We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Maya Breeze Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
106
20
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon sideresident parrotgolf cartplace to stayfully stocked with disheslocal homeshumming birdsflowering treesfull kitchenincredible hostscook topgreat view of the lagoonburner stovecross breezetwo storydish soapshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at one of Captain Jak's cabanas for 3 nights during our babymoon - what a wonderful place! It was definitely the best accommendation we had during our trip in Belize. We booked the place last minute the night before, and Erin and Lucky accommodated us and made us feel right at home.

The property is close to the town and beach, has a dock overlooking the lagoon (where we have our breakfasts in the morning), kayaks/bikes/golf carts for rental on site (we took the double kayaks out for fishing one day), and the most charming cabanas. We loved the surroundings too - well laid out folliage provided privacy beautiful surroundings. We woke up every morning with birds chirping outside our window. The kitchenette was equipped with all the essentials and we cooked many of our meals during our stay. With a supermarket and a farmer's market steps away, we got most of our groceries easily. They even do composting onsite!

A special mention to Jason - he was super friendly in helping us set up with anything we need on site - kayaks and fishing lines - on the day we wanted to head out fishing.

Gorgeous place and lovely people. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We loved the villa, with it's lovely hand crafted wood design, wood floors and banisters. The bedrooms were so comfortable. I had the best sleep here than I have had in a long time! The kitchen was fully equipped so we could enjoy cooking the fresh fish and produce from the local vendors. We loved the space of having two full bathrooms. We loved the two decks, front, and back, where we would sit to enjoy our meals. The groundskeeper was a tremendous help. He even provided us with a hand drawn map of the best places to take the kayak rentals. Getting around was easy and the locals helped us with setting up tour excursions. You are in the heart of the village at this location, close to shops, tour guides, the best places to eat!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We rented the private villa at Captain Jak's for our honeymoon in Placenica, Belize.We were originally going to stay at a private resort outside of town but decided we would be more comfortable in town, in walking distance to everything. Well, we had a great time hiking, snorkling, swimming, kayaking, boating, dining and meeting the locals.And every evening we returned to our beautiful Villa at Captain Jaks in the center of everything. We shopped at some fresh fruit & vegetable markets which were walking distance and cooked some nights in the large kitchen in the villa. The kitchen was stocked with pots, pans, microwave, refridgerator and all other amenities. There were several TVs located throughout but we rarely watched TV with all the activties and social outings available. There are air conditioners in 2 bedrooms. Most nights were cool enough to just use the ceiling fans which are located throughout the villa. On two nights though, it was really hot and humid and the AC was a welcome relief. Captain Jaks provided kayak rentals as well as golf cart and bike rentals. Also present are two resident parrots, Barney and Oscar who were very entertaining! The owners, Lucky and Erin were away for most of my stay but we did meet before we left and they were very nice. The groundskeeper, a young man named Jason was very helpful and was always around when I needed him. All in all a great stay and I am looking foward to returning next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We loved our two story cabana - living room, kitchen and bathroom on the first floor. Two bedrooms, half bath and sleeping porch on the second floor. All windows screened in and usually a pleasant breeze to be had to cool things off. The first night we were there, it was terribly hot but the rest of the nights were quite nice. Listening to the terrific tropical thunderstorms and feeling the wind through the house was really special.

I would not call Captain Jak's luxurious, but that's not what it's meant to be. It was clean, welcoming, fun and spacious.

I would caution against sleeping on the porch upstairs when there is rain approaching - while one storm left the porch completely dry, the second storm soaked it.

Jason was very helpful and ranked as a real highlight for my teenagers on the trip. He really made sure we were taken care of and he really connected with my family. He was terrific!

Lucky, the owner, was very helpful in taking us to the airport when no taxi was to be found anywhere. He also invited us down to a local restaurant to throw horseshoes with him and others.

Internet service was not received in our cabana but simply required stepping out to the thatched roof table just outside.

Very pleased with our choice to stay with Lucky and Erin. Definitely recommend having Lucky set you up with Percy, King of the Howlers, for a Monkey River tour. This adventure was a real standout from our eight days in Belize.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

My wife and stayed at Captain Jak's in Feb 2011. We loved it! The location is perfect and Lucky/Erin are friendly and fun hosts. Captain Jak's location is a 3 minute walk to the beach and right on the lagoon. The grounds at Captain Jaks have very pretty gardens with cool talking parrots. Also, there are restaurants, grocery stores, local shops, etc within walking distance. A car is NOT needed if you are staying here. Lucky/Erin have bikes that you can rent along with kayaks. They are also able to arrange your tour on Monkey River. Make sure you ask for Percy as your guide. We recommend Omar's for dinner and a nightly visit to the gelato stand.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGWATravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews