We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the wonderful service made our Belize trip perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the wonderful service made our Belize trip perfect”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Laru Beya over Christmas. We couldnt have asked for more. Our room was perfect with a nice ocean view and a hammock on our balcony. The resort grounds were lust and beautiful... during our stay we saw lots of cool animal life including iguana's and a boa constrictor (a baby one) while walking around the property. Me and my girlfriend both agree that the best part of Laru Beya is the service. Lizbeth was amazing. She made sure that every aspect of our trip was taken care of and she set us up with great tour guides (we did cave tubing at caves branch combined with touring the Xunantunich, Snorkeling at the Silk Cayes, Scuba diving at Glovers Reef and the Monkey River Tour). She also made sure we always had transportation into town and on multiple occasions she drove us in herself. She made me and my girlfriend truly feel at home while we were visiting Belize. The resort's new restaurant, The Quarter Deck (I think that was the name of it) opened the day we arrived and the food was OUTSTANDING! The head chef, Mario, and Troy were world class (and really fun to hang out with and have a drink with). Me and my girlfriend would bring some fresh fish from the Placencia market back to Laru Beya and Mario would cook it up for us which was really cool and absolutely delicious! We had something scheduled every day that started early in the morning (sometimes around 6:30AM) and yet every morning when we went down to the restaurant Mario and Troy were in the kitchen ready to cook us up some breakfast... this was especially nice because most mornings we were the only ones in the restaurant that early and we know that they were up just for us. I could go on and on about the many great things about Laru Beya, but to sum it all up: The hotel is beautiful, the staff is amazing ,especially Liz :), the restaurant is world class, and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Placencia.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    107
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
130
293
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fort worth, texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This was my first trip to Belize and LizBeth and the staff at Laru Beya made it one we will never forget. This hotel is small, quiet and is located on a beautiful white sandy beach. We fell in love with the town, which is just a quick bike ride away. We ate way too much gelato at Tutti Fruiti, went snorkeling at a private island arranged by LizBeth and had the most delicious meals prepared by Mario at the hotel restaurant. We are already planning our next trip there. The Butlers--Fort Worth, TX

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betterbelizeit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. About 8 minutes from the airport, this place is great..RIght on the ocean, with a Hobie Cat to go out sailing anytime (we did a moonlight sail), a relaxing pool, and best of all there's an amazing staff including Liz Beth and Ramona who can arrange virtually anything from getting a ride into town, to booking snorkling, scuba, trips to the caves and ruins...and then there's Mario, Eva and Troy who run an unbelievable restaurant - from incredible appetizers and mains, to desserts that will knock your socks off....the dinners are wonderfully tasty and reaonably priced. Breakfasts were choices of fruit plates, all sorts of eggs, french toast, and traditional Belizean - and freshly picked fruit that grow on the grounds. Ian, the owner, is on site often and really takes pride in his place and wants the guests to feel at home...it just happens to be in an idealic environment! They also have mini golf and internet access.......If you are at all interested in Belize, you have to check this place out.

  • Liked — the whole place is wonderful
  • Disliked — coming home
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rayCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Our stay at Laru Beya capped off the best family vacation we've ever had! After 4 nights in the Cayo District at Duplooys (see our Duplooys review) our dream vacation continued in Placencia at Laru Beya. The accommodations, staff, and food was phenominal. The easy going yet super helpful staff made us feel very welcome and we were lucky enough arrive the night of the resturant opeing (great people, food, and ambiance). Thank you all (Ramona, Elizabeth, Mario, etc...) for making our trip the very best. We look forward to visiting agaiin real soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casper, Wy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Upon arriving in Placencia we went directly to our hotel which was just a quick trip from the airport. We were greeted by Lizbeth at the desk and immediately helped to get to our room. The second floor ocean view rooms we got were perfect. You can throw rocks into the ocean from your balconyif you wanted. We had traveled with another couple so she put us in rooms right across the entryway from each other. This was the perfect amount of privacy and proximity! The rooms are very spacious and tastfully decorated with true island flair. The bed was very comfy and the kitchen area was nice so we could make our own coffee and breakfast and lunch if we wanted. The gardens are very beautiful and well taken care of. It was very quiet and relaxing there as the high season was just starting and although the restaurant hadn't opened yet, we did meet the chef and can't wait to go back and try some of his creations! There was a nice restaurant right on the beach just a few steps away at another resort (The Inn at Robert's Grove) which we enjoyed a couple of times as well as great food in the village. It is about 7 minutes to town and Liz gave us a ride a few times and called us taxis the others. She was always there to help us set up tours, answer questions, and attend to our every need...she is a real gem and made our visit feel like we were visitng family!

We ate at Rumfish which has great seafood pasta and burgers and also at Wendy's, not fast food:) which has great breakfast burritos. We enjoyed beers at the Barefoot Bar and meant to make it next door to the Tipsy Tuna (pool tables even) but ran out of time....now we'll just have to go back! Placencia Village is very rustic and just starting to get developed but there are many places to go and eat. If you scuba dive I would recommend Avadon divers 100%. They are a top notch organization with a very nice dive boat! They have showers, a bathroom and served up fresh banana bread and coffee for breakfast and lunch during our surface interval! It was great diving and great service. Phillip and Gerome are great dive masters and the boat hand Matt was amazing! Also, the Monkey River tour was a highlight...Liz set this up with "Ralph" who picked us up took us on the tour! We saw dolphins, turtles, manatees and that was before we even got to the river! The tour is very relaxing and he knows everything about the wildlife and plant life on the river. We saw crocodiles, many many birds, iguanas, and best of all the howler monkeys. We had lunch at his place (awesome red beans and rice) and really enjoyed our day!
If you are looking for a very quiet and peaceful place to visit...where time stands still and you can just sit and enjoy the quiet by the beach or pool then this is the place for you. There is a hammock in each room and we all used ours...the best nap I've had in years! Liz will take care of you and you will leave feeling rested and revitalized!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanloverCasper_Wy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Our experience at Laru Beya was wonderful. Unfortunately the restaurant and palapa bar on the property hadn’t opened for the season yet, but we knew that before we arrived. We also knew that we saved considerably on the price of the room by visiting in the low season. Lizbeth, who worked at the front desk and had arranged our reservations, had offered to do some grocery shopping before our arrival for snacks and refreshments, which we took her up on. She was there to pick us up at the Placencia airstrip even though we had not told her the exact time of our arrival from Belize City, which amazed us. She arranged all of our tours and gave us a lift into town a couple of times. She also called us by our first names every time she saw us, which truly made us feel like we got special treatment.
We had a room without a kitchen, although it did have a refrigerator and coffee maker, and it had a great view of the ocean. The woodwork was beautiful and the room was decorated in a bright Caribbean theme that was very tastefully done. The bathroom and shower were a real bonus. The shower was finished in beautiful tile with lots of water pressure and it even had a foot shower, which was a first for us in all of our tropical travels.
In the low season, if you are looking for a low key and relaxing place to hang and read by the pool, you can’t go wrong at Laru Beya. The beachfront property is beautiful. If a little bit of activity and tropical atmosphere is what you’d prefer, I would shoot for the high season when the restaurant and bar are open, since it’s a little remote as far as eating and drinking goes. The facility that housed the bar and restaurant was being spruced up for the opening, and looked like it would be an incredibly aesthetic and enjoyable place for guests of Laru Beya and other guests of the surrounding properties . We can’t wait to go back to experience it, knowing that it would be a whole different dynamic than the quiet low key time that we had on this visit. There is a lot to be said about both experiences and ours was not at all a disappointment.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tropical_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We stayed 6 nights for our honeymoon earlier this month and had an amazing time. The restaurant was closed for renovations (they said it would open in early December), so they made arrangements for Chef Troy to cook for us in the room. Everything was delicious, I cant even imagine how good the restaurant menu will be. All of our excursions (snorkeling, fishing, cave tubing) were set up by Lizbeth, and were great. Definitely a great place to stay in Placencia!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
4.4 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
2.7 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
626 reviews
4.8 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
557 reviews
20.5 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laru Beya Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laru Beya Resort & Villas

Property: Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia 00501, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#3 Family Hotel in Placencia
#4 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Laru Beya Resort & Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laru Beya is an exclusive, midsize resort located on seven acres of lush gardens and beachfront property in southern Belize. We have the amenities of a large resort with the service and attention to detail of an exclusive villa. We offer a wide variety of rooms including ocean and garden view, and two and three bedroom villas that include living and dining rooms and full kitchens. Also available are penthouse rooms and villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Laru Beya Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Hotel Placencia
Laru Beya Resort And Villas
Laru Beya Hotel
Laru Beya Resort & Villas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing