We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Trip To Paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I just got back from another stay at Laru Beya. A Perfect 12 days in paradise!
As always the room was perfect! All of our needs were met by the incredible staff!
We had many of our meals at the Quarterdeck restaurant which is located at the resort.
The food is amazing! Breakfast, lunch or dinner...Trinell is an incredible chef! And the restaurant staff is so friendly and fun! We can't wait wait to go back for our next stay!!
The only thing that could have made it better, would have been to stay longer! :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaGoatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from 5 nights at the Laru Beya Resort in Placencia, Belize. We like to stay at different hotels on our trips to get a feel for the whole area. We returned to the Lara Beya because the staff was so friendly and helpful and the view spectacular. This time we were rewarded with a ground floor ocean front suite. It doesn't get much better than waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean front suite. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgnesShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you are looking for a place to spend some time in the Placencia area, Laru Beya is the spot.
It is a quiet and accommodating hotel w/ everything you need in a simple space.

The rooms are well appointed and clean. Good linens and admenities. Kitchens are adequate w/ coffee makers, full size refrigerator, and ready for simple cooking. Fresh flowers. Large windows w/ water views out of the suites. Balconies are wonderful w/ comfortable seating.

The grounds are well groomed daily. Various tropical trees and shurbs. Nice bird watching.

The open air restaurant and bar is good and convenient. The wait staff is well trained, attentive and treats you like family. Happy hour is a big hit. The food was good to excellent depending on selection. Only down side was the wait time. If you are in a hurry or have a deadline, start early. We enjoyed the open air and water views from this area. Simply relaxing with the quality of service received from Leo and Mannie.

One cannot say enough for the quality of staffing at this hotel. Every need was handled from the extra last minute Spirits to the early check in. You were treated like a newly found family member. Everyone conducted themselves with kindness, patience, and attentively to what was needed and required. All went above and beyond to provide you with quality service.

Room Tip: Suite rooms w/ kings have one room facing the water. The single rooms are small and no views. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriceVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our week long stay at Laru Beya was nothing short of amazing. The facilities are just as they appear in the pictures. The staff is even more friendly and more helpful than described. There was nothing about this place we didn't love. The food at the on-site restaurant is fantastic.

A few tips.
1) If you can swing it, get a suite. We were in a 1 BR suite, and it was absolutely perfect. Spend some time on their website and you can even pick out the room you want. We had Tucan 101 and it was perfect. www.larubeya.com

2) Let the hotel book your tours/trips/travel for you. We just told them what we wanted to do, and they arranged it all for us, no additional cost. And everything was billed through the room, so our bill at the end covered everything. And I would recommend waiting until you get down there to decide what to do. I have to say our plans changed from what I had expected I would want to do.

3) Take time to go into town. Placencia village is a great little town and is worth a visit just to walk around and take in the locals. We rode bikes, free for use from the hotel. The village is a very flat 4 mile ride. But they can call you a taxi if you wish. If you plan to stay in the area your entire vacation, a rental car really isn't necessary.

This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Relaxed but nice with some amenities. The staff is absolutely wonderful and the facility is great.

Room Tip: Beach front suites are more expensive, but, in my opinion, absolutely worth it. Bigger space. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlhegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is the place to stay if you are going to stay at Placencia, Belize! The staff treats you like royalty, and they have the best connections for day trips such as Monkey River (ask for Jason - a local that grew up in the village of Monkey River and has the eyes of a hawk for spotting all the wildlife along the river), sport fishing and the Moorings is right across the street. The restraunt and the bar are first class along with that staff. Fantastic food prepared fresh on the property and only the very best available at the time ( they will not accept inferior grade food just to have it)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeistooshort1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We really liked this hotel. It seems new, or at least meticulously maintained, perfectly located on the beach within a short peddle (bikes are provided gratis) to Placencia or Seine Bight, and not as expensive as the ultra luxury places. For those chartering with the Moorings or Sunsail, it is right across the road. We had a one bedroom suite, and it was gorgeous, spacious, and well equipped. The restaurant, the Quarterdeck, has great food at reasonable prices, and very nice open atmosphere. Special kudos to Leo the waiter - he would be top notch anywhere. This hotel is a real winner.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harding C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our start at Laru Beya started off a little rough for a variety of reasons, mostly being our rental car breaking down just as we arrived at LB. We were happy it happened here! Wynand and Brett were incredibly helpful with trying to get us settled so that we could enjoy our vacation. Wynand reassured us that there was nothing we could do at that evening hour, to relax at the restaurant and we will resolve the issue the next day. It was a minor repair, just a fuse problem. Brett offered to keep watch for our new vehicle from Thrifty, a generous gesture. (Matthew at Thrifty was really great to work with - would rent from them again)

The Quarterdeck restaurant has amazing food. Their chef/kitchen staff is top notch, serving some of the best meals I have had in a while. My new favorite was their "stuffed Jacks" on the breakfast menu; sooooo good! Never ate lunch at the restaurant, but had a couple dinners and again, delicious! Be sure to order the special Quarterdeck drink from Manny.

We arranged a couple of day activities thru LB. Our snorkel day had a bit of miscommunication, and was rescheduled for the next day - not a big deal. The snorkel trip was arranged thru Ocean Pro, across the street from LB. Mike and Alfred were great to work with. Alfred was our captain & guide for our trip out to the Silk Cayes. Alfred really made this an enjoyable excursion with his knowledge and overall personality. Mike was very helpful with trying to arrange a 1/2 day fishing trip for my husband. Unfortunately unfavorable weather cancelled the fishing trip, and we ran out of vacation days, so could not reschedule.

We originally reserved a "garden view" room, as I presumed from the website that there would be a small kitchenette. This was not the case. After talking to Wynand about our confusion, he was able to move us to a room with a kitchenette, which was a "one bedroom suite". Of course there was a price difference, but so worth it! The garden view room is actually an en-suite to the one bedroom suite, larger families can reserve both rooms and open the door between the 2 rooms. If you do not intend to spend any time in your room but just to sleep and shower, the garden view room is good. We wanted to chill out and not have much planned, so the one bedroom suite was good for us. Both rooms were very clean and well furnished.

While in the region we also drove to the Cockscomb basin. Pay at the main road. The park is beautiful; be sure to wear proper hiking/supportive shoes, bring bug repellant. We hiked the Tiger fern trail. Plan on 1:45 to the waterfall & 1:45 back. The map says strenuous hike, and yes it was. Bring plenty of drinking water.

The village of Placencia reminds me much of how Key West FL, was in its day before it became overly touristy. We hope Placencia can keep its laid back low keyed charm with its hidden neighborhoods and local family business'.

We can not say enough about the customer service at Laru Beya. Whenever we saw Brett or Wynand they would ask us if we were relaxed yet - kind of became a joke - we must have looked really stressed out when we arrived!! We feel that the staff truly went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible; within reason. Manny & Alicia in the restaurant, Wynand, Brett and Tim in the front office were all great! All the other employees whom we crossed paths with but did not catch their names - thanks!! We would recommend Laru Beya & hope to return in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
648 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
20.4 mi away
Almond Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#5 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £106 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing