We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value”
Review of Michelo Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Michelo Suites
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely good value”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Summary: In terms of value, can't be beat. Michel is very nice & helpful. Rooms are immaculate. If you're looking for beachfront, pool, or a resort/exclusive type stay, this is not your place. Otherwise, great choice.

Pros:
+ Immaculate room
+ Price
+ ~5 min from town & the beach
+ Friendly owners
+ Kitchenette
+ Stable speedy Wifi included

Cons:
- No maid service when I stayed, but it's listed as available
- No toiletries other than soap
- On main road, rather than beach - although this is a matter of preference

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zamora, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Town is very nice with a lot of fine restaurants and bars. The hotel is of a good walking distance away from this all and also the beach is nearby.Being on the outskirts of the town you don't have the noice of partying people. The owners are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjonnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The accomodation was truly immaculate. The rooftop was a great place to watch sunsets above the Maya mountains. We had an absolutely fantastic time, and recommend this place to anyone going to Placencia

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We couldn't find a better place to stay during one week in Placencia : The room is perfectly clean and comfortable. The hotel is just at 1 minute to walk to the beach and 1 minute to walk to the shops and restaurants.
Michelo and his wife are really nice and helpfull. The only bad thing is that we couldn't stay longer than one week.
We hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowrdTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Because of a misleading photo on the web site and an appealing price, we ended up in one of the (very) few places in Placencia that has no view, no balcony, no breeze, and a terrible location. The lack of charm is only equalled by the distance from the beach and restaurants. Located on the busy, dusty one and only main road, it is next door to a noisy construction site.

When we realized our distance from the Belize City airport, we requested that the last day of our pre-paid 4 days be refunded so we could spend the night nearer the airport for our early flight, our owner/host said no.

It was very clean

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelo, Owner at Michelo Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
When one books over the internet with a booking agent, there are two parties involved in case of an eventual refund, because the booking agent retains the commission. All booking agents publish the refunding policies, so you are entitled toa refund if you comply with the refund rules of the booking agent. In the competitive market on the internet refunding has become very expensive for everybody involved because of the workload it generates to hte extend that most competitive tarifs of airlines are not refundable. We proposed you to refund the one night you wanted to shorten your stay minus the commission of the booking agent. But you decided to stay the full length you booked and make a negative review about our place.
The large majority of the people who stayed with us in the past, based on the internet information we publish, didn't criticise at all the quality price relation of the accomodation we offer, especially in a country like Belize, where clean and safe° accommodation at a reasonable price is hard to find.
°Every week a house is destroyed by fire in Belize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maya Mopan Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Staying at Michelo suites makes me feel more comfort, although am a citizen of Belize spending time in My own village, i never had no other option but to come spend time here in Placencia. I choose Michelo Flat because i met the managers wife which she was so friendly and kind. we chat alot base on the tropics, cultural diversity and History.Thier place attracted me and also there apartments. We continue to be close and finaly i ended up staying in her appartment. I am about to complete three months here in michelo hotel. Indeed, t the apartment is more of my home. It is properly clean, comfortable, safe and cozy. I whish i could have another chance of stay like this.

Room Tip: Any time in Placencia Belize always choose Michelo Flat. Easy access, well suit
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I am getting ready to finish my three week stay at Michelo's and my experience here has been great. I was pleasantly surprised with my room which was clean and neat. The building seems to be relatively new. The accomadations are perfect for a vacation full of activities with easy access to the main road. The building is not on the beach, but the beaches are all public and I found plenty of nice spots to spend time reading there.
I also really liked that I was able to pick and choose what services I wanted, so that I did not pay for things I did not want or need. I used the internet extensively and it worked great. I would certainlyl stay here again if I find myself revisiting Placencia.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Placencia
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Serenade Hotel
Serenade Hotel
#18 of 27 in Placencia
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Belizean Nirvana
A Belizean Nirvana
#1 of 27 in Placencia
195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
Laru Beya Resort & Villas
#6 of 19 in Placencia
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michelo Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michelo Suites

Property: Michelo Suites
Address: Main Street | next to Atlantic Bank, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Michelo Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Michelo Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michelo Suites Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing