We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I love non chain original hotels like Laru Beya . We were sailing in Belize and visited this place before our sail and stayed there afterwards. It's a great place. Just 4 miles from Placenia and right on the water. The room I had was a one bedroom apt with full kitchen and porch with a hammock a few feet from the ocean. They have a nice pool and a tiered tropical restaurant with really good food. The staff if really helpful and friendly especially the manager. He greeted us every time we came and went and provided us with lots of useful info.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    102
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
124
284
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at Laru Beya and I can't say enough positive things about our experience. From the moment Valene picked us up from the airport we knew we'd made the right choice as far as hotel choice. The entire staff went out of their way to see that everything about our stay was pleasant.
We chartered a boat for 7 days with Moorings which is conveniently located within walking distance from the hotel HUGE BONUS. When spent 2 nights at the hotel before our stay and another night after our sail there as well. When we returned to the hotel after the sail it was almost like coming home. The staff remembered our names and each inquired about our sailing journey. The food at the restaurant was excellent, and the pool and beaches were very clean and well manicured. I would highly recommend Laru Beya if you're traveling to Placencia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I and another couple just returned from the vacation of a lifetime. What an amazing experience we had. The facilities are beautiful and in excellent condition - sparkling clean and luxurious - quite, private and relaxing. The staff are incredible! We had great personal service. Everyone knew our names and took care of our every need. Super friendly, responsive and outstanding in every way. We will definitely recommend Laru Beya to everyone we know.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ez2spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

.Having travelled to every continent but one (Africa), I can say with confidence that if I report anything on this site it is worth reading. The final decision is of course yours’. I rarely fill out these reports except when a property sincerely deserves recognition such as the many I also visited in Cuba (everywhere except Varadero which is like Miami Beach so judge accordingly).


First of all going to Belize, Central America, if you are flying out of HOUSTON make 100% sure that, if you fly UNITED, it takes off on time. United Airlines remained on the tarmac, fully loaded , for 1 half hour, waiting for 2 bags . If they had taken off as planned ,we would not have missed our connecting flight in Belize City. Eight travelers all had the same problem. United Airlines refused to take responsibility for the delay , and we had to spend the night in a very questionable hotel. The next day we finally got to Placencia. Wynand Koegelenberg, Operations Manager of Laru Beya Resort, because of his outstanding customer service skills, made all the "Wanna Kill United airlines" attitude disappear.

Here at Laru Beya you have no worries what so ever. Guests can leave personal items on their beach lounges overnight ,come back the next day , and all were still there. Their beach area is OUTSTANDING , private and clean. The view from the rooms ( you face east with glorious sunrises) is something you have to see.! The rooms are of 5 star quality , with all the amenities one could want. The next 5 star rating should go to their Quarterdeck Restaurant. The meals are outstanding and along with the top notch service, the experience is truly memorable! They are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also have “Happy Hour” every day from 4pm to 6pm. What truly makes the “Quarterdeck experience” memorable are the excellent staff, which includes Luigi, Pablo, Trina and Alicia.

All of the staff from the Front desk personnel, especially Valene and Vernicia, to the maintenance staff are all always VERY cordial and again ensured our stay was very memorable. We do highly recommend that should you decide to come to Belize, book directly with the hotel and we can promise you will not be disappointed.

If you decide to go into the town of Placencia, we recommend renting one of the resorts’ many Golf Carts as you do not need any special license and they are fun and easy to drive!

.In the air you will see the majesty of this country and on the ground, the people of Belize, will make you feel truly special!
Sadly not one but two persons within the Hotel Industry both said stay away from Belize City as the crime rate is quite high.

Your worst enemy will be those rascally Noseeums! We were not bitten once by mosquitoes but the Noseeums sure had a lot of meals on us. We recommend bringing BENEDRYL, as the itch can be unbearable.
Finally would we come again……………..DEFINITELY!……………. but a little more prepared.

FYI: Belize is off the hurricane path and last time a hurricane hit was Iris in 2001.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Partime_Cuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This resort was wonderful to stay at. Clean, nice rooms with plenty of amenities. Seated perfectly on the beautiful beach & only a short drive from Placencia village. The customer service and staff went above & beyond to make our stay perfect! I could not have been more impressed with how much effort & time they spent ensuring we had everything we needed and more. What a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for exactly what you are looking for. This resort has a variety of rooms and is more than happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights before a moorings sailboat charter. Staff was wonderful, rooms were clean and the jaguar preserve excursion delighted the children and adults in our group. An added bonus was the mini golf which entertained the kids and the golf cart rentals to get into town.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a wonderful visit and the staff are amazing! Everything was wonderful. The grounds and the pool are well kept. It is right on the beach with fun amenities like golf carts and kayaks. Our room had a full kitchen so we could stock up the frig and relax without worry about running out for things. We spent time exploring the area and would pick Laru Beya again next time we are in Belize.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth a little extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyWSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
20.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing