We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Chinese Surprise”
Review of Dragonfly Moon - CLOSED

Dragonfly Moon
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining
Description: Dragonfly Moon is housed in a traditional hardwood building situated on a corner lot on Main Street in downtown Placencia Village. The exterior treatment,seating,signage and lighting are Asian motif. The interior is warm and inviting,hip and artistic!
sw ont
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great Chinese Surprise”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had always liked the food at Tommy's, the previous incarnation of this establishment and we went in expecting more of the same. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the menu had changed and the new food was far better than it used to be. The Dim Sum is fantastic, worthy of a Chinese place in a big city. The staff are attentive and very nice and the atmosphere is comfortable yet exotic. My only complaint was when the big wok had a whole in in so I couldn't get .... the take out fried chicken!! Probably the best fried chicken I have ever eaten.
This place does it all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stoneySwOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Newly renovated and great food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The atmosphere is nice as well as the selection of music. The service was excellent but the server made 2 mistakes on 2 orders having to send 1 order back to the kitchen and the other order we decided was too much of a hassle. Amy, the Owner is very pleasant and accommodating. The chef is very creative in his presentation of dishes. Even with the mistakes, the food stood alone and is a must do if you truly creative dishes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justlucky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ignacio, Cayo, Belize
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly!!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Dim Sum in!!!! I placed 3 orders for myself and had to return the following night!!! It was amazing along with the service and the decor! I shall return!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abner R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuttingsville, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Authentic feeling dim sum and food”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We came after reading a very good review in the local paper. The chef, newly married in China to the owner, was classically trained in preparing dim sum and it shows. All of them were delicious,. We had the 7 piece sampler first and then 2 more of our favorites and the chow mein. This last dish was better than it sounds with homemade noodles and fresh vegetables. The owner came over to talk to us and the decor was very nice, both inside and out, as was the service. When we had a question on the composition of one of the drinks, the bartender came to our table with the details. It was altogether a great evening and we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFreeVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We walked by Dragonfly Moon several times before we actually tried it. It looked very ice, but we weren't thinking "Asian food" until one of our last nights - then we were so glad we stopped in for an appetizer. It is a beautiful restaurant, the service was very friendly and the dim sum was yummy! try "Snow White"

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Moon also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing