We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

captain Jack is a great place to stay in Placencia especially if you want to stay close to the village. the only the very friendly and welcoming that water is no housekeeping the room it's not that big however the location makes it worthwhile.. if you get pretty hot in the room and educationally a few bugs get in but if you want to save money and be close to the village where is everything its I definitely recommend staying at Captain jacks.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingvoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Captain Jak's Cabanas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We were at Captain Jaks for our Spring break 2012 so March 21- April 1 2012. We rented the villa as we were traveling with our boys age 16 and 18 and my sister. Captain Jaks is on the lagoon side but only a 2 minute walk to the Caribbean. There is a large grocery store across the road from Captain Jaks, and the fruit/ Veggie market next door. It is walking distance to the Barefoot Bar, Omars, tons of restaurants and bars. the Bank... everything. If it is not convenient to walk they also rent out golf carts, bikes and I am not sure what they are called but 4 wheeled peddle bikes, and motor bikes. They also rent out Kayaks .

We were in the beautiful villa which slept 8 people. 4 upstairs they have 2 singles in one area and a queen ( Not positive on that size but it slept 2 people) and there is 2 bedrooms down stairs each with a TV and slept 2 in each again I think those were Queens. There is 2 bathrooms a main bath and the one in one of the bedrooms with a shower as well. There are 2 decks which is fantastic. In the morning we sat on the back yard deck in the shade drinking our coffee and having breki and listened to the two parrots talking. Barney and Oliver.. To funny.. (There is also a hammock on the back deck for those lazy hot afternoon naps..).and in the afternoon we were on the front deck in the shade. They have a table and chairs on both decks.The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything from a blender to bottle cozies to keep your drinks cooler, pots ,pans,plates,bowels.... They also have movies and books and some games.
The yard was beautiful, well kept. There was tons of beautiful birds in their yard even humming birds, (Erin has a few feeders) . They have a horse shoe pit ready and I am sure you would be able to convince Lucky to throw a few with you.. if he is not to busy..

Captain Jaks has a dock right on the lagoon so we spent a lot of time out there as well. They have loungers and a hammock and shade, and an area in the sun if you like.

Captain Jaks has also 5 other cabins. 2 have 2 floors with 2 bedrooms up stairs, kitchen, very nice. I had a look at those ones as one was empty for the day. The other 3 are just one story and I never had a look at those as they were booked the whole 12 days we were there.

Lucky and Erin are great hosts they booked our snorkelling trip for us. The van was late picking us up and Lucky even phoned to see where they were. Lucky and Erin and Jason told us all about Placencia , Where to buy groceries, beer, where the bakery was, some places to eat, what was their favourite to eat there, ( You need to try the chicken burger with pineapple, bacon and a whole lot of stuff on it.. at the Bare foot bar.. very yummy.. thanks Lucky ) . Very helpful and if we had questions we felt like we could ask them at any time. We also rented a golf cart for the day one day to have a look around. It was washed and ready for us.

We all loved it there as the location was great, close to everything but not to close. The Villa and yard were beautiful and clean, and ready for us when we arrived. We have already booked again for next spring break 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Captain Jak's can accommodate families, couples or singles.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladytrougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We happened to stop by when we saw golf carts and scooters for rent. It was an extremely hot day in town and couldn't see walking the whole day. We followed the sign on the door which directed us to a house and asked us to ring the bell under the stairs. The rates were quite reasonable, we paid $35 for a little over 4 hours. The guy running the place was extremely cool and helpful. He had us up and running in a golf cart in no time. Totally would recommend them for a convenient way to travel around town. Would definitely consider checking it our for a stay next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Captain Jak's is the perfect place to stay when visiting Placencia. Located near the heart of the town, it is easy walking distance to many restaurants/bars like Barefoot Bar and Tipsy Tuna, and the beautiful beach. And if you aren't up for walking they have brand new golf carts to help you explore the town. Situated on the lagoon, our stay in May was warm since there wasn't much of a cross breeze but the nice sized cabana with fans and clean bathroom were all we needed. Rooms were clean and outfitted with fresh sheets and towels and basic bathroom needs. Also available: a new flat screen TV with cable (if you need a night in) Operators Lucky and Erin were so hospitable and helped us tremendously with booking tours and inter-country flights. Even were able to give us recommendations of other restaurants and hotels in Caye Caulker after our stay in Placencia was over.
When you stay, make sure you visit Oliver and Barney, the resident parrots. They will sing you a tune and whistle as you walk by. Very cute. Also, stop out front at Brewed Awakenings for their tropical fruit smoothie. The best I've had!

Thanks Erin and Lucky for making our trip so much fun!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a fabulous vacation! My husband and I recently returned from a week's vacation in Placencia, Belize. We stayed at Captain Jak's and had an amazing time! We rented one of the cottages that overlooked the lagoon and very much enjoyed sitting on our deck watching boats go by. The grounds were beautiful with lots of lush greenery and flowers. The cottages reminded us of a cabin...rustic but comfy!

We were a quick walk from the beach and the village, with lots of little shops and restaurants. The food at every restaurant we tried was excellent!

Our cottage was nicely set up with the basics that we needed for our stay. As we had kitchenette facilities we would eat breakfast and lunch at "home". There is fruit and veggie stand down the street and many supermarkets.

Thank you to Lucky, Erin and Audri who were very welcoming. Also a big thank you to Jason for organizing tours etc for us and answering our many questions about everything and anything!!!

A great vacation and would definately recommend a stay at Captain Jak's!

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage which was a two story, 2 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath, screened in porch. Plenty of r...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

From the moment we stepped onto this little piece of heaven, we felt as if we knew everyone already. We were welcomed by a beautiful small resort who's owners know no strangers. Lucky who goes by the nickname " Extremely" and his beautiful wife and family have allowed guest to discover what living on a paradise island at an amazingly affordable price is all about. Cozy cabanas with beautiful vegetation on the waters edge of Placencia's lagoon offer comfort, full functioning kitchen, comfortable bed, front porches with waterfront lagoon living. Lucky and his wife Erin provided a service that a concierge from the most expensive and elaborate hotels in the world couldn't touch. Not only did he arrange tours for us, but even joined us for dinner and drinks at the famous Barefoot bar later that evening. They also offer golf cart and bike rentals which is all one needs to get around the penninsula. And wait til you meet Barney ( the parrot who doesn't know he can fly and his side kick Oliver who loves to give kisses ( on Lucky's command only). This is definitely a place we will stay at each time we visit Belize. They have become our friends now.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Captain Jak's in Placencia for 11 days in March 2012. Nice island feel to it. Cabana and grounds well taken care of. Nice to have a small kitchen. Being on lagoon it was quiet, but hot during midday without the breezes they have on the ocean side. Evening temps and ceiling fan made for good sleeping. Great sunsets. Dog fights/barking several nights after we went to bed, but may have been the same at any lagoon-side accommodation. Easy walk to all stores and restaurants. Only briefly met owners, but Jason was a great help and very informative. Kayaking on lagoon was pleasant early morning activity. Check out Pickled Parrot (good drinks and pizza), Above Grounds Coffee, tamarind pork at Barefoot Bar, fryjacks at De Tatch. Use Office Supply for internet-they have A/C!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollySpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
7.1 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 20 in Placencia
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#12 of 20 in Placencia
241 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Adventure Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jak's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jak's Cabanas

Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range: £45 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one of the tropical garden private cabanas, two-story cottages, and/or private villa. Captain Jak’s offers accommodations for the back packing adventurer, couples, families, and/or small and large groups. Captain Jak’s is a hidden oasis, while still being located only steps away from the village and the Caribbean sea. Captain Jak's has its own private marina which allows you to leave from your door step for diving, sailing, fishing, Caye hopping, kayaking, or snorkeling. Zip lining, Mayan Ruins and cave tubing aren’t far away either. The owners of villa resort live on the property and they are some of the best hosts you will find in Belize. Make sure to ask them about their sailing trips. There is nothing like sailing with Lucky and Erin on the warm Caribbean Sea, anchoring at sunset and BBQing the fresh catch of the day while drinking their famous rum punch.You must experience Captain Jak’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Jak's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jak`s Cabanas Hotel Placencia
Captain Jaks Cabanas Placencia
Captain Jak's Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing