We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and a gracious owner.”
Review of Paniscea Restaurant - CLOSED

Paniscea Restaurant
Price range: US$2 - US$24
Cuisines: American, International, Mediterranean, Contemporary, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Set on a beautiful river setting in Orange Walk Belize this open air restaurant features excellent service, a diverse and exquisite menu at affordable prices...a rare find in Belize. Just opened on New Year's eve 2011!!
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and a gracious owner.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The location along the river couldn't be better. My wife and I have eaten here one evening and stopped by for coffee after a rainy morning. Both times the service was excellent, and Doug (the owner) took time to speak with us at length. I learned a great deal about local politics, places to visit, musical trends, and just had a great time. The warmth in his interaction with us enhanced what would be a wonderful dining experience on its own. I strongly encourage you to visit him and have a great meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Oasis in Orange Walk”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We were tipped off about this little gem from a Swiss couple on our Lamanai River trip. I had a one and a half inch thick smoked and grilled pork chop with steamed vegetables and baked potato. They were able to cook an off menu vegetable coconut curry dish for my wife who was suffering from a vegetable shortage due to our starch laden Belizean diet. A short walk from the neighboring St. Christopher Hotel and the Hotel El Fuentes. The menu is North American cuisine. The food is prepared fresh to order in the kitchen which means this is not "fast food" it is great food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“PERFECT STOP!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A little hard to find (at the end of town by the river) but not to be missed. Lucy has done a wonderful job of good food and peaceful location. We were on our way to Chan Chich and this was the perfect spot to stop, eat, stretch our legs and then get going. This was all capped off by going to Popular Bakery just down the street...I would not go through Orange Walk without going to both these places!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Possibly the best in Belize.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have been travelling for 3 weeks in Belize and for 4 months in South and Central America.
This would easily be the best restaurant we ate at during that period.
In fact we went to the Paniscea for lunch one day and an evening meal the next.
Firstly, the proprietor, Doug, has a lovely personality, ensures excellent care is taken of his patrons and runs a very efficient business.
His waitering staff were well trained and had the extra touches down to a fine art - something we had missed in Sth America.
The restaurant is situated at the top of the main street in a hexagonal building with open sides by the river - a lovely setting to enjoy a meal.
The lunch and dinner menus had a good variety of dishes and Doug was happy to taylor a meal to our needs.
The meat was beautiful - not cooked to death as we had experienced over the last 4 months.
The sides were well presented and the vegetables crisp, again not over done.
Sauces were tasty but not overpowering.
We are not dessert people but decided to give it a nudge - again we were delighted.
Full marks to the cook. Thank you.
I think Doug could mix any drink you wished.
The coffee was great - we had been missing our coffees in Belize so this was a real find.
Easily the best restaurant in Orange Walk and possibly either the best or up with the best in Belize.
One comment - Doug, get decent signage on the street!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff was friendly, the food was excellent and the atmosphere can't be beat. Ask the owner the story behind the furniture in the restaurant and try the house shooter.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paniscea Restaurant also viewed

Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
Orange Walk, Orange Walk District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing