We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughtful and caring staff, great property”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoughtful and caring staff, great property”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After a nightmare stay at Chaa Creek (see my other review) we had a couple of nights at Chabil Mar. Belize holds a very special place in my family's heart and the staff at Chabil Mar exemplify much of what we love about this country. The resort itself was a wonderful place to let our kids explore and play while we dealt with more stressful issues resulting from our time at Chaa Creek. The staff was kind, supportive and felt like friends by the time we had to leave. I would love to visit Chabil Mar again sometime under less tense circumstances because it's clearly a place to feel at home and cared for, in addition to great food and a nice beach.

Room Tip: We chose an upstairs room with a view of the water. It was wonderful to watch storms and lightning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyplav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    64
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
202
383
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

While looking for the perfect place to have our wedding, we are so glad we stumbled across Chabil Mar! From our first contact to the last day of our stay, everything was perfect. Our wedding was flawless, beautiful and more amazing than we imagined it to be. The marriage license process is quick and simple. They take care of everything for you. The beauty of Chabil Mar is breathtaking. The staff did a fabulous job from the planning, coordinating, decorating, serving, and on and on. They really take great care of their guests. The grounds and the beach are well groomed. The entire staff was very friendly, happy, always smiling, and very accommodating. We enjoyed getting to know Althea, Natalie, Tiffany, Danny, Luis, Darren, Deshaun, Florencio, Jason, Lacho, Junior, Bernard and the entire staff of wonderful fun people. They make you feel like family. The drinks and food were excellent. Every meal we had was great. Loved the yummy mummy and coconut mojito's just to name a couple. We had family and friends with us and everyone had an excellent time. There was not one thing to complain about! The villas are beautiful, fully furnished with washer and dryers, which we loved the option of being able to wash our clothes after a day at the beach. We wanted a place that was quiet, peaceful, that did not have public access and we certainly found it here. At times we wondered if we were the only ones at the resort. No running out early in the morning to save a beach chair! A couple mornings, we walked down the beach to Detach for breakfast and Above Grounds for lattes. We love the laid back atmosphere of Placencia. We had dinner at Rumfish, Omar's, MoJo's and gelato at Tutti Frutti. All were excellent. The shuttle service provided by Chabil Mar is a great option rather than paying for a taxi or renting a golf cart. Chabil Mar and the staff made a lasting impression on us. The service is impeccable and exceeded our expectations. We are already planning to go back for our one-year anniversary. Chabil Mar we will see you again soon...hopefully many times over. Thank you for making our stay and our day memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite but saw two other villas and all were beautiful each have their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelap5214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our 6th trip to Belize, but our first trip Placencia. We picked Chabil Mar after reading reviews and talking to folks. Both Placencia and this place are truly wonderful. Placencia is like Ambergris Caye used to be--laid back, uncrowded, cool local places to eat, and things to do if you want and a perfect beach if you want to just hang out. We could walk from Chabil Mar to the village/town along the beach in 15-20 minutes and watch the water and feel the wind. Chabil Mar itself is charming. The rooms are beautifully appointed and air-conditioned. The grounds are not as expansive as some, but lovely. One of my favorite things was there was no real "dining room," but you could order food and have it delivered any place on the grounds. You only eat there if you stay there. The people there are the best and a true highlight of the place. It is truly a people-driven place. Darren, the bartender we saw daily for afternoon drinks, made us happy,happy. Lacho (spelling is a guess here) rescued me when I discovered I had forgotten toothbrushes. Jason (guest services) was also fun to be around. A wonderful place. I would come back again without thinking twice.

Room Tip: Ocean view if you can do it:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkstarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Chabil Mar the second week of April and had the most wonderful stay. After staying on Ambergris, we welcomed the laid-back and peaceful atmosphere of Chabil Mar. The most impressionable traits of Chabil Mar are the staff. ALL were so pleasant and friendly, so accommodating. Jason, Bernard, Deshaun, Darren, just to name a few, are just some reasons that everyone should stay here!! Having a team like this certainly makes a difference when traveling somewhere you've never been. They all made our trip that much more perfect. The grounds are simply beautiful, very tropical and well maintained. We loved the town of Placencia, some great restaurants to visit (Rumfish, Wendy's, The Secret Garden, Tipsy Tuna), and just a short stroll on the beach into town from CM. Or take the bikes for a nice ride into town, however be careful at night as we almost got runover by a crazy driver! The dock is perfect to relax and soak up the sun, you might even need to sip on a ginger mojito to keep you cool :)

If you want to go on any excursions, Jason is the best source and he will arrange anything for you! He is very knowledgeable and connected with the community so he's got the inside scoop.

When researching hotels for our trip, I relied heavily on Trip Advisor reviews of Chabil Mar and only read great things. Our experience blew our expectations out of the water! One minor detail to be aware of is it is super kid friendly, so just be mindful of the rooms right next to the pools if that's not the kind of trip you are on.

Can't wait to come back to Chabil Mar!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahML1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Chabil Mar is heaven on earth! Everyone - and I mean everyone - on the staff are friendly and will do almost anything to make your stay enjoyable....the villas are spectacular, the landscaping is gorgeous, and the views from the balcony hammocks are to die for! The food is terrific - and is served (fast) anywhere you would like to dine. The beach is beautiful...the dock is great for a romantic dinner....the dive center is right across the street....the village is only a couple of minutes away by golf cart....anything your heart desires! Our two weeks there were by far the most serene vacation we've had....just laying in the hammock in the evenings listening to the waves was enough to lull me to sleep every night....I will recommend Chabil Mar to anyone who will listen....:)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you like being treated like cattle waiting in a sea of people to do the simplest things, you won't like this place. The staff at Chabil Mar is ready to meet any reasonable request with a smile and positive response. This peninsula truly is quite a playground with no crowds. You can eat when you want and always get a seat at any of the beach bars. Chabil Mar is a private resort where you are never bothered by the public or the other guests. So pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnyvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The "villas" are great two bedroom apartments with lot's of space and a nice balcony/terrace. Obviously, the ones overlooking the beach are the best. You can cook your own dinner - although the restaurant is excellent and the food in the village is delcious, too, or just prepare your own breakfast on your terrace, however, most guest just enjoy the perfect F&B service. They serve you anyway on the property. The dinner on the pier is superb - perfect for a romantic dinner or just a special night.
The service is top notch! They go beyond the obvious and expected to make their guests happy.
The entire family (we have two kids, 15 and 10) loved the place.
The hotel also books greak trips which we enjoyed. The Snorkeling/Diving at Sillky Cay is a must if you love the underwater world! Monkey River and Zip-lining were fun, too.
If you love ice cream, you have to go to Tutti Frutti in the village. It's the best Ice Cream - hand made and every day fresh - outside Italy! We were addicted and went every day :). The Rumfish restaurant right above Tutti Frutti was our favorite restaurant. The hotel has a driving service that brings you right into the village and picks you up. They also organize the propeller plan transfer to and from Belize airport as well as the pick-up at the Placencia airport.
While this place is magic and almost perfect, we would have loved to be able to get a good expresso and latte/cappucino which unfortunately, the Chabil Mar doesn't provide. Also, we would have loved to have more watersports possibilities, e.g. a Hoby Cat and Surf Boards. This is a perfect place for sailing and surfing, too.
But all in all, we loved, loved, loved this Chabil Mar! Highly recommend it if you like it upscale and a little quite, however, do not mind kids playing in the pool and on the beach. For us it was just PERFECT!
Last, but not least, let us praise Natalie and Jason who were simply outstanding!

Room Tip: If you are a couple or don't mind kids sleeping in the living room on a sofa bed, go for room 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timinguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing