We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great vacation.”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The time for planning our 11 year old son's spring break was rapidly approaching. We decided to go to Belize instead of Kirkwood or Key West. Chabil Mar is fantastic. The facility is conveniently located close to Placencia...just a stroll or bike ride away. The villas are perfect for our family...very comfortable, clean and well-appointed. Every single staff person was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly. We had a fantastic time in the pool, on the beach, fishing with Wayne and touring the ruins with Gilbert. Our son caught his first tarpon and bonefish on the fly.

Room Tip: We loved room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Let's bump the star rating to 6 !!! From the moment Chabil's staff picks you up and returns you to the airport after your visit, you are in paradise !!!! Our family of 5 had first class service and amenities all 8 days. Althea,Natalie,Merli,Tiffany,DeChaun,Jose, Adan, and of course Tony were available always for food,drink, pool,and beach services,and any request for our stays in the fabulous air conditioned and sleek designs of our accommodations. Within walking of downtown Plancencia, the eats @ Tipsy Tuna,RumFish,Barefoot Bar,Wendy's,Brenda's ,Hidden Garden Omars,and a host of other local street food fare Belizian Style, what fun ! The best treat is the outstanding food right at Chabil, served anywhere on property, beach, deck, pool, your room with great fun and interaction, great respect and a just "let us know" what you would like Mr. Chris, it was taken care of. From floating in the 2 infinity pools, walking and sitting on the the sand raked beach, swimming ,kayaking, and sunning off the private pier. The grouper,tuna,snapper I caught one day???... The chef prepared roasted grouper filets,whole grilled snapper, and a tuna sashimi,along with Belizian sides,served on the pier for a private family dinner, wow......Talk to the staff about anything you want to do, Monkey River,fishing, island explore day, shopping, whatever, they have the assistance and love to help........Returning soon, the best !!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Our beach front 2 bedroom and ocean view 1 bedroom superb, the beach is right out your door any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSaltlakecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I had been to Belize once before, but had visited the mountains. We were very excited to visit the beach. Adventure started with our flight on a puddle jumper from Belize City to placencia. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the resort. The location is terrific. You can walk along the beach into town or use the resorts bikes. Everyone at the resort is terribly friendly and the food and drinks are great. There is no restaurant per say but you can order food just about anytime to any location be it poolside or to your room. We enjoyed happy hour every night at the bar. Great time to meet fellow travelers. Just wear bug spray. Although the resort sprays that time of night is awful for the no see'ums and my legs got eaten up the first night. It was nice during the day even though all the rooms were booked you hardly ran into anyone. Very quiet and relaxing. There are kayaks and bikes you can take out which are both fun. One day we did a full day snorkel with the group across the street at the marina. They were wonderful and we saw dolphins, rays, and sea turtles.
My only complaint really is that our room overlooked the pool and our bedroom the bar. The shades were very thin and at night all the unit lights and bar lights flooded our room so often times it was hard to fall asleep. There are only a few units that actually look directly out to the ocean otherwise you just get a corner or so.
Overall it was great and I would recommend it it's nice to be close to town too so you can venture out. The Cozy Corner was good for breakfast and we were most surprised the little Italian restaurant was really good!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We went to chabil mar for a relaxing get-away and it definitely delivered. From the moment we got there to the moment we left we were treated like royalty. The staff was always willing to go the extra mile. When my husband was having trouble with his cell phone they took the phone to town to have it looked at while we were on a tour. From the ladies at the front desk to the security guard Silvino, to Deshaun the bartender, everyone went above and beyond to make sure our stay was memorable.

We went on the monkey river tour with Percy and to the cockscomb wildlife preserve with Zeph.. They both did an excellent job! We had massages with Lek and Roger, they were fabulous.

The pictures you see on the resort website don't even do it justice. You can look for a bad review but you won't find one and everything you read is absolutely true! I only hope I get the opportunity to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I just recently stayed at Chabil Mar for a belated 40th birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived, the staff was incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. We were very impressed with the grounds of the resort and had a wonderful view of the ocean from our room. We did not have a hammock on our patio, so, when I asked if there was one on the grounds that I could use, they came the following morning to our cabana, while we were out snorkeling, and put up a hammock for our personal use. From the massage on the beach to the food and drinks at the resort, everything was wonderful. DeShaun, the bartender, made the best ginger mojito I have ever had! Awesome staff, beautiful place and amazing experience. We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Chabil Mar provided the best of three great family visits to Belize. The staff, and the quality of the facility, kept all ten family members - three generations ranging from 77 to 3 - totally happy. The activities arranged by the concierge - Marli and Tiffany - provided the adventure and education we were after - especially for the grandchidren. Their selection of guides was right on for our needs. Every morning, our delicious breakfast arrived plus or minus of 1 minute from the request made the night before - even for the 5:15 am required by the Scarlet Macaw Birding Tour. That's over the top!!! And for an old fly fisherman, 10 Bonefish release before noon will live in the memories of son and Dad for a song time. For active families, who also cherish some delightful "downtime", Chabil Mar is the place in Belize.

Room Tip: Rooms #6 and #9 offer great views, are right in the middle of activities, but offer peace and privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodhouseti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We travel as a family a fair amount and this is hands down the best resort experience we've ever had. The staff is amazing - Althea took care of all booking with tours and puddle jumper home so I didn't have to. And the guides they use were fantastic. All staff are friendly and customer service pros. The grounds and villas are just beautiful and well maintained. My daughter loved finding "her" iguana each day in the beautiful flowers. Having the kitchen and the washer/dryer made the vacation. Putting stinky seawater clothes in the wash was fantastic so bring 3-in-1 wash sheets with you. And having cold beer, snacks, coffee and breakfast stuff at the ready (there is a brand new nice grocery just up the road) was the best. The beds are so comfy - linens were of excellent quality. So were bath toiletries. Good soaps, shampoos, lotions.

The food was just amazing. We brought our fresh caught fish back and the kitchen sent up what is undoubtedly the best meal we have ever had. They started with sushi and then sent banana leaf baked, mango sauce, grilled fish, and rice, potatoes and perfectly cooked vegetables. Divine.

Overall I just can't rave enough. I wish I could win lotto and live there...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wegs3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Placencia
92 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £220 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing