We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true...”
Review of Colibri House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colibri House
Ranked #4 of 27 Placencia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

If you ever wanted to escape to a little piece of paradise and experience life on the beach, this is it! Colibri house offers beauty charm and that little piece of paradise you always dreamed of.
I don't want to say too much more or there won't be room for me to come back next year!
Thank you Nicoletta and Stefano for you hospitality!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank 33Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I spent 6 days at Colibri House over Thanksgiving 2013. This was our second trip to Placencia. During our first trip we stayed at Robert's Grove. This time we felt like we knew the area and decided to stay in the village. Colibri is situated near the north end of the village but still only a 5 minute walk to places to eat and drink. The kitchen is well equipped and had everything we needed to prepare food and drink items that we would bring to the house. We enjoyed the loft at night with cool breeze coming thru the screen door. The balcony has hammocks to relax and watch the ocean when you need a break from running around. I was even able to watch my teams football game while I was there. Stephano or Nicoletta would stop by regularly to see if we needed anything. We never needed anything, but it was nice that they came by for a visit to be sure we were enjoying ourselves. Just like everyone else, we very much enjoyed the Colibri House. I highly recommend staying here when you visit Placencia.

Room Tip: We loved having the top floor with the loft bedroom. If you have any limitations with mobility, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstatejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just back from 12 days in Belize, the last 4 nights at Colibri House in Placencia. Loved it! Stefano was wonderful, very welcoming and helpful, provided us with a personalized map of the area and thorough explanation of all the local eateries. We had the upstairs unit, which consisted of a large living area, with kitchen, and bathroom on one floor, while on the second floor there was the very large sleeping area in what might have once been an attic of sorts. Lovely deck areas on both levels. The ocean was 50 feet from our door, while restaurants etc were all an easy stroll. 3 fans in the unit, plus the open shutters at the windows kept the place cool. Can't say enough good things about this place - and I'm pretty picky! If you're going to Placencia I don't think there's a better place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We spent about a week at Colibri House. The location is excellent. Stefano and Niccoleta were great....responded to everything quickly. Studio has everything one needs. Not fancy but clean and pleasant. Perfect for a relaxing vacation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Colibri House in mid-December of 2013. Stefano and Nicoletta were wonderful hosts. Stefano gave us some highlights of the area and tips which were very helpful since we weren't staying for very long and cut down on that time it takes to "get to know" an area. Colibri House is a about a 7-10 minute walk from "downtown" Placencia -- so, close enough to the excitement, but far enough away to still have a quiet retreat and place to rest. Colibri House itself is a marvel. A very unique structure. We stayed in the upper unit which is two levels. The first level is the kitchen/dining/living area with a great little covered balcony offering spectacular views of the ocean. There is also a loft area for the second level with a queen bed and another balcony! The kitchen is fully equipped for any type of food preparation. Also, my husband will be eternally grateful to Stefano for suggesting we go to Tutti Frutti, the fresh gelato place. Seriously...I think he developed quite an addiction.

Thank you so much, Stefano and Nicoletta for making Colbri House such a special place and sharing it with us all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at the Colibri House 4 times during our visits to Belize (2010-2014) and the house is always ready and clean upon our arrival. Stefano and Nicolette are doing a great job maintaining it. It's a great location for just relaxing and close enough to all the action in Placencia..
W & S, Calgary, Canada

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I just returned from Belize, after a 1 month vacation. We stayed in 5 different locations in Belize and the one we liked the best of all was the Colibri House. From the time we arrived in Placencia, until the time we left, we were looked after, just like family by Stefano and Nicolette. They checked in regularly to make sure that everything was okay, or if we needed anything. we stayed upstairs for 1 week and we stayed downstairs for one week, and one was just as enjoyable as the other. We had bikes supplied, and what a super location, right on the beach and close to all the amenities. When we return to Belize we will definitely return to the place we would call home, the Colibri House.

thanx again Stefano and Nicolette……….Barbara and Gary, Kelowna BC, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Placencia hotels
6.9 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Placencia
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robert's Grove Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Paradise Vacation Hotel
Paradise Vacation Hotel
#11 of 20 in Placencia
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Turtle Inn
Turtle Inn
#3 of 20 in Placencia
669 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mariposa Beach Suites
Mariposa Beach Suites
#3 of 27 in Placencia
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 27 in Placencia
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri House

Address: Harbour Place, Placencia, Belize
Region: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colibri House is a vacation rental home located in a peaceful area of Placencia Village. It sits directly on the white sand beachfront, surrounded by coconut trees and tropical flowers, just steps away from the Caribbean Sea. A large, octagonal cottage, Colibri House offers two fully furnished, Air Conditioned rental options that guarantee comfort and seclusion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colibri House Hotel Placencia
Colibri House Belize/Placencia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing