We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Parrot Beach Houses(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Maya Breeze Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Singing Sands Inn(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Beach Hotel(Placencia)(Great Value!)
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
106
20
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon sideresident parrotgolf cartplace to stayfully stocked with disheslocal homeshumming birdsflowering treesfull kitchenincredible hostscook topgreat view of the lagoonburner stovecross breezetwo storydish soapshort walk
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Captain Jak's in Placencia for 11 days in March 2012. Nice island feel to it. Cabana and grounds well taken care of. Nice to have a small kitchen. Being on lagoon it was quiet, but hot during midday without the breezes they have on the ocean side. Evening temps and ceiling fan made for good sleeping. Great sunsets. Dog fights/barking several nights after we went to bed, but may have been the same at any lagoon-side accommodation. Easy walk to all stores and restaurants. Only briefly met owners, but Jason was a great help and very informative. Kayaking on lagoon was pleasant early morning activity. Check out Pickled Parrot (good drinks and pizza), Above Grounds Coffee, tamarind pork at Barefoot Bar, fryjacks at De Tatch. Use Office Supply for internet-they have A/C!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollySpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at Captain Jak's in Placencia for 4 days and had an amazing time. The cabanas and the grounds were well kept and cozy. The owners Lucky and Erin are great hosts. They offered a lot of information about the restaurants, bars, and things to do in the area. Lucky arranged a tour for us to see Monkey River with Percy, and we had a blast. Unfortunately we didn't get to take advantage of their bike or golf cart rentals. Perhaps we will next time. We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at Captain Jak's for 7 days. The property is beautiful- full of lush vegetation and the home of two charming birds named Oliver (a gorgeous African Grey) and Barney (he may be a parrot, not sure). The owners, Lucky and Erin go out of their way to make you feel at home. They are also some of the nicest people around!

Also very convenient is the fact that you can rent kayaks, bikes and my favourite mode of transport- the golf cart. It worked well for easy adventures to places like Danube Restaurant in Seine Bight (a elegant and delicious Austrian restaurant) or to Maya Beach.

I drifted off to sleep each night in a comfy bed with the sound of distance reggae gently murmuring through my window. In the morning, I woke to the songs of the many birds that you see around the cabanas. Another great feature is the dock that includes plenty of lounge chairs, a hammock and a great view of the gulf.

I would and will recommend Captain Jak's to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Placencia!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizzerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you are looking to enjoy Placancia and all it has to offer, this is the place to stay. If you are looking for an all inclusive "pamper me" resort this is not the place. We loved it mainly because you can walk to everything, grocery store, tour operators, beach, stores, etc. And also because it is far enough away for the property to haver it's own lush garden lagoon feel and not be overwelmed by the noise of the town and bars. Our cabanna was ready when we got there, everything worked and there were no excuses. Kayaks, golf carts, scooters, etc all availble right there at the resort. We stayed a week and ate breakfast and afternoon snacks at the cabanna overlooking the lagoon. Never figured out the hot water process, never really tried to since the shower water was not really that cold by my standards. There is no ac but the ceiling fans in the rooms along with the mild outside temperture made this a non event. We were never uncomfortable from the heat. Again, we had a furnished cabanna, there is no bar/rest. on the premises, plenty of great places in Placencia to eat. Our agenda was to spend the days out on adventure tours, and the night enjoying the town. For this you can't best Captain Jak's!! I would go back. Best thing: Location Worst: Ocassional dog barking at night Lucky and Erin do a great job. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Our cabanna was right on the lagoon and had a very nice view, especially from the screened in porch upstairs
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFBSFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed here for a few weeks and it was amazing with the owners Lucky and Erin enjoy the serenity of the area had a lot of fun at captin jak's

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominicdizaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews