We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toucan Lulu Beach Units
Ranked #22 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the best time!”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, and had the most relaxing vacation in a while. The manager (I hate to say that I forgot her name, because she was so great) even let us borrow her bikes so we can get around the village.

If you stay anywhere in Placencia, let it be Tucan Lulu!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaciFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We brought the family down to Placencia for a week and put them up for a week in two units. Basically, the units were okay, but several things didn't work in unit #2. It took a while to get things up and running. We had been assured that all was ready and they weren't. Still, the units were clean and roomy. The location is on the northern end of the village with a bit of a walk to get to stores and eateries. Fairly close to beach with just a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This is not only a review of Toucan Lulu, but a review of Placencia in general. In a word: amazing. We stayed in cabana #1 for a week, which was right on the beach, as advertised. The cabana itself was beautiful and spacious, with a convenient kitchenette. We made coffee every morning, sat on the beach and watched the sunrise over the Caribbean. The best way to wake up ever. Kathy, one of the owners of Toucan Lulu, was super nice and always wanted to make sure we were having the best time possible.
The people of Placencia are kind and generous. After a few days of walking around, we found ourselves making fast friends with locals and travelers alike. The bars always have local music pumping and the restaurants are phenomenal. Special shout out to The Secret Garden, since the chef noticed that we are vegetarian and offered to make us a special veggie dinner. We took her up on this offer on our last night and were not disappointed. (It is very easy to be vegetarian/vegan in Placencia, though you may get some good-natured shots from the locals :)). Also be sure to check out The Shak for breakfast that will keep you going all day (and don't forget to try the smoothies!!). If you're in the mood for something sweet, Placencia Ice Cream is the place to be, though the owner said he was leaving soon, so I'm not sure how long that'll be around.
As for activities, we are an ocean-obsessed couple. We hooked up with Placencia Dive School and Splash Dive Shop and definitely got our money's worth. We highly recommend both of these dive shops -- great tours and great guides!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We stayed at Toucan Lulu Cabana #1. Loved the location. In the morning I would walk into town and then come back to the Cabana and have breakfast and coffee on the porch or in the hammock. It was perfect for our trip. We enjoy the outdoor life that Placencia has to offer. One night we even had friends over for a guitar jam session.
I loved to lay in the hammock early in the morning, feel the breeze and watch all the birds. John and Kathy were helpful when we had a visitor on the roof every morning (an iguana). We are returning to Toucan Lulu Cabana #1 next April. My partner wanted to try another cabana but I wanted the one right on the beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SheJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

In going down to Belize for a winter getaway we weren't sure what we were getting ourselves into. This was a major trip to plan but Kathy and John made everything as easy as possible! They were prompt in email responses prior to the trip and extremely helpful and informative. We chose Placencia because we wanted to be away from the city and have a relaxing vacation. That's exactly what we got!! We are a young couple and had plenty to do during the day and night even though the town is small. We loved every meal we had and everyone that we met. We were very comfortable in our room that was located right on the beach and just steps from the sidewalk leading down to all the best spots to eat and drink.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our stay at Toucan Lulu could not have been better.
We stayed in Cabana # 1 right on the beach (and the sidewalk). Mornings were great to sit on the porch with the wonderful sea breeze and a short walk across the beach had us enjoying the sun. A few steps from the porch and we were on the sidewalk walking to the many attractions that Placencia offers. An afternoon nap in the porch hammocks was always a favorite.
We found the amenities to be just what we were looking for, a clean comfortable, spacious place to stay while spending most of our time enjoying the outdoors and all that Placencia has to offer. Kathy and John were very helpful and made sure that our stay was the perfect getaway.
We will be returning to Cabana #1 in April 2011 and we just can’t wait.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We stayed with another couple at Cabana #6, which was listed via the website as the newest construction. The pictures depicted a nice 2br/2ba cottage, which looked much more clean and comfortable than the reality. In choosing Toucan Lulu, we had checked Trip Advisor and saw it rated #2 B&B, at the time of our booking. The Colibri House, #1, was already booked for our week time frame. We also saw that the most recent comments were from Jan2009, but not much referencing the newer addition, Cabana #6. We didn't think much of it, since we built an email correspondence with Paul, the proprietor at the time, who was extremely friendly and accommodating when it came to answering all of our questions, convincing us that we were making the right decision. This all happened in Feb2009, when we booked with a 50% deposit for our trip between Christmas and New Year's 2010. One month prior to our departure, we received an email from the new proprietors, Kathy and John, requesting the remaining balance for our stay, without word from Paul that he would no longer be there. We figured this to be an unfortunate circumstance, but thought it not the best business practice. It proved to be not the best omen for the accommodations.

As far as cleanliness goes, the place did not appear to have been lived-in for awhile since we first arrived. There were recyclables left under the sink, dried gecko poop in the window frames and on top of the TV stand, and dust and dirt over most surfaces. We didn't expect the place to be spotless, but at least hoped for a surface wipe-down by a cleaning person and a run-through by the proprietors.

My wife and I stayed upstairs from our friends, who stayed in the 1st floor bedroom. Each of the two floors has a queen-sized bed and a shower (the 1st floor bath has a tub and the 2nd floor a stand-up shower). When my wife and I 1st arrived from our 12hrs of travel, we wanted to get a shower and refresh. Immediately after our shower, our friends in the bedroom below noticed leaking from the ceiling, trickling down the wall, and onto the floor. The following morning we brought this to the attention of the proprietors, and unfortunately, nothing was done to remedy the situation; the response was that she thought the builder had fixed that problem. Instead, we shared the one shower between the two couples, since we did not want to further intrude on our friends' sleeping space or cause additional damage to the wall. By the time we left, black mold was evident on the wall and ceiling in our friends' room.

Before booking, we didn't think to ask about the sheets on the bed, but should have. They were flannel and extremely uncomfortable. For this reason alone, we would not stay here again. The futon in the main living space was also uncomfortable, and merely two thin foam pads with a covering that was laid over top. Until all is fixed, with amenities in mind, and they have a consistent proprietor with a vested interest in the quality of the property, I would not consider Toucan Lulu, or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandzDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
0.0 mi away
Belize Ocean Club Resort
Belize Ocean Club Resort
#4 of 19 in Placencia
595 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hatchet Caye Resort
Hatchet Caye Resort
#8 of 19 in Placencia
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toucan Lulu Beach Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toucan Lulu Beach Units

Property: Toucan Lulu Beach Units
Address: # 2 Harbor Place | Pt. Placencia, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toucan Lulu Beach Units is the perfect family or quiet vacation location in Placencia, Belize. With 6 units that are all self catering, Pristine beach front location just in the quiet side of the Placenica village but a mere few minutes walk from the local fare. Five 2 bedroom units and 1 studio apartment makes this the ideal accommodation. If you are looking for clean, comfortable and enjoyable accommodations then Toucan Lulu should be your first and only choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toucan Lulu Beach Units Hotel Placencia
Toucan Lulu Beach Units Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing