We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a longer stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Need a longer stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just a one-night stop-over between a sailing trip and flying home, recommended by our charter company TMM in San Pedro. They did not steer us wrong! Wish we would have had more time to enjoy all the amenities the resort offers. The staff was great, very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was super. Excellent coffee! The grounds were kept immaculate. A most enjoyable stay. Looking forward to a longer return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OddlyEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    104
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
126
289
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was super nice, and our room had a spectacular view. Our deck had both hammock and lounge chairs, and a swing chair. Super clean and up to date. The pool area is quite nice too. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive out of town (Placencia) but still close enough (recommend to have a car.) There is wifi throughout, should you need.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Writing the review as we are staying and could not agree more with all the positive reviews here. The location is ideal, the setting is beautiful, the staff extremely friendly and accommodating and the restaurant delicious.

All that notwithstanding, there is one exception. For those that desire a beach, there isn't one. Due to weather conditions and construction of a breakwater wall at the adjacent property, the beach at Laru Beya was entirely washed away and the real thing drops off into the Caribbean about 20' past the end of the infinity pool. Coming from a cold and snowy Northeast winter, having beach access is a critical part of a beach vacation. This is no fault of the hotel, however the hotel could and should do a better job of managing guests' expectations. Some may agree.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Boris06880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaruBeya, General Manager at Laru Beya Resort & Villas, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks for your posting. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Laru Beya. It was a pleasure hosting you.

We typically lose, but regain beach as the wind direction and sea conditions change. This year the rate of erosion has been significantly greater than previous years - we have lost some palm trees and beach palapas . We will have to find a way to help build back the beach lost. We are working with both the Department of Natural Resources and the Department of the Environment to determine the best way to do this.

Luckily though, we still have some beach. As you note there still is at least 20 feet of beach from the buildings and pool to the water. Due to the erosion, getting into the sea requires a step down instead of gradual slope down.

Lounging on the beach and swimming in the sea is still very much an option at Laru Beya.

Sincerely,

Rene Nunez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Laru Beya. Our room was fantastic with breathtaking views of the ocean and the Lagune. The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff of the hotel was very nice and friendly and the food and cocktails of the restaurant were so good! Don't miss the seafood buffet on Friday night, amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootstrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The folks at Laru Beya are all super nice.

The suite we had was wonderful. There was a great kitchen, small dining table and breakfast bar a lovely comfortable couch and a flat screen tv. All of this was topped off with a view overlooking the Caribbean Sea and our big balcony with a lounge chair and a cute hammock. All this is decorated in bright Caribbean colors.

The bedroom had a king sizes bed with a beautiful spread and the bathroom was wonderful too with two sinks.

There we two AC machines, one for the bedroom and one for the great room.

The artwork on the walls was interesting and modern and local.

The location is nice, right on the beach, although the beach isn't very wide due to beach erosion. They also have a lovely infinity pool there. The location is nice. Outside of any of the towns, but it is very easy to go into town via golf cart (rentable) or bikes (free for guests).

We also booked several tours through Laru Beya. We went diving to Glovers Reef, we went on the monkey river boat tour and saw howler monkeys and the famous ATM tour which was a bit far, but totally freaking amazing.

When we were there the water was a bit choppy so I don't know if snorkeling could be more nice normally. We only really saw seaweed and a star fish but the reef is pretty far from the southern parts of Belize anyway.

Oh! And the restaurant! What a wonderful experience. Delicious drinks--try the smoothies! I tried it towards the end of our stay and wish I had tried one sooner! Great bean dip also! And fabulous breakfast!

We would totally stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank helju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Each year we return to Laru Beya for our family vacation and couldn't find a more perfect place! The accommodations are comfortable and immaculate. The restaurant is always delicious with a great blend of local and continental cuisine. We spend our days at the beautiful pool enjoying the bar service, or using the on site activities that are offered such as Hobies, Kayaks, and Mini-Golf. We've also had wonderful tours that Laru has set up for us to Monkey River or for a day of snorkeling or fishing. The bottom line here is that there's something for everyone and the staff is always happy to come up with new ideas. Laru Beya is also a short bike ride, or golf cart ride into Placencia which is always a good time. The bottom line here at Laru Beya is that we look forward to heading back each year and seeing the same smiling faces as we "settle in" once again. Thanks Laru Beya and all of our friends there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sknotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Readington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our family of 4 (12 & 16 yr old boys) decided to spend our Winter break in Belize. Drawn there by the fantastic diving, we felt even luckier that we choose Laru Beya to make our headquarters for the 9 days we stayed. From the minute we arrived, (actually for the weeks before when we chatted on Facebook and email) I felt like we were staying with friends. You could not get a better staff who was willing to not just meet your needs, but exceed them! They suggested amazing trips and had knowledgeable tour guides. The ATM cave tour is an experience our family will never forget! They organized our dive adventures and even suggested a trendy spot for dinner when the boys said they wanted STEAK for dinner!!! We had a fun family competition on their mini golf course, sailed on the complimentary sail boats, and the groundskeeper even cracked coconuts for the boys to drink and eat! Having an yummy in-house restaurant/bar was great, especially on the days you wanted to get that last bit of sun in, and don't even get me started on the fry jacks for breakfast!!!!. My only regret is that I did not have time to take the chef up on the offer to teach me how to make them!
We highly recommend this resort and the destination, and can guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivahmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Placencia Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing