We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved Chabil Mar Villas & Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chabil Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chabil Mar
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Loved Chabil Mar Villas & Belize”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2009

We loved everything about our stay at Chabil Mar Villas. The food was always fabulous and we loved being able to eat anywhere we wanted. We especially enjoyed having dinner out on the pier. It was very romantic!

The staff at Chabil Mar Villas were wonderful! They took care of ever detail of our wedding and we were able to relax and enjoy ourselves. We could not have chosen a better, more romantic place to get married.

We can't wait to go back and we would recommend Chabil Mar Villas to anyone looking for a place to stay in Belize!

  • Liked — We loved having the beach all to ourselves.
  • Disliked — That we weren't able to get the honeymoon suite.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hisnewwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    63
    14
    0
    0
See reviews for
199
378
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2009

We just wanted to comment on the superb experience we had while staying at Chabil-Mar (12/28/08-1/2/09) over New Years. Every aspect of our experience at the resort was exceptional. The accommodations are excellent, every meal we ate on the property was well-cooked, well-presented and very good, but the best part of the Chabil-Mar experience by far is the staff. Every staff member we encountered was polite, personable, professional, and extremely helpful. It was very apparent that they all work well together with a total focus on making the experience memorable for the guests. While every member was exceptional, a few really stood out in helping to make our stay memorable. Chris on the Security Team in particular is one of Chabil Mar's best assets. In addition to maintaining the security of the resort, Chris is everywhere during the day and is Chabil-Mar's unofficial ambassador to the guests. He shows a genuine concern for each of the guests adult and child, and goes out of his way whenever possible to help make the Chabil-Mar experience memorable - whether recommending restaurants or volunteering to go to the pharmacy in town for medicine to help my wife's pain, Chris went above and beyond and did so politely and with good humor. Other folks who stood out were JJ at the bar, Amin on the Service staff, and Natalie at the front desk. Each of these people contributed directly to enhancing our stay at Chabil-Mar. JJ was extremely attentive at the bar and would deliver food and drink to us around the property. He is a tremendous asset to Charbil-Mar and I know that feeling is shared by many other patrons here during our stay. Natalie, like all the front desk personnel, was always bright and went out of her way to find us a customized sailing trip on New Years day. my wife and I have stayed at many resorts in the world including Ritz-Carlton, 4 Seasons, etc., and would place Chabil Mar with any of these – again, the difference is the staff….while every bit as professional as the staffs of other luxury resorts, the personal touch that the intimate setting of Chabil Mar allows is what makes it truly different and special. Your staff is genuinely concerned about the guests and about representing Chabil-Mar well. We would be remiss if we did not also mention other staff members, like Amin, Mark, Ritchie, Elenor, etc….all provided excellent service and represented Chabil Mar well. In addition, Althea was superb in coordinating our booking and exchanged many emails with my wife in planning our stay – in fact, her responsiveness was probably one of the biggest reasons we chose to stay here as opposed to other Belizian locations.

My wife and I plan on making time to come back and visit the resort as well as the staff mentioned above because it has been a truly memorable experience. We look forward to seeing them all in the near future.

  • Liked — Staff and Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank katandkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Just returned from our stay in Belize - wow! We had read the reviews and thought Chabil Mar sounded too good to be true - but it was perfect. We traveled with 2 families which included 5 teenagers between 16 and 21 (1 girl and 4 boys) and we all had a blast. The activities were just right: Monkey River Tour with Percy (not to be missed: saw and heard howler monkeys, crocodiles, and manatees and even ate termites!), fishing with Ivan (the cook at Chabil Mar grilled some of our catch - baracuda and mackerel - right then and there and we shared it with other guests who were on the dock and beach - better than any fish I've ever had, and served beautifully!), snorkeling and scuba diving. We biked, walked, kayaked and relaxed. We were there only 4 days and would have loved several more but there was no room. We spent our last 3 days in Peten, Guatemala (near the ancient Mayan excavated city of Tikal) which was equally wonderful but quite different. Ideally, we would have visited Guatemala first and then relaxed at CM but no villas were available for us to arrange our trip in that order.

Placencia was great - small yet big enough to spend several hours walking around, visiting stores and restaurants (including Tutti Frutti for delicious gelato). Very casual and laid back and very authentic - just like the people.

Several suggestions, bring cash since there are few ATM's and many places take cash only. Also, we got quite bitten by sand flies and, on our last day, found repellent called "Sand Fly Bye Bye" at the pharmacy above Wallins Market. Don't know if it works but wish we had tried it.

The villas were much nicer than I imagined - the photos do not do it justice. We did not realize there is no restaurant but there is a main kitchen from which you can order almost anything (there is a menu) at any time. They make it and bring it you - to your villa, the pool, the beach, the palapa on the pier or the outdoor dining areas.There also is a kitchen in each villa. And the staff could not have been better - friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, and always available - Natalie, Eleanor, Amin, Ricardo and Chris, and everyone else, thank you. We felt pampered and yet left alone. All in all, a fabulous stay in a wonderful place.

  • Liked — Everything including services and staff, location near town and airport
  • Disliked — nothing other than they did not have room for us for a longer stay
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2008

My vacation at the Chabil Mar Villas was a wonderful experience from startt to finish. They are truly luxurious, quiet, private and beautiful. The grounds are lush, tropical and well taken care of. Someone is always working on the grounds to enhance it;s beauty, if that is at all possible. There are two infinity pools, fountains, a pier that goes out into the spectacular Carribean where you can have dinner, drinks or just jump in! The beach is well manicured and is lovely from the comfortable, cushioned lounge chairs. I stayed in unit # 11 and it was clean with spectacular viewsof the ocean, the infinity pool, the Palapas outside bar and the out door grill. There was beautiful original art, tiles, granite and top of the line kitchen. There are also so many birds, butterflies and hummingbirds to watch. We had breakfast every morning from the deck brought to us from the excellent staff of Amin and Dijon. Again everything was perfect, the service, the fruit, the food itself was more than you could ask for. We had our fill of fruit, steak, lobster. a coconut cake and perfect Banana Monkey drinks. The staff from the porters to the wait staff were very attentive to our every need. We took golf cart rides into the village which is quiet and quaint, but with some very nice restaurants. We also took a Monkey River Jungle tour and had a blast. Between the birds, crocodiles, the Howler monkeys (Percy was our tour guide and I would highly recommend him) and the beautiful manatees. It just made a perfect trip more perfect. I would highly recommend going to Chabil Mar Villas again the service, attention to detail and everything about it were wonderful. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Liked — Beautiful kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, washer/dryer, the butler service, the food, attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerAtHeart-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

This was our second trip to Chabil Mar Villas. This time we went with friends and stayed in the second or smaller bedroom. Because of the window arrangement and wonderful cross breeze I actually liked this better – so both rooms are wonderful.
This trip was different. We spent more time with friends wandering around the town; re-visiting places we discovered the first trip and finding new ones. The villa was unchanged and that was reassuring. We experienced the same great service with meals delivered to our condo and cheerfully whisked away shortly later. My routine was to go early each morning before sun up to the pier and watch Orlando and friend sweep the pier and rake the beach so it was pristine before the guests rose. It was peaceful, just me and the pelican that came every morning to fish for his breakfast off the end of the pier. Mine was delivered to me.
It was so nice to get away to a place where everything is delivered to you and done for you. I will return again.

  • Liked — The service from the staff
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MemphisBuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
402 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

My wife and I have had the good fortune of traveling to much of the Caribbean, of course always using Trip Advisor as our guide, and we have had some wonderful experiences. Ti Kaye in St Lucia, and Le Petit in St Marteen WERE our two favorites.... that is until Cabil Mar.

This place is WONDERFUL.

First Placencia - What an amazing place. Very Simple, Very Friendly, Safe, Beautiful, Great restaurants, Darling beach front bars, not at all overcomercialized. And so much to do... Snokle, Dive, Fish, Mayan Ruins, RainForest Adventures, SPA's, Jaguar Preserve's, Manatee Watching, Whale Shark Viewing, sailing, kayacking or best of all RELAX and forget the worlds stresses. See it while you can it will surely be different in 10 years.

Next Chabil Mar - WOW... Beautiful. Accomodations are first class, the grounds are unreal, and the service was perfect.

We were told that there were 24 guests while we were there, but I swear we were the only two. We literally had the staff and pools to ourselves. What can I say this was an incredible vacation.

Breakfast was delivered to our deck every am, and we ate while watching the dolphins in the bay. From there it was to the beach and the pools. We requested for happy hour to start at 3:30 every afternoon so the staff made sure it did. (Have them make you the "Monkey Around" - YUM) And then a different restaurant every night. Total Relaxation


A few Tips

Beware of some of the other full service resorts. We did go check them out and while they are nice, they are far from the village and the road is not exactly manicured, in fact its not paved. Chabil Mar is a 3 Minute Golf Cart or Bike Ride from everything ( on a paved road). We even walked it on the beach in 20 minutes. So unless you plan to stay at your hotel 90% of the time, I would suggest Chabil Mar or Turtle Inn.

Placencia has great restaurants Italian, French, etc. But don't ignore the local restaurants they were excellent as well. Also don't miss a romantic dinner on the Cabil Mar dock if you want a memorable evening.

Just booked our return Trip and cannot wait to get back.

  • Liked — Everthing - Perfect
  • Disliked — Not Long Enough
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown Heights, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

My husband and I just returned from a perfect vacation at Chabil Mar Villas. The air-conditioned accommodations were luxurious and scrupulously clean, with marble floors, granite countertops in the fully-equiped kitchen (including a washer and dryer), exquisite furnishings, comfortable beds with fine linens, huge deck overlooking the Caribbean Sea on one side and a gorgeous pool and perfectly tended lush tropical gardens on the other. Cable TV provided good reception of a wide range of channels, although the best "shows" were outdoors where humming birds and other colorful birds, lizards and iguanas delighted us.

Meals and beverages were superb and beautifully served by attentive waiters at the location of our choice: villa, poolside, beach, or palapa on the pier. All the staff members were friendly and eager to please; there when we needed them, but not at all obtrusive. Food service and facilities are for guests only, ensuring privacy and a safe, quiet environment at all times. Front desk staff was extremely efficient, ready to arrange special excursions, transportation, or provide whatever help we needed.

With the opportunity to go fishing, diving, snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, visit Mayan ruins, take the Monkey River tour (a highlight for us), a guest at Chabil Mar can have a different adventure every day, or opt just to relax in the magnificent, restful atmosphere of this Belizean paradise. Although Chabil Mar has 22 villas, much of the time we had the pool and beach to ourselves. When we did encounter other guests, they were friendly, and we enjoyed talking with them.

Chabil Mar is conveniently located, a short complimentary golf cart or taxi ride from the Placencia Airport, and within easy walking distance of town. One morning, we took a leisurely stroll into the village of Placencia, which has interesting shops and eateries. I bought some beautiful hand-beaded jewelry to take home for gifts.

We heartily recommend Chabil Mar as, by far, the resort of choice in Placencia. Wonderful people, gorgeous accommodations, outstanding service, private and quiet atmosphere, breathtaking views, great location, and choice of unforgettable excursions make it so.

  • Liked — Luxurious, comfortable villa; magnificent views; gorgeous pool, beach, gardens; great meals.
  • Disliked — I cannot think of a thing I didn't like about Chabil Mar.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stelladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placencia
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#6 of 11 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
7.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
22.6 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 11 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chabil Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chabil Mar

Property: Chabil Mar
Address: Placencia Road, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Placencia
#1 Family Hotel in Placencia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Placencia
#1 Spa Hotel in Placencia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chabil Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chabil Mar is the Guest Exclusive Resort of Placencia, Belize. All Caribbean Front Villas and the closest full service resort to the Village of Placencia. Restaurant and Bar, two infinity beach-side pools, private beach and pier, on-site concierge services to include tour and adventure reservations. Villas are approximately 1000 square feet of living space, include a personal veranda. Al fresco dining throught the resort. A stroll along the beach, bicycle, kayak or golf cart provides easy, at your leisure access, to all Village activities. Specialize in Destination Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chabil Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chabil Mar Hotel Placencia
Chabil Mar Placencia
Chabil Mar Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing