We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorable family vacation”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Such a wonderful, comfortable place to stay, but what really makes it is the staff, who were universally friendly and helpful and so nice. The location is great, the food was fantastic and it allowed us to enjoy the perfect mix of beach and adventure vacation. All of the trips arranged by Jason were wonderful, with great drivers and guides. Monkey River and Laughingbird Caye are musts for wildlife viewing fans, and we enjoyed the Jaguar Preserve as well to see a different side of Belize, plus the river tubing and waterfall swim were super fun!


The only challenge was getting to town with a younger child in tow if you had no rental car, since the roads were a little unnerving for a novice bike rider, though the shuttle in the evenings worked great.

Room Tip: We had a seaview (12) and it was great, the view was as advertised and it had pool proximity to plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
198
377
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Everything was perfect.... the location, the accommodations, the service, the food ... !!
We loved it all. We were in unit 1 which was the best we think. Such a luxury to call and have breakfast delivered, after our early morning swim in the ocean and the pool. The staff went out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: we loved being on the upper level..and our room was a corner room. All rooms have full kitchens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hildagarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I just want to say thank you to Bernard, Eleazar, Merle,Natalie,Jason, Darren, Deshaun and all of the staff who had made our stay wonderful ! Sorry if I did not mention all :-( Dany, Akeem and Sho thank you . A great smile everyday!!
Hoping one day we can visit again . Staff are always friendly but the manager is not really visible during our stay there. Finally saw him but seems not friendly like his staff and assistant manager.
Deshaun will be looking for your singing video on you tube .

Just a comment though the bowl of water for guest to wash the sand off , won't it be better to get like a sand brush. For me that is stagnant water that mosquitoes might live but I could be wrong .

But overall had a wonderful stay!!! You all "ROCK" in going for extra greatness to your guests .

Room Tip: Any rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Throughout my life, I have visited many places around the world and Chabil Mar rates as one of my favorites. It is one of my favorites because of the grounds, the food, the rooms and the people.

Grounds:
The grounds at Chabil Mar are absolutely immaculate. The landscape is flourishing with palm trees, flowers and tropical plants. You will also find two pristine, saline swimming pools. Although the resort was fully booked during my stay, the pools were quiet and relaxing….perfect setting to soak up some sun while sipping on orange infused ice water.

Another highlight to staying at Chabil Mar is no matter what room you choose, you are only steps away from the beach, which is the cleanest in Placencia. The lounge chairs and cushions are in perfect condition, the pier, which also lights up at night, has an amazing breeze and tranquil atmosphere. It is also very safe at night due to 24 hour security.

Food:
One of the most unique features at Chabil Mar is having the option to have breakfast, lunch or dinner delivered to you anywhere on the property. In fact, there is a full kitchen, but no restaurant seating area. You can order it on the beach, the pier, the bar, your porch…anywhere you desire. All of the food is delicious, but I highly recommend the shrimp tacos and seafood chowder. Also, every Friday night the resort has a grill night where you can choose an appetizer, 2 entrees and dessert. There is also live music playing in the background. Definitely attend this event!

Rooms:
The room that I stayed in was a 2 bedroom with an ocean view. It was decorated perfectly, had a full kitchen, TV (movies are available at the front desk), couch, dining table and two full bathrooms. When we arrived, I was very impressed that housekeeping had placed fresh flowers, local organic chocolate bars and beach towels in the shape of a swan around the room. The rooms are all uniquely decorated and very spacious.

People:
The people at Chabil Mar are what truly make it a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and accommodating – it feels as if they know each guest by first name. Another favorite spot of mine was the outdoor bar where you can visit after a long, relaxing day in the sun, for happy hour before dinner, or even a night cap on the way home. If you get lucky enough, Darren will be bartending…make sure you try his Rum Punch! The guests and the staff were always in a good mood, friendly and easy to talk to. It felt like being away with old friends. Another plus is many of the unit owners are there vacationing and were more than happy to talk about what they love about Belize.

Whether you are on your honeymoon, anniversary, taking a family trip or just looking to escape for a few days….Chabil Mar is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferA7422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

From the beautiful grounds, to the super friendly and accommodating staff, to the incredible food, the amazing beach and everything in between, we could have not have asked for a more perfect vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchqtpy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This resort was beautiful and the service was great. We ate there a few times and found the food to be great as well. After visiting Robert's Grove and The Turtle, we believe that Chabil Mar is the cream-of-the-crop in Placencia. Hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our partial ocean-view villa was great. Not far from the pool or beach, and we still could see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently got married at Chabli Mar and I cannot believe what an amazingly beautiful experience the staff provided for us! They decorated so beautifly and the quality of the service all around was something special, they took such great care us and our families, anyone who is fortunate enough to stay here will will definatley have a wonderful, unforgetable experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
284 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
505 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing