We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming Pool”
Review of D*Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
D*Victoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Belmopan, Belize
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swimming Pool”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When the day is hot, here is a nice place to cool yourself down!
swimming is big enough to have a group of friends go have fun together.
It only cost $5 for each person without any time limitation.
You can carry some snacks and drinks to there and spent your day with your friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szu0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
11
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Over all it is an OK hotel, my friend and I spent 2 nights there, it was clean, enough space and the over all appearance was good; however, what really bothered me were the following: 1. The bed are too small, i cant even call that a double bed, we slept together and we are a bit tall and little more than average size in body bt that bed could barely even accommodate one of us, 2. using the bathroom was frustrating for the sewerage wouldn't flush easily, don't know what the hell was wrong with that i avoided the toilet as much as possible, 3: they have a pool, which i thought was great it looked clean and refreshing so we made our way to swim, a bit later a bunch of people came along, u can tell they were not guests and it seemed as they had come along way on a dusty road looking sweaty and dirty they went straight into the pool and their body odor wasn't pleasing at all, and more and more people started coming after that which made me very uncomfortable. the pool was small for that large amount of people...4. we decided to gt out the pool and go relax in the hummocks we saw under a shed 'Palapa,' but by the time we went up stairs showered and put on some clothes and walk back down stairs, the hommocks were removed, we were very disappointed.5. the staff was friendly but not that informative as possible for we were not adviced that after 9 no breakfast was served so on my experience at the hotel i can say it was ok but not worth the price we paid!!!!!

Room Tip: the rooms with pool view are more open to a nice cool breeze u can sit in the porch and relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at D*Victoria in January 2014 as part of a medical missions trip. I wasn't entirely sure what to expect as I couldn't really find any pictures. I couldn't located a website for the hotel and only saw one Youtube video, so I was really quite surprised when I saw how nice the hotel was. Compared to the living conditions that many Belizeans have, the hotel was a very nice accommodation. Many kudos to the cleaning crew as they always made sure our rooms were nicely cleaned and mopped. The room itself was fairly large, and had a dresser with large mirror, flat screen TV, ceiling fan, air conditioner, two side tables, table lamp, and private bathroom. The bathroom and shower were fairly small, but manageable. The toilets don't seem to flush very well, but I am not sure if that was a hotel problem or if that was a common problem for the sewer system in Belize.

We had a very nice, warm breakfast prepared for us every morning. Fresh fruit, coffee, and juice were also available each morning. The hotel also has an on-site swimming pool, and although I didn't use it, it seemed very nice. The grounds are small, but nice to walk around. There are two huts, one containing a picnic table and the other with a hammock. There is also a large terrace which we used as a meeting spot, on the upper level. Unfortunately, the pet monkey is no longer around.

The hotel is on one of the main roads in Orange Walk and is close to a gas station, and several small shops along the main road. Also in a short walking distance there is a park and a few local restaurants.

Overall, D*Victoria was a pleasant surprise and pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
820 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Firstly, the photos on their website have nothing to do with this place. Better look at the photos posted here by members. This hotel is mostly a pink concrete block with no charm.
The service for us was not quite was it has been for other reviewers. Possibly because we had the weekend staff.
It is also misleading because they are supposed to serve breakfast (for an additional charge). We had book the tour to Lamanai at 9am so we went downstairs for breakfast at 8h. Asked the guy where breakfast was served to be told that they do not have breakfast any more. They are doing some remodelling. Asking where in town we can find breakfast, his answer was totally useless "today is Sunday so it is hard to find breakfast". So, that wasn't very helpful.
The room itself was plain but ok. No water pressure in the shower and the wifi signal did not reach our area (we were facing the pool). AC did not shoot cold air. It was actually warmer in the room than outside.
We book the tour to Lamanai through them at BEL110 per person. She said that we would be picked up at 9am and return at 3pm. I was a bit surprised thinking we would return only at 4pm. Actually, we were back at around 2pm. Had we known that we could have taken a flight out of Orange Walk instead of spending an extra night (especially on a Sunday when every place is closed). What seems to have happened is that we were with a group that just flew in and out to go to Lamanai. so the guide was continuously rushing us as some people had to make their 2pm flight.
We did not use the pool and did not see anybody using it. It looks ok except that it is surrounded by a concrete wall with barb wire.
There must be something better in this town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belize City, Belize, Belize
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrive at D*Victoria Nov 9th 2013 and were welcome into the hotel. The enjoyed the atmosphere for the most part but notice that my friendly monkey that once in the back yard is no longer there. Please get back your monkey.. it was fun to see.. The pool is always a pleasure to dive into but i might recommend u hire a cleaner to regularly up-keep your pool. beautiful back yard and fine patio. Wiifi in the rooms was an awesome plus for me. The rooms were clean and well taken care of.. The staff over all was very friendly, with special emphasis on the cleaning lady on duty that night.. she was swift to get us additional towels and was friendly enough to ask us if we needed anything else..On a note of the staff i was say that the male receptionist that was on duty that morning wasn't that very friendly with us.. As though he was having a bad day when we approach him for some coffee.. Smile smile smile is a plus.. Overal thanks D. Victoria, you are still orange walk's best..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joe, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is clean, inexpensive and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is the best hotel in this town, They offer tours and help with transportation. I was much impressed. Everyone went out of their way to help with getting around and the local places of interest

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mestizo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed there as part of a mission trip. It was nice to return to a clean cool pool after a long day. The rooms were also clean with cold air-conditioning. The hotel seemed basic at first but you quickly came to appreciate this little oasis of luxury. The free Wi-Fi allowed for communication back home and the staff were always very nice.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the building: The hallway to the inner rooms gets really warm because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
22.6 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
192 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
4.2 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Akihito Hotel
Akihito Hotel
#7 of 8 in Orange Walk
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D*Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D*Victoria Hotel

Property: D*Victoria Hotel
Address: 40 Belize Road, Orange Walk 011501, Belize
Region: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Orange Walk's Premier Hotel with Swimming Pool D*Victoria Hotel is located on Beautiful O/W Town. It's a UNIQUE and RELAXING place to spend your vacation. We can assure you that you will be comfortable, because we designed it with you in mind! Twenty Two Years of experience have created an attractive Natural Blending with Comfort and Relaxation. If you are a person that enjoys Mother Nature then you should stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D*Victoria Hotel Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing