We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You guys Rock!!”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I just want to say thank you to Bernard, Eleazar, Merle,Natalie,Jason, Darren, Deshaun and all of the staff who had made our stay wonderful ! Sorry if I did not mention all :-( Dany, Akeem and Sho thank you . A great smile everyday!!
Hoping one day we can visit again . Staff are always friendly but the manager is not really visible during our stay there. Finally saw him but seems not friendly like his staff and assistant manager.
Deshaun will be looking for your singing video on you tube .

Just a comment though the bowl of water for guest to wash the sand off , won't it be better to get like a sand brush. For me that is stagnant water that mosquitoes might live but I could be wrong .

But overall had a wonderful stay!!! You all "ROCK" in going for extra greatness to your guests .

Room Tip: Any rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Throughout my life, I have visited many places around the world and Chabil Mar rates as one of my favorites. It is one of my favorites because of the grounds, the food, the rooms and the people.

Grounds:
The grounds at Chabil Mar are absolutely immaculate. The landscape is flourishing with palm trees, flowers and tropical plants. You will also find two pristine, saline swimming pools. Although the resort was fully booked during my stay, the pools were quiet and relaxing….perfect setting to soak up some sun while sipping on orange infused ice water.

Another highlight to staying at Chabil Mar is no matter what room you choose, you are only steps away from the beach, which is the cleanest in Placencia. The lounge chairs and cushions are in perfect condition, the pier, which also lights up at night, has an amazing breeze and tranquil atmosphere. It is also very safe at night due to 24 hour security.

Food:
One of the most unique features at Chabil Mar is having the option to have breakfast, lunch or dinner delivered to you anywhere on the property. In fact, there is a full kitchen, but no restaurant seating area. You can order it on the beach, the pier, the bar, your porch…anywhere you desire. All of the food is delicious, but I highly recommend the shrimp tacos and seafood chowder. Also, every Friday night the resort has a grill night where you can choose an appetizer, 2 entrees and dessert. There is also live music playing in the background. Definitely attend this event!

Rooms:
The room that I stayed in was a 2 bedroom with an ocean view. It was decorated perfectly, had a full kitchen, TV (movies are available at the front desk), couch, dining table and two full bathrooms. When we arrived, I was very impressed that housekeeping had placed fresh flowers, local organic chocolate bars and beach towels in the shape of a swan around the room. The rooms are all uniquely decorated and very spacious.

People:
The people at Chabil Mar are what truly make it a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating – it feels as if they know each guest by first name. Another favorite spot of mine was the outdoor bar where you can visit after a long, relaxing day in the sun, for happy hour before dinner, or even a night cap on the way home. If you get lucky enough, Darren will be bartending…make sure you try his Rum Punch! The guests and the staff were always in a good mood, friendly and easy to talk to. It felt like being away with old friends. Another plus is many of the unit owners are there vacationing and were more than happy to talk about what they love about Belize.

Whether you are on your honeymoon, anniversary, taking a family trip or just looking to escape for a few days….Chabil Mar is the place to be!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferA7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the beautiful grounds, to the super friendly and accommodating staff, to the incredible food, the amazing beach and everything in between, we could have not have asked for a more perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchqtpy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This resort was beautiful and the service was great. We ate there a few times and found the food to be great as well. After visiting Robert's Grove and The Turtle, we believe that Chabil Mar is the cream-of-the-crop in Placencia. Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our partial ocean-view villa was great. Not far from the pool or beach, and we still could see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently got married at Chabli Mar and I cannot believe what an amazingly beautiful experience the staff provided for us! They decorated so beautifly and the quality of the service all around was something special, they took such great care us and our families, anyone who is fortunate enough to stay here will will definatley have a wonderful, unforgetable experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Chabil Mar is as lovely as advertised. From the first contact with reservations to the last goodbyes the staff are as friendly, gracious and professional everytime. The rooms are huge and well appointed. The resort is spotless and the food is as good as the reviews state. We visited during spring break and the resort seemed virtually empty during the day but there was a host of families with small children. This may have been not the norm but may be a concern for honeymooners or older couples wanting quiet time around the pool. The children were around especially early in am and at dinner time.

Room Tip: Rooms around the second pool were quieter than the main pool which has more shallow stairs for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepackrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

All the reviews that are written for Chabil Mar are very true! Believe it! I just want to add a comparison to Turtle Inn. My family stayed at Chabil Mar and my friends stayed at Turtle Inn. I felt very bad for my friends because they got eaten alive by lots of different bugs and they had no A/C. We were suppose to stay with them but they had no availability...thank goodness! We went to the monkey river and my buddy pulled out his binoculars and out jumped a 2"cockroach, that came from his hut from Turtle Inn. Everyone screamed, including him! I found a gecko in our room that my wife made me catch but other than that, no bugs at Chabil Mar. Over all... 5 star service (out of 5 stars), very clean room and pool. Had so much fun that I did not know they had a fitness center and did not take advantage of the spa service.

Room Tip: Anything ocean front is great. All rooms are good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esmc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Placencia
92 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 20 in Placencia
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £221 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing