We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fair price and clean/comfortable”
Review of Seaspray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaspray Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a great location right on the Placencia sidewalk and on the beach. Lovely beaches here; not like Ambergris Caye. The cabana was close to the water and provided a steady breeze. We also had an upper Seaview (rm #21) room with balcony and breeze as well. (The only King sized bed on the property). I would imagine the Seaside units would not be breezy and well ventilated; few have a/c so I would not recommend those unless really trying to budget. Our rooms had ceiling fans as well as an oscillating fan in addition to the ocean breeze. The kitchenette was well stocked. Plenty of great choices for food, beverages and nightlife but still seemed quiet (June is off-season). Much more reasonable than the secluded resorts on Ambergris Caye. Placencia is a very cute little village and we felt safe. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: The seaside Cabana and room #21 in the Seaview II. Each sleep two persons each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The mid-range room I got was quite nice, with a couple of fans, and a nice partial sea view from the balcony. The bathroom was generally ok, although the toilet was squeezed into a space too small, so it was a bit awkward for people larger than stick figures. Booking was a real hassle. I was told that the only way to confirm a booking was to download a booking form (inc credit card info – they charged my card in full before I arrived), complete it by hand, then scan and email it back (or fax!). They seem never to have heard of paypal or online forms…very archaic and un-user friendly. In the end I managed to get them to accept my booking by just emailing my c/c details.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came from Honduras and had no booking. Walked up to this place and they were able to accommodate us right away. Very helpful staff, and great central location with the restaurant "De Tatch" right next door. Granted we had no reservation so choices were limited, but I would definitely recommend a room that is open to the breeze. Ours was on the leeward side of the building and got a little warm. Luckily there were plenty of fans to keep the air moving. If you're looking to spend a little, and be in the same spot on the beach as places costing 3x as much, Seaspray is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: You really don't need A/C if you get a room close to the beach and open to the breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If your looking for a great beach, great restaurants,(Detached) and great bars (tipsy Tuna and Barefoot) then you are at the right place. We stayed in the Cabana and an upstairs room right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and took care of all your needs. Placencia was a great beach town if you are looking to unwind. Prices were very affordable and I would definitely go back. Thank you Seaspray for a wonderful three days. PS: Go to Detached and Omars for some fabulous island cusine.

Room Tip: cabana room and room 21 were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAM293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms were always clean and they decor fit the beach settings perfectly. They always put fresh flowers on the bedroom and in the bathroom. The rooms are literally on the beach. There's a little restaurant a 20 feet from the rooms and I highly recommend the stuffed Jack.

The only thing that happened that I wasn't too pleased with was the fact that no one was there when we arrived for check in at 8pm. We had called ahead of time to let them know what time we'd be arriving and they told us someone would be
there. Unfortunately no where else was opened in the whole town. But miraculously we found one room that was opened and it hadn't been cleaned. I was a little worried someone was still staying in the room but just walked out to the beach or something so it was difficult to sleep worrying that someone very angry might come walking in any second. The staff apologized profusely in the morning and didn't charge for that night. They made up for it 10 times with the amazing service and the value we got for this amazing piece of paradise.

Also, DO NOT walk down the beach at night. We were chased by ferocious dogs. Luckily, we jumped in the ocean (fully clothes) and they didn't follow. When we got to the hotel, the machete toting hotel guard told us there were trained attack dogs that attacked a few tourists and even killed someone!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasiren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the seaspray for 2 nights. It was very clean and serviceable. The price was incredible. We stayed another few nights at Roberts Grove and I would advise not to waste your money. We enjoyed the seaspray much more. It is located right on the beach next to the tipsy tuna. Very conveniently located and the Wi-Fi works better than in our house. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would defiantly stay there again! The only improvement was that our fridge did not work but in the grand scheme of things it was nothing...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monkghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fabulous! The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. The hammock on the balcony was a very nice touch. The staff were friendly and hospitable.
I definitely recommend this hotel when your in Placencia!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stefanee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#15 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
0.9 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 20 in Placencia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaspray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaspray Hotel

Address: Placencia's Sidewalk | Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Placencia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £14 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaspray Hotel is centrally located in the village of Placencia, close to most local restaurants, gift shops, markets, banks, and local gathering places; our location is a great starting off point for your exploration, amazing adventures and experiencing the unique ambiance that is southern Belize & Placencia. We are located on the white sandy beaches of the magical Caribbean Sea. Stretched across our spacious beachfront & floral courtyard are 4 buildings, ranging from 30ft to 70ft away from the pristine seafront & less than 75 yds away from our famous Guiness Book of Records sidewalk. Our rooms are reasonably priced, with rates starting as economical low as $25.00 US per night (immaculately clean, and very comfortable)…our staff is friendly and helpful to whatever your needs may be…so we look forward to seeing you in our little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaspray Hotel Placencia
Seaspray Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing