We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Placencia's Best Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Jak's Cabanas
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Placencia's Best Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is our second time making our way back to Placencia, and we absolutely loved Captain Jak's! Lucky and Erin are the two most amazing people and their property is ridiculously beautiful. There are 1 room cabins and 2 story cottages. We stayed in the 2 story cottage right on the dock. We loved the view, greenery and the cottage itself. There is no room service and that was fine with us. We liked walking into town and being self sufficient. It was perfect! There is no where else we will stay! Thanks Erin and Lucky!!

Room Tip: We loved the front 2 story cabin right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DivineYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
66
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

While there may be cheaper places to stay in Placencia Village, they will be hard pressed to match the cleanliness, comfort, and service you will find a Captain Jak's. Lucky and Erin provide excellent service, be sure to let them book your excursions, you'll pay less and go with great companies. We already miss the hammocks and Barney and Oliver the parrots. Located near the north end of town, it's an easy walk to bars/restaurants along the sidewalk, a grocery store is right across the street, and there is a great place to get breakfast/coffee next door. Be advised that without a/c, you'll sleep with the windows open all night, so if you're a light sleeper, the nearby dogs, roosters and birds may keep you up, and you might want to go with someplace that has a/c so you can shut out any noise. We liked being away from the bars as they tend to play music late into the night, and we were in bed early some nights exhausted from long excursions. Would love to stay here again. The cottage was really big for just two people, and the cabana perfect for two, even with a twin bed added.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Four-Kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
554 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This small cluster of really nice (rustic) cabanas would have been perfect except for 2 things:

1) It's on the lagoon side of the peninsula so the sun pounded in each afternoon to make being in the cabana (or on the porch) unbearable. There weren't any ocean breezes to cool us off, and a fan just didn't cut it at that time of day.

2) We were surrounded by barking dogs - day and night. Some of these dogs were pets and others were strays, but all of them were unsupervised, typically not confined or leashed, and once one dog starting barking, they all did.

Had these cabanas been on the ocean side of the peninsula, I would have been happier because the cabanas were quite nice. They were well constructed and have been recently updated - new tile in the shower, fully outfitted kitchen (with coffee maker, fridge, toaster, cook top, microwave, silverware, cookware, etc), small safe, etc.

However, we were there for 4 nights and NEVER got maid service. We were never told we would need to take out our own trash, make our own bed, etc. For the price, we understand why they don't provide free shampoo - although they did have conditioner, Lemon Joy dish soap, and a small bar of bath soap.

The location in terms of nearest to bars, restaurants, etc is quite good. There's a coffee and smoothie shop next door (which opens at 6:30 am every day but Sunday) and also a grocery store across the street.

The expat owners are on-site and happy to help book tours, recommend restaurants, etc. Really nice people who are trying hard to make Captain Jak's as nice as it can be. I just hope they can find a way to quiet the dogs; they were talking about a possible petition to the local government. The afternoon sun won't be so easy to address.

The other drawback of Placencia in general is that it's 75 minutes (+/-) to get to a snorkel/dive location. We want to come back to Belize again because the reef is great, but we'll try to find a SMALL resort on a barrier island where we can walk out our door and snorkel without the crowds we found on the tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luv2TravelFarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Visited Captain Jak's last month and could not have been happier. Everything you want or need is within walking distance or a short ride in the golf carts or bikes available right there. Relax on the dock or on your porch while checking out the beautiful vegetation and colorful birds, including co-hosts Barney and Oliver! Accommodations at the villa are excellent and the cozy cabanas have everything you need for a wonderful stay. Lucky and Erin were more than happy to lead us in the right direction for fun, food and shopping. They happily provided us with information for a tremendous zip line as well as other great tours. Make sure to visit the Barefoot Bar each day for happy hour and during the full moon! I know we will when we return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just spent a week at Captain Jak's and it was wonderful. Terrific location within walking distance of anything you want to do. Close enough to the action to participate if you want, but far enough away that if you want peace and quiet you can have that too. Cabanas are basic, but comfortable and have everything you need. I would highly recommend Captain Jak's!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at Captain Jak's for three nights. Upon our arrival, we were shown to our cabins. One unit had the keys on the counter, the other did not. We were not able to secure our belongings to go for dinner. The next morning the owner gave us a spare key for the door, explaining that a previous guest had left with the keys. Later that day I was asked to complete the check in process and given the keys to the door and the lock box, the owner was far from friendly (on the verge of nasty - as is it were my fault that she was not available when we arrived, and I had kept her from having dinner the previous evening while watching the unlocked cabin).

Other than the poor attitude the experience was good - great location by the lagoon, short walk to many bars, restaurants, beach, shopping, everything.

Cabins have small kitchens, beds, bathrooms - no A/C or TV, but who cares?,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I just spent a long weekend at Captain Ja'ks and had a delightful time. We stayed in the Villa and the accommodations were excellent, I couldn't have been more comfortable. Sitting on the deck each morning watching all the birds and wild life while drinking coffee was a great way to start the day. The locations is such that you can walk to almost anything, and for those that don't want to walk, you can rent a golf cart from your hosts, Erin and Lucky. The Barefoot Bar is just a couple of blocks away and provides friendly atmosphere, good drinks, great food and a variety of entertainment. There are good restaurants all over town offering a variety of food, and a market just across the street for supplies. The proprietors were such great hosts, I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.6 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Chabil Mar
Chabil Mar
#1 of 19 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
5.7 mi away
Singing Sands Inn
Singing Sands Inn
#10 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
6.2 mi away
Green Parrot Beach Houses
Green Parrot Beach Houses
#9 of 19 in Placencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Jak's Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Jak's Cabanas

Property: Captain Jak's Cabanas
Address: Placencia Village, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Placencia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from one of the tropical garden private cabanas, two-story cottages, and/or private villa. Captain Jak’s offers accommodations for the back packing adventurer, couples, families, and/or small and large groups. Captain Jak’s is a hidden oasis, while still being located only steps away from the village and the Caribbean sea. Captain Jak's has its own private marina which allows you to leave from your door step for diving, sailing, fishing, Caye hopping, kayaking, or snorkeling. Zip lining, Mayan Ruins and cave tubing aren’t far away either. The owners of villa resort live on the property and they are some of the best hosts you will find in Belize. Make sure to ask them about their sailing trips. There is nothing like sailing with Lucky and Erin on the warm Caribbean Sea, anchoring at sunset and BBQing the fresh catch of the day while drinking their famous rum punch.You must experience Captain Jak’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Jak's Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jak`s Cabanas Hotel Placencia
Captain Jaks Cabanas Placencia
Captain Jak's Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing