We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't eat here! Average food worst service in my life!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cozy Corner

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cozy Corner
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here! Average food worst service in my life!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I ate here twice during my stay and the food taste ok but made my wife throw up one night and gave me upset stomach. The service was the worst in my life; including 1 hour wait for food with only 3 other people in the restaurant, waitress rolling her eyes, AND the owner refusing to address my concerns himself. Save your time and eat elsewhere this place SUCKS!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    33
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
7
31
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

Mediocre at best. Extremely annoying American waitress who will literally try to force you to purchase all sorts of stuff at all cost. "Fruit salad?, No thank you, 5 minutes later, How about that fruit salad? No thank you. Fruit juice? No. How about that fruit juice? No!" And that goes on and on till you finally leave. And the spot attracts annoying crowd of older, single white dudes, who have an attitude of plantation owners and are real irritating to be around. Skip that one.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Unit333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We have stayed at numerous 4 and 5 star resorts in Mexico. When we went to Belize, we specifically wanted to avoid that type of environment. Cozy Corner was perfect for us. We were able to relax, the staff was very friendly and helpful but not overbearing, and corrected what few issues we had very quickly (the shower head fell off :) ). Cozy Corner is ideally located, has a great restaurant and bar, with two more a very short walk away, and downtown less than a 10 minute walk.
This is the place if you want to relax, no frills, and use as a base for your adventures. If you want an Americanized resort, you will be disappointed.
We are going back at the end of this month.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortez_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

This hotel was good for what it was. It was reasonably priced for Placencia. Our room was very clean and the mini fridge is a huge plus for keeping water and drinks/food cold. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

We found the restaurant to be a bit of a rip off but the beach was incredible.

This is a good place to stay if you are looking for AC and not being ripped off. The room was very bare boned but it's all you need.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

I was scheduled to stay at Rum Point Inn for a relaxing resort vacation with my mother for Christmas. We arrived only to find out the resort was closed due to the passing of the owner. We were dropped off on Christmas Eve in Placencia and told to go knock on doors. We finally ended up at Cozy Corner. The rooms were clean and colorfull. We later switched to the cabanas next door. I have been to Placencia six times since. The restaurant and bar at Cozy are excellent. The food is great and Stoney's drinks are awesome!!!! Kewl the owner is extremely nice and hospitable. If you visit in the off season, this will be one of the few restaurants open. I highly recommend this restaurant and bar. It is also a great central location as far as hotel s are concerned. It has one of the largest beach areas in the village.

  • Liked — Spacious for Placencia
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PlacenciaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

The Cozy Corner is a great budget hotel located right on the beach. They have cabanas and lounge chairs right on the beach as well as a beach bar/restaurant. The rooms were clean and simple: full size bed, fridge, a/c, chair and desk, private bath, and a small tv with cable. The location is great and the price is right. Don't expect any fancy concierge service, however the staff is very friendly and helpful.

My room was close to the washer and dryer that the housekeeping staff uses on the 2nd floor, so it was a bit noisy in the morning, but nothing too serious.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2008

The Cozy Corner was clean and simple. We had a room on the third floor with AC and two double beds. The room had cable TV, a refrigerator, a microwave, a coffeemaker, and a sink outside the bathroom, which was nice. The AC didn't work as well as we would have liked, although the overhead fan helped. The shower was large, but the bathroom had no towel racks, which would have been nice to dry towels or bathing suits. Overall, our room was quiet and good for the price. Another person wrote about the noise from the restaurant. We could hear the music when it was playing, but it didn't go late, and you can request a room away from the restaurant. The restaurant is convenient--some places don't have one, and the Cozy has pretty good food and you don't have to go too far to get it. If you don't want to pay to stay at a resort and want to be in the village, the Cozy was pretty good. We could walk to the dive shops or to other restaurants or to the amazing gelato place nearby, the Tutti Fruiti. Bring your own beach towel if you stay at Cozy--they don't provide them (you can rent them from the front desk, however). The Cozy has its own beach, but when we were there, the water in front of the beach was very rough and not necessarily water you would want to swim in.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
1.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
6.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.4 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Corner

Property: Cozy Corner
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
Also Known As:
Cozy Corner Placencia
Cozy Corner Hotel Placencia
Cozy Corner Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing