We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful!”
Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time in Placencia, great place to stay. Staff is fabulous and very helpful in anything you want to do or need. grounds and beaches beautiful. Meals served where ever you want them...in room at pool at beach. No resturant but it is neat having them bring it where you want. takes a little getting used to. Great meals in town too. Would definitely return here again with my family. we loved it!

Room Tip: I loved being on 2nd floor overlooking the beach. second level has high ceilings. but all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyvac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    67
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
215
391
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willamina, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at Chabil Mar in June and had a wonderful experience from beginning to end. From being met upon arrival with refreshments and cold towels, to the caring and friendly staff who were so careful of our needs, to the concierge service staff who helped us plan every aspect of our excursions...this was one of the most wonderful vacation experiences we've had. The resort is beautiful and the amenities are well cared for. The villas were lovely (we stayed in two different ones), and the beds, linens and furnishings were elegant. I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wow! Where to start..... The staff was wonderfully attentive and accommodating. Merli the concierge was so patient and helpful. She really knows the fine details to scheduling all the many possible excursions. Natalie and Tiffany at the front desk always greeted us with a smile and helped us in every way. The grounds are phenomenally manicured (Arturo's loving hand... along with the many, many guys (Luis!!)). The villa was perfect for our needs, better than home. It was welcoming (and well air conditioned) as well as relaxing. But the best parts are the pools and beach (okay... and the bar!). Every need was attended to by the many available staff. We had a bad storm one day and the phone system got hit, and there were more staff making themselves visible since we couldn't use the phones until they were back up (which was pretty quickly). The food was excellent!!! Again.... EXCELLENT!! I would've been very happy to have every meal there. Especially being able to pick any location on the property to eat was so much fun. Plus if we had meals in the villa, we could put a little away in the fridge for a late night snack. PS: Gotta try the Fry Jacks! Can't beat them :) Sho, Dany and Jordan were only a few of the many staff that stood out as dedicated to our comfort and contentment. From the pick up at the airport to the drop off a week later.... we were more than amazed and happy! It's no wonder Chabil Mar has won Tripadvisor Traveler Awards for 7 Consecutive Years, 2008 - 2014 THEY ARE WELL EARNED!! If you want to be treated like royalty, you've got to stay here.

Room Tip: There are only good locations here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoonergirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our first stay in Placencia and this resort was the best chose ever. The entire staff was the most pleasant and accommodating I think we have ever had. We really enjoyed the way they serve meals. They do not have a "restaurant" on property, but a full kitchen and prepares breakfast, lunch and dinner and serves it at several open air places all through the properety, where ever you choose to eat.

These are privately owned condos and not open to the public. I would recommend Chabil Mar to anyone who is planning on visting Placencia, Belize. We defintely will stay there again and again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any bad rooms on the properry. The ones we were able to see were beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Heaven knows I wanted to give Chabil Mar five stars. The staff is beyond lovely, friendly, gracious, and helpful. I haven't been that well looked after since I moved out of my parents home. From the front desk staff like Althea, Nathalie to the concierge and the other ladies; to the site manager whose name I forget; to Bernard, Luis and Gambino; and groundskeeper Jose (?)...everyone was extremely professional and welcoming.

The property itself is beautifully well manicured and landscaped. The pools are works of art. The pier is lovely and the rooms are very well appointed and nicely designed.

The only con...was the food. I choose not to color this review with negative comments, but I highly recommend that one take advantage of restaurants in the village particularly Rumfish & Vino, Wendy's and Omar's. Oh and avoid Tipsy Tuna. Enough said!

I hope to make it back to Chabil Mar one day very soon. It was the base for one of the best vacations I've ever had.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we stayed at Chabil Mar for the the last stop on a 3 centre stay in Belize, Chaa Creek & Matachica all of which were amazing, we fell in love with Belize and its people.
Chabil Mar was our favourite place and the one we would definitely return to. The villas are set in beautiful grounds, right on the beach front, the staff are friendly, professional, and very attentive, the food is fantastic, and the fact you can eat were ever you want to is just great! we had lunch on the beach the first day, breakfast by the pool, the second, dinner on the jetty over the sea one evening, on our last day, we had breakfast on our veranda while watching Dolphin swimming by meters away. We loved the choice of beautiful pools, it was never crowded, often felt like you had the place to yourself, Everything is so convenient. There is a car shuttle service provide by the hotel to take you into town and pick up you up. whatever you want to do, they can arrange it for you.
We cycled into town which is a great for shopping and bars and restaurants, the hotel arranged a snorkelling trip for us with a local company to Silk Cay, this was truly amazing, just like swimming in an aquarium, the stunning coral, hundreds of different tropical fish, Rays, Nurse Sharks, aid Dolphins, Turtles followed by picnic lunch on a small deserted island ! perfect. (just remember to use sun block, we used factor 30 waterproof, but still got the back of legs burned).
we loved Placencia and preferred it to San Pedro, (which was disappointing).
Chabil Mar is a little piece of heaven and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmabeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first trip to Belize so we weren't quite sure what to expect. The Chabil Mar exceeded our expectations in so many ways. The Villas are huge and beautifully decorated with hand-painted murals and original artwork. They are clean, well-stocked, and have washers, dryers, and private lanais. The grounds are exceptional with elegant swimming pools, lounge chairs, sofas, dining tables, etc. located immediately adjacent to the beach. The Chabil Mar is located within walking distance of Placencia Village which offers a number of diverse and excellent restaurants ranging from Creole to Fusion. However, we enjoyed the beauty, food, and service at Chabil Mar so much that we chose to have most of our meals there. The Villas and food are reasonably priced and the service simply can't be beat! If you’re going to visit Belize, do it right and stay at the Chabil Mar.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsRuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#5 of 19 in Placencia
607 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
811 reviews
4.4 mi away
Naia Resort and Spa
Naia Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Placencia
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing