We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private Island Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Placencia, Stann Creek

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marihime
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Private Island Paradise”
Reviewed 20 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
6
people found this review helpful

LITTLE HARVEST CAYE

Little Harvest Caye in Southern Belize is truly a special place in Paradise: a private island for up to 10 lucky guests just a short boat ride from the coastal village of Placencia. It is a perfect retreat for those wishing to "get away" to a secluded, self-contained spot, yet easily accessible to the town for those who need a bit more action. Four separate tropical colored bungalows, including one side-by-side "duplex", surround a central palapa-covered communal area. Each of the bungalow units contains a bedroom for two people as well as a sitting area, bathroom with an outdoor shower, and a deck area with a view of the Caribbean Sea. The communal area features a pool, seating area with comfortable chairs and couches as well as hanging chairs that swing gently, a dining area, bar area, and kitchen. Chef Victor and his wife Jessica whip out amazing gourmet meals featuring local ingredients while accommodating guests preferences and food allergies. There is a private pier where handyman Osmar will shuttle guests to the mainland if they need to catch a tour leaving from Placencia or wish to shop or dine in town. While it might be fun to try one of the many interesting looking restaurants in the town, more often than not, guests tend to enjoy Victor's delectable specialities. Osmar’s wife Sylvia takes care of the island’s housekeeping needs and will even do the guests’ laundry so they can keep their packing to a minimum.

Although quite tiny, LHC guests do not need to worry about going "stir crazy" as Osmar will take them to the mainland on a moment's notice. Through the island's concierge Mabel, (pronounced "Ma Bell" like the phone company), guests can book a variety of activities such as snorkeling, scuba diving, deep-sea or fly fishing, cave or river tubing, waterfall hikes, and horseback riding as well as tours of several Mayan ruins, caves, the jungle or mountains, local (banana, spice, chocolate), farms, and factories. In addition to the pool the island also offers a pool and ping pong table and has its own small, private beach as well as snorkel equipment, kayaks, and paddle boards which guests are welcome to borrow. Mabel can also arrange for people to come to the island to give massages in guests' rooms, on their decks, or on the pier. Given all LHC has to offer, guests often end up never leaving the island during their week there!

In summary, LHC is a perfect place for guests seeking a private retreat where they can enjoy trying to do everything it has to offer or just doing nothing but relaxing on their own self-contained resort in a tropical Caribbean paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnetteM4...
Valley, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unique and fun experience at Little Harvest Caye Island.”
Reviewed 6 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
10
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our week at Little Harvest Caye island!

PROS:
It was a nice vacation – very beautiful. Weather for us was great. There were a couple times it rained, but mostly during the night.
There were dolphins and starfish to see right from the island. You can swim, paddleboard and kayak around the island.
We had the staff cook local fare, and that was tasty: Red Snapper, Chicken Lobster, and Gibnut, Fry Jack, Beans/Rice to name a few
Drinks were plentiful and purchased at the airport as they were less expensive. If you run out, there is more for purchase in Placencia.
We could go to ‘town’ / Placencia whenever we asked and there are plenty of shops there for souvenir shopping. Went to the Tipsy Tuna for a French fry fix one day.
Room was very nice and clean. We stayed in the howler monkey suite – all have air conditioning. The bathroom is open air, regardless – no complaints.
They have a ‘magic jack’ to make calls back to the US for free, so that was nice if you didn’t want to pay the international charge for the day on your phone.
I felt safe the entire trip. But always travel smart: stay in groups, go out during the day, don’t carry large amounts of cash, etc…
The staff was outstanding! They made the stay relaxing and enjoyable. Glad we had the crew we did, with every request, they were there to help and they went over and above to make the stay memorable.

CONS:
Getting there was lengthy with the 3 ½ hour bus ride (which was partly our fault for stopping for drinks). And I didn’t go on any excursions, as that was enough bus time for me.
Also, our luggage was delayed, but the staff washed our clothes and had them ready the next morning for us. AND, the luggage arrived late the next afternoon. Helpful tip: make sure to pack your swimsuit in your carry-on!
Pool was clean and cool although, some of the tiles were missing. On a positive note, pool floats were provided.
I did have some bug bites when I got home, I think they were sand fleas, so bring repellent for them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobeTrot...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxation”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Little Harvest Caye is situated on a beautiful island surrounded by tranquil views of the surrounding water, distant mountains and islands from every room. The bungalows are clean, spacious and equipped with open air showers. The common open air area near the pool is ideal for dining and watching the sunset. Kayaks and paddle boards are available for use throughout the stay. The attentive and hard working staff is wonderfully accommodating. Victor and Jessica cooked and served delicious meals and desserts, utilizing local seafood and recipes. Osmar and Sylvia were available and helpful and ready to ferry us via boat to town. All in all a luxurious and relaxing stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttrflyg...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

First off, having your own private island is unbelievable! Everything is exactly as pictured online. The food was great and reasonably priced. The whole staff was awesome! Victor is the best cook and all meals were delicious. The town of Plalencia is authentic, not commercialized or touristy, which was really nice. We did the snorkeling tour and saw amazing fish and coral reefs. Then swam with sharks, stingrays and a sea turtle. Everything was clean and well kept. I loved our outdoor shower and used it daily. Accommodations were nice and comfy. Pool was nice. We paddle boarded, kayaked and swam in the private beach. To top it off, we had perfect weather the entire stay. Thanks Talia for answering our many questions and making the reservation process worry-free! Thanks to the staff at LHC for making our stay super enjoyable and worry-free! The best words to describe our stay are awesome and amazing!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HabitsGuy
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest trip ever”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Victor and Jessica along with the crew on the island made the trip 110% more awesome than what was expected ..Best host ever and greatest place my friends and I have ever visited. We can't wait to go back soon as possible. The amount of everything these guys do for you on the island is amazing you won't care to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rvlawler
Katy, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“UnBelizable”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Private and absolutely stunning views . As we arrived our short boat ride was escorted by a school of dolphins on both sides of boat. On arrival the staff began what was a week of excellent care and food prepared by Chef Victor
After the first day my biggest challenge was getting our group of ten to go on the many excursions planned. I was never able to get more than half to ever leave. This speaks to the allure of Little Harvest Caye!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donhesler
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most amazing vacation week I have ever had.”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
5
people found this review helpful

LHC is a very very special place. It is located about 3/4 mile from the very friendly village of Placencia. Just a short boat ride away which can be had by a simple request to Osmar or Victor. It is the perfect place for a 10 to 14 person family get away. Once there your worries are gone. Victor and Jessica are your cooks. And to call Victor a cook is an understatement. He is a chef in every way. He collects the local produce and fish and creates the most amazing meals. The only disappointing part of our trip was saying goodbye. Soaking at the beach or pool while sipping Jessica's margaritas will be remembered forever. Make sure you do the Monkey River trip and the snorkeling on the outer reef is also a must. I highly recommend using Mabel to book everything. I can't praise the island and the folks that help you enough. Bring a good camera for the sunrise and sunsets.
Don

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing