We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise”
Review of Tradewinds Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tradewinds Hotel
Belize City, Belize, Belize
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private Paradise”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this place more than once and it keeps being my favourite place. Whether you travel with family or friends, it is peaceful, clean and private. With the Caribbean Sea just outside the window, you feel like you are in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed at Tradewinds for 4 days at the start of May and for two of those days did not see another person including the owner who was away which was Ok with us but may be weird for others as it can feel a bit isolated at this end of the strip. Contrary to other reviews our cabana was very clean and well equipped with fridge/cooker/TV/fans/constant hot water and we even had wi-fi in our room. We had rented one of the deluxe cabanas. The beach at this spot was just lovely. This part of Placencia ie the tip,feels very quiet but you are only a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. Tradewinds itself has a security guard who sits in the grounds at night which is reassuring. Staff were very quick to help when we had a wi-fi problem and also when the most magnificent storm left us a little wet! Perfect place for the price.

Room Tip: Cabanas nearer the sea are the smaller ones - the deluxe ones are set back a bit - so it is a toss-u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great, quiet stretch of beach at the southern tip of the Placencia Peninsula. Far enough away from the bars and nightlife that can stretch to 4am, but an easy 5-8 min walk to those bars. Individual cabanas, all with a beach view but some are set back in between the front line on the beach. Hot water for showers, ceiling and standing fans but the ocean breeze at night cools the rooms off pretty well. Fridge in room was great to chill beer for drinking on the front porch at night. Feels more secluded and personal than some of the other spots we checked out. Owner is very nice and concerned for protecting your property. We stayed May 2014 for $78 US.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabana in the front line on the beach - get an uninterrupted view of ocean (except for coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

If your looking for a great location this is a nice place. However, the sheets in our Cabana were stained and overall the place was not very clean. We stayed 3 nights and being on the beach was the best part. However, be prepared for loud crashing waves at night, can be peaceful, but also can mar your sleep. Lots of seaweed on the beach and it isn't cleaned up every day. Still the view was amazing.

The owner wasn't particularly accommodating of a late check out time, you could say she was basically very rude, saying she'd leave our luggage out on the beach if we didn't check out on time. Just know it's all about the location, this is very basic accommodations and depending on the Cabana you get (The Dolphin was were we stayed) it will be clean or not. Our friends cabana was much nicer and clean, with a TV, if your into that.

Room Tip: Don't choose The Dolphin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstarponce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is the epitomy of basic beach living. Our cabana was 10 feet away from the water and we fell asleep listening to the waves crash onto the shore, which was wonderful.

These aren't luxury units -- in fact ours was a bit dirty -- but offer everything you need to just enjoy the scenery. The brightly colored cabana exteriors really get you into the Caribbean spirit and it's one minute's walk to restaurants, shops, etc.

The woman who runs the place is very nice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mora0132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My family and I stayed only two nights, but wished we had planned for longer. The cabins are right next to the water, exceptionally clean, and the evening breeze makes for an incredible nights sleep. After walking the beaches, and looking at other places we almost stayed, we couldn't have been happier about our decision. The best beaches are just 10 steps away! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We chose the smaller older cabin closer to the water, and it was perfect for our family of four adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust81230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked four nights and seven dives through Tradewinds' US based agent. The package clearly described what was included in the package, and what wasn't. Or so we thought! When we arrived we discovered that the not insubstantial cost of all diving equipment hire would be additional. Which was quite frustrating! If they had told us, then it would have been fine. But it was not a pleasant surprise and amounted to additional expense of $180.

Apart from this miscommunication, the apartment we stayed in was very nice. Well decorated with good air conditioning and kitchen supplies. It was also thoroughly cleaned daily, which was appreciated. The staff in the complex were helpful and informative. Also a great location within easy walking distance to the heart of San Pedro.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.1 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Captain Jak's Cabanas
#14 of 19 in Placencia
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Beach Cabanas of Placencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel

Property: Tradewinds Hotel
Address: Placencia Bay, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing