We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, nice people and great service. Outstanding food too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, nice people and great service. Outstanding food too!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here in February and loved it! The staff is wonderful, the food is great and the accommodations are amazing. It is walking distance to town, but not too close to town. It is the perfect distance! Great for morning and evening walks along the beach. A very quiet place that does a nice job making guests feel right at home. Wonderful, clean and nicely decorated units. We had an oceanside unit, but all units would be nice. I don't think there is a bad one on the resort. It is a smaller resort and perfect for a remote get-a-way. Rent a golf cart in town if you want to go in and out of the small town a lot and make sure you get the gelato in town, it is amazing!! The locals are great and it is a safe, remote place still!! I hope it doesn't change!

Room Tip: You don't need an ocean view room to enjoy this place. They are all so close to the ocean that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
198
377
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

my husband and I recently returned from a 5 night stay at chabil mar. we were there for our honeymoon and it was a very special week.

the service at the hotel is second to none. the servers (Junior in particular) and the bar staff (especially Darren) were so friendly and hospitable. Tiffany and Natalie at the front desk were also great. they were a huge help in answering all of our questions and helping us arrange day trips and dinner reservations.

the property has bikes that you can use for free - we took these almost every day to head into town for a quick visit. there is also a shuttle into town every evening (all complimentary) which made getting to and from town easy and hassle free.

the food at chabil mar was delicious. the seafood chowder (which I wouldn't ordinarily order) was amazing. all of the seafood was prepared so well and was incredibly fresh!

the beach is beautiful, sandy and clean. you can't really swim off the beach because there is a lot of sea grass but the pools were perfect for taking a quick dip - they are very close to the beach and are kept at the perfect temperature!

as an FYI, you should be aware that there is a 10% service fee added to all food and beverage charges at the hotel (in addition to a 12% government tax). a lot of restaurants include the taxes in their prices but the menu at chabil mar does not - so you should add 22% to every bill when calculating how much things cost. the service fee is a true fee that is given to the staff - we were happy to hear that - but it is still a significant expense when added to each food/beverage expense over the course of 6 days.

all in all, we had an amazing time and would definitely return.

NOTE: if you are prone to get bitten by bugs, bring bug spray and anti-itch lotion - there are lots of little sand flies that you can't see but will bite (especially at night), so come prepared!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for five nights at Chabil Mar March 2014.

It was the last stop of a few different accommodations in Belize, and we were happy with it. The room was HUGE. Most people would be happy to live in it as an apartment. We were more than ready for the laundry facilities after some time in Belize, and perhaps I didn't do my homework, but I was surprised and delighted to find laundry in suite. The kitchen is fully and completely outfitted, even though we didn't even turn on the kettle. Why would you when the staff is standing by to bring you whatever you like at a moment's notice??

All the staff are friendly and accommodating. I can think of nothing critical to say about the service. the breakfasts were good, if a tad repetitive, but for "included" breakfasts they really were good. Go ahead and splurge an extra $2 and get the fryjacks... you'll thank me later. The overall menu isn't too imaginative....we had lunch one or two times, but otherwise went out for day trips. What other resort so happily gives you a free ride into town and back every night so you can try the local restaurants?? So, that's what we did for the most part. There are several good options for eating at every budget level in town. The first night we walked, or you could take the free shuttle, or borrow a couple of bikes. We did enjoy the special Grill Night they prepared on Friday night because we were so pooped from the day's activities. At first we thought it was a bit expensive at $35 us per person, but we ended up quite happy to have stayed. We were offered a choice of appetizer, and a choice of two of four main protein grills, together with yummy gratan potatoes and veggies. I couldn't come close to finishing what they gave me for bacon wrapped pork tenderloin and grilled shrimp. Even though the shrimp was way overcooked, the whole experience was nice. They had a musician playing reggae medleys all night long, and he didn't even take a break. We brought our own bottle of wine and nobody minded a bit.

We enjoyed an excursion to Silk Caye with Splash Dive centre right across the road, as well as a lovely sunset cruise with just the two of us, a bottle of wine and appies, and a personal captain and guide. He took us around the backside of some little lagoons and canals all around Placencia which was quite nice.

You can walk into town on the road, or the beach from CM, but still enjoy the quiet location. We didn't' want for anything here and hope to return. We had the best sleep of all the nice places we stayed at in Belize. Probably it was the air conditioning. We didn't use it any other place, but it was on, and tantalizing..... we turned it off in the bedroom but kept it on in the living room.

We stayed in Villa 6 which was delightful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissusKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just got back from a four day stay at Chabil Mar. The service was excellent. All of the employees were extremely helpful and seemed genuinely interested in me and my stay. Our unit was kept spotless and the grounds and pool were lovely and well maintained. I loved that we could get our meals served to us anywhere on the property! It added a little extra luxury to an already relaxing trip. I was very impressed by the food. It was delicious and presented beautifully. The bar was great and happy hour was lots of fun. I went with a semi-all inclusive plan, paying for about half of my meals ahead of time. Next time, I'd go ala carte instead. Paying in advance didn't offer a substantial savings, but it did bind you to eating at the resort. Again, the food was great, but there were lots of great options in Placencia as well. I also paid for two days of golf cart rental, and only used the cart for about an hour and a half. Placencia is walkable and bike able, plus Chabil Mar has an exceptionally friendly shuttle driver, so getting into town was easy. My only two complaints are minor. You are provided beach towels in your room, but there are no towel stations at the pool or beach. Absolutely not a big deal, but I like the convenience of having them pool side. Also, the bill for incidentals was very confusing. Each entry was numbered and dated and included a dollar amount, but for the most part, I couldn't tell if it was for the bar, for a tip I left for a meal, an extra side dish, etc. And since I wasn't given any receipts at the time of initial purchase, I have absolutely no idea if any of the amounts were correct.

This was a great resort, and I wouldn't hesitate to return. Whether you get a direct ocean front or a partial view, you'll be happy with your villa. Despite being privately owned, they are all up to certain standards of comfort, and they are all good. The stretch of beach is great, and the resort feels very secure. And again, the service is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the CM. Having stayed previously at another leading resort on Placencia, we decided to try them. We were not disappointed!
The total experience was great...accommodations , location and food were great but the staff are simply amazing!
Hands down, the CM is THE place to stay while visiting the peninsula.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank studebjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent four very comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable days at this excellent property. The staff are friendly & helpful, the location excellent on a wonderful beach front site. There is free shuttle transport into the local village of Placencia. The suites are excellent with a full kitchen, washer/dryer & dishwasher. There are large balconies, with a hammock, sun loungers & table & chairs. There is not a sitdown restaurant as such, but you just order your food from their kitchens & it is brought to you where ever you wish to eat:- on your balcony, by the pool or in the gardens. A lovely idea, as it is so versatile & the waiters are really pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham_hyland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We ended our 15 day vacation with a 3 night stay at Chabil Mar. The resort was most appreciated after the beds and rooms we had stayed in before this were ok, just not as comfortable as we are used to

Room Tip: partial ocean view was just as nice as full view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
284 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
505 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing