per night--pretty good. The staff was friendly, and professional. The location was also nice, on the famous Placencia sidewalk close to lots of shops and restaurants. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Seaview II rooms are very nice. We did not have AC but we didn't need it--the sea breezes come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We spent 2 lovely nights at the Seaspray. We had a lovely room on the second floor facing the beach with a private balcony. Clean, well maintained with the look of colorful Bahamas cottages.
De Tatch, Barefoot Bar and Tipsy Tuna restaurants are all within 50 yards of the room. Wonderful for breakfast lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Seaspray was everything we were looking for in a Placencia hotel -- great beachside location, clean, safe, close to the action but not too close. The facility was recommended to us by Barb's Belize, who helped us organize our vacation to Belize and who also did a wonderful job. Placencia is not a fancy town, and the Seaspray was not fancy. But it was a great home base for our week-long vacation. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a week long trip to Belize. Beautiful spot! We stayed in the "budget" room, ~$25USD/night. Very comfy bed, hot water, private bathroom - a steal for the price. The only problem is that there's only windows on one wall, so you can't get a breeze "through" the room - it stays quite warm at night. Beautiful beach, excellent restaurant - and perfect location. Near all the good restaurants, but quiet at night. The service is absolutely top notch - at the end of our stay, we asked to extend our reservation by a night. Dion couldn't get us a room, so he called other hotels in the area until he found us a spot. He also booked us a rental car, and a flight back. He hand delivered this information to us while we sat on the beach. I wouldn't expect this level of service at $200/night!

Room Tip: Look for A/C rooms, or a room facing the ocean - better airflow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
798 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £15 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing