We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Palm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orange Walk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchid Palm Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Orange Walk B&B and Inns
Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Friendly place for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here because of the good price and the friendly and accurate way they reacted to my e-mails.
I asked for a quiet room on the ground floor: room 1 was exactly that.
The room was bigger than expected and clean. We had new towels after one night.
Friendly people, they do not serve breakfast but they have free water and often coffee in the lobby. Sometimes they also present free buns, the last morning we had two fruitplatters.

In fact the WiFi only works near the reception. They should really improve their website, I found more information on Tripadvisor than on their site.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hippohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
24
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel had probably the best rooms that I came across while in Belize. The town of Orangewalk, however, was especially dreary and seemed to roll up the sidewalks at 3:00 in the afternoon. Not much to see or do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p31893189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Orchid Palm Inn is a small, value price inn in Orange Walk, Belize.
A list of what is good about Orchid Palm Inn:
1) Value price. We paid $77 Belize dollars (about $38 USD) for one night in a nice double room. The room had tile floors and a modern, clean bathroom. We stayed in Room 5.
2) The shower had decent water pressure and hot water - this is not always a given in budget priced hotels in Belize.
3) The woman working the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly. She pulled out a map a marked where we could find restaurants, ice cream, and a super bakery for breakfast goods.
4) Orchid Palm Inn has a small parking lot protected by a gate, so your car is completely safe overnight (you won't have to park your rental car on the street).
5) The room has air conditioning
6) The inn is within easy walking distance of Jungle River Tours, which gives a create tour up the New River to the Mayan ruins of Lamanai. Don't miss that highlight!

A list of negative aspects of Orchid Palm Inn:
1) Room 5, which we stayed in, is closest to the main street of Orange Walk, and thus is subject to loud traffic noise, especially from buses and trucks. This died down after evening, but around 5 A.M. the heavy vehicle traffic picked up again and created a lot of noise.

Overall, especially considering the price and quality of room, I give Orchid Palm Inn a good rating, and I would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We (couple, 40 & 50 years old) stayed at Orchid Palm Inn in November 2013 for one night. Our room was small but clean and modern. There was only one window, so the room was dark. The bathroom was large and the water was hot. The beds were comfortable. The hotel is located on a main street and within walking distance to the bus station. The staff was helpful and friendly. I would recommend the Orchid Palm Inn to anyone visiting Orange Walk Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothersEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

It was so great!, the staff very helpful, can't complain about the price! Also the fact that there is a nice vender across the street selling Orange walk's best pork tacos! On another note, I liked the way the people responded very professional and they knew what I wanted and gave me great recommendations as well, thank you Zane and Lydia,

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathedral City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Wanting to spend the night near the departure point of our boat trip to Lamanai, we looked at a couple of places and ended up at the Orchid Palm. Located on busy and noisy Queen Victoria Street, they put us in a very small ground floor room at the rear with only a tiny window in the bathroom, so we slept undisturbed except by the ceiling fan and a dog that barked on and off throughout the night. Other good features were a loaner umbrella and proximity to the city market and many local taco sellers. In the morning we got back our $15 room damage deposit and were given two free bananas. So accept it for what it is - safe and adequately clean accommodations in a very poor city at a reasonable price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blueskiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placencia, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My Girlfriend & I stayed at Orchid Palm Inn whenever we go to Orange Walk to Celebrate the Independence Day Carnival & watch the Beautiful Fireworks! And as always we always enjoy our stay..We love having the comfy room beds & A/C and the staff are helpful...Looking forward to stay there again for Next Year's Carnival..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spice91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange Walk
19.8 mi away
Maruba Resort Jungle Spa
23.0 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lamanai Landings Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
Lamanai Riverside Retreat
#2 of 2 in Orange Walk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Chich Lodge
Chan Chich Lodge
#1 of 8 in Orange Walk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
20.9 mi away
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
Beck's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Crooked Tree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Palm Inn

Property: Orchid Palm Inn
Address: 22 Queen Victoria Avenue, Orange Walk, Belize
Region: Belize > Orange Walk District > Orange Walk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Orange Walk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Orchid Palm Inn, you’re staying with friends. Enjoy the simple luxury of clean and comfortable air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, cable TV, and complimentary freshly brewed coffee in the morning and Free Wi-Fi. Awarded, the Belize Tourism Board title Small hotel of the year 2007. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchid Palm Inn Belize/Orange Walk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing