We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience from Three Week Stay: Good Place, Great Service”
Review of Akihito Hotel

Akihito Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akihito Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Orange Walk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience from Three Week Stay: Good Place, Great Service”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I've been staying at the hotel on and off for over three week now (I'm on a school research project), the impression/information I got is very different from previous reviews, so I figure I should make some addition/correction to some of the older reviews:

1. First of all the price from the older reviews is wrong: The hotel have no dorms, rather they have “bunk bed” rooms for $7.50 USD per person, but the catch is that you need 3+ persons to stay in the room. For those travelling in pairs the cheapest option is still $7.50 per person (they have a room with two beds for 15 USD). But if you are travelling alone the cheapest option is $15. After looking through 3-4 budget hotels in town I believe this hotel is by far the cheapest option, the second cheapest hotel in town cost about twice as much.

2.. I've seen no cockroaches so far. The place is fairly clean, although everything looks dated. There are two cleaning ladies who are constantly mopping floors etc.

3. The address listed on TA is WRONG!!! , The Hotel is not on 22 Queen Victoria Ave but rather it's on 22 Belize Corozal Road (Queen Victoria Ave is a different part of the same road). Packages sent to 22 Queen Victoria will reach the hotel though, as long as the hotel name is clearly marked on the package (also Google Maps shows the street as Queen Victoria Ave).

4. The service is very good in my opinion. The guy at the hotel went out of his way to arrange meetings for me with several local sugar factory workers, and he even fixed my laptop (All for free).

However, do expect to pay for trivial things like borrowing their phone to call for a taxis or pizza. In general the hotel will let you borrow their phone (which is prepaid) and will charge you whatever the phone company charge them (which is A LOT, expect to pay a few dollar for even very short conversations.) If you make a lot of calls the phone bills can easily outrun the hotel bill. Land line to land line calls after 6pm are free though.

5. oh and the old review is wrong about the internet: wifi costs 2.5 USD for no matter how long you stay. It’s actually not a bad deal (there is an internet cafe close by charge a minimum of 2 USD for 1 hour).

Room Tip: stay away from
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

There are no dorm beds here, you have to come with other people, so I was stuck paying for a single room. When i asked if there were cockroaches, he said "yes, but not many, and they're impossible to get rid of." The people running it are not helpful, very obnoxious and have the strangest sense of humour. They charge you for everything here, ie the 3 minutes I used the computer to check my email and they said it would be 75 cents, so I decided to use the rest of my 15 minutes to write this review. I would not recommend this hole, nor would I ever come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
371 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

it looks way worse from the outside, a bare concrete block. rooms are a decent size, there's cable TV in the rooms (on tiny tv's) and wifi available (for 5 BZD). pretty good value for the price but it's hardly the sort of hotel you want to hang around in. simply a good place to sleep in a dreary dusty town that only seems to be good for getting elsewhere (notably the trip down the New River to Lamanai ruins)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The location is excellent, just a couple of blocks from the main park where there are many restaurants, food stalls, and a bit further down - about another block or 2 is the bus station. The hotel itself is situated above a restaurant. The restaurant is quite quiet and has internet access (at a small fee). We asked for a double room and they showed us a twin with a shared bathroom for 30BZ. We asked to see one with a double bed and they took us up to the top floor. This room was next to a room that had a jacuzzi! The double room had a private bathroom, we preferred this room. It should have been 45BZ but they gave it to us for 35BZ. The room was small but it did the job. The bathroom is the smallest one I have seen. It is very narrow. As you open the door, the shower head is almost behind the door and then you have the toilet directly next to, infact, almost infront of the shower. The sink is in the room next to the bed.
The first time in the bathroom had a giant cockroach, after this we didnt see anymore.
The room had a fan, TV and also provided towels.
The owners are very friendly and will help you book tours if needed. They also have many books on Belize for travellers.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camacho87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel offers pretty much every travel necessity. It's cheap, and pretty convienient. price ranges from 8 bucks a night for shared bunk beds to some really expensive rooms with private jacuzzi and AC. (don't remember the price)

The hotel is close to the bus station, and there are several restuarants and general stores near by. There are internet /wifi in the hotel with computers in the lobby if you didn't bring your own. they have pretty nice showers. and even jacuzzi if you don't mind paying extra for the more expensive room, There are cable TV featuring HBO's etc. You can make international calls, do laundry, cooking using microwaves, beers, cigarettes. etc

the hotel people will help you book trip to lamanai for free.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maja_Rymsza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed in there with my partner (Kamateblackwiki) for 6 days, The hotel is very clean (which, unfortunately cannot be said about some of the other budget hotel in town that we checked out), it's VERY cheap (16 belize dollars, a night), The rooms are very spartan, but it does come with cable TV and fans, they offer wifi access,and you can rent bikes from them

hotel is owned by a japanese man, he speaks ok english but one of the staff cannot speak English at all and if you need something you might have to draw it on a peice of paper or wait until the owner shows up.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexia_namski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed there a week while me and my partner went exploring in Lamanai, the place was extremely cheap (8 USD per night), and the room was spotless, in fact it even have cleaner than the "5 star" place i stayed in in Cancun. (the hotel exterior was ugly and dirty though, it's not even fully painted). Hotel has very powerful showers, high speed wifi (and computers if you didn't bring a laptop), cable TV, laundry, and it's fairly close to the bus stations, there is also a restaurant and a convenience store next door .

And i should mention, the owner was extremely helpful:.I had an acute asthma attack in the middle of the night, and he drove me and my partner to a private clinic and stayed there with us for several hours. (the public hospital are understaffed and generally offer slower service in emergencies). The owner is also queer friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KamateBlackKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
19.8 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
3.6 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
218 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Akihito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akihito Hotel

Property: Akihito Hotel
Address: 22 Queen Victoria Road, Orange Walk, Belize
Region: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Akihito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akihito Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing