We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet & charming small resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A quiet & charming small resort”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our main reason for choosing Lura Beya was for convenience to the Moorings marina. But we are so glad we did. It is a very quiet place and about 4 miles from the village. I noticed at least one review was not happy to be remote - not the case with us. We used a golf cart to get back & forth from the village & found that a relaxing way to enjoy everything along the way! All of the staff at Lura Beya are so kind & helpful & we felt like we had made new friends after our 5 days there! We ate at the Quarterdeck on premises several times & the food was good. We enjoyed visiting with the two bartenders - so friendly. We had 2 different room arrangements as we stayed two nights before our week of sailing & then three nights after sailing. Our first stay was in the middle building J on second floor and we much preferred those rooms ( connecting with a kitchen & living space) to our second stay which was in Macaw on first floor. I would definitely choose the middle building & 2nd or 3rd floor with similar room arrangement. (I didn't like feeling like folks walking by could see into our space). The beach is very close with nice views out to the water. Thank you to the wonderful Staff - you really make Lura Beya what it is! God bless you all.

Room Tip: See contents above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoonyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    107
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
130
293
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent the night before a week-long catamaran cruise here. We were impressed with the staff. The general manager was very helpful and accommodating to us, even after we checked out. The chauffeur was quite nice. The restaurant was excellent, the grounds were well maintained, the hotel is on the ocean and the pool is a nice size. All told, we were very happy with Laru Beya. Another couple on our catamaran also stayed here, and like us enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunkhedena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights on 3rd floor. The bedroom views are great. We were surprise by the quality of the spacious living room and kitchen, which was fully equipped. The room jacuzzi does not work though and no one told us when booking. Also, the restaurant had surprisingly good food - so much so that we ended up eating there 4 out of 5 nights.

The location is about 4 miles from town so it is a hike to go anywhere. But you can rent golf carts and drive into town easily.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExploreTheWorld196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We picked Laru Beya because we wanted a beautiful view, comfortable room, and kitchen. We got all that, and it was a nice place. That said, Laru Beya is pretty expensive and way too far from the village. It is possible to ride bikes into town, which we did every day, but you are not allowed to take the bikes out after 5pm. Which really limits the dinner options, and forces you to get cabs everywhere. If I ever stayed here again, I'd make sure I had a car. We tried to rent cars and there weren't any available, so we ended up renting a golf cart for $75 USD per day!! That is SO expensive to ride at the pace of a snail. We wanted to explore outside of Placencia, but were stuck with a slow golf cart for a couple of days and bikes the rest of the days. I personally would not stay here again. If you were a family that just wanted to enjoy a pool and stay on the property, this could be a good place for you. Staff was very helpful and the rooms/grounds were really nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

the place is beautiful. the grounds are gorgeous. the photos on their website accurately represent the rooms. the beach was very small (smaller that I expected) -- a lot of it had been washed away which of course is not the hotel's fault. we swam out from the shore and I expected a sandy bottom but instead it was full of creepy sea weed. maybe that is a seasonal thing and again the hotel couldn't be faulted for that. it was just an icky surprise.
the restaurant/bar was nice but sometimes quite windy. we never found a sheltered spot to eat and a couple of times we took our food back to our room. I cannot imagine what it would be like during a storm.
we rented a golf cart to go into town. definitely the way to go. I had thought perhaps we could walk into town, maybe along the beach. no way to really do that and it would have been too far anyway.
Everybody was very helpful and friendly. If I went back to Placencia, would I stay there again? I don't know.

Room Tip: pay the extra money for an ocean-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Laru Beya for 5 nights on our honeymoon in March. We booked a jungle/beach all-inclusive package (3 nights in San Ignacio and 4 nights in Placencia + one extra night added) and it was well worth it. Tim organized everything for us and was very responsive to my questions in the weeks leading up the to trip. The place itself is great -- as others have described it, it's a small place but strikes a good balance of being intimate without you feeling like you're the only people staying there. If you're in Belize for the beach, you might be better off staying in Placencia village because, as others have mentioned, the beach is quite small at Laru Beya -- but we loved having an infinity pool just steps from the ocean, and there is plenty of space on the beach to put out chairs or a towel. The Quarterdeck food and drinks are delicious, and the menu is decently varied. The staff are all very friendly and helpful about organizing outings or getting you a golf cart to chug into town. We did a snorkeling excursion and the Monkey River cruise and, as others have mentioned, Jason is a great tour guide for Monkey River. Our room was also great -- the pictures on here don't do the rooms justice. They are spare and not huge, but are modern and have everything you need. Other reviewers recommended getting an ocean view, which we did, and it was great reading a book in the hammock while looking out over that blue, blue water. We are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbish0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed for a weekend in March.

The property is small but not too small that you feel crowded.

We did find the rooms a bit small, however, I don't think that you would be spending much time in the room. It would have been nice to have a small desk in room, where you can sit and send a few emails if necessary.

Food in the restaurant was good. Service was also good. There is not much of a bar, so don't expect a big bar setting; however it was quite comfortable.

Overall the stay was good. While it is not my first choice for a hotel in Placencia, I would stay again and would also recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not on the ground floor. You tend to hear persons walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashele_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
627 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
560 reviews
20.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing