We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Beach”
Review of Sabal Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sabal Beach
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Heading to Belize for a break from New York City, the total seclusion and quiet of Sabal Beach was exactly what we needed to begin our trip. From the start of the gorgeous boat ride from Placencia, we knew we'd made a good choice.

It's not exactly often that we get to be completely alone on a perfect beach, floating in the warm water and watching fish swim around. Not an experience to be missed. We also went on a little kayak trip, walked a few miles down the beach, and hacked open an endless amount of fresh coconuts to snack on and cook with. As some people mentioned, the bugs do come out at night. That's just how it is in a tropical environment so be prepared and don't let it bother you.

David and Wayne were so helpful and welcoming; the cabin was comfortable and well-stocked; and the beach was clean, warm, and peaceful. We were so relaxed that our four nights passed before we knew it. I'd definitely return if only for one more evening of cocktails and manatee watching with our hosts. Thank you for a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 2beachbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2014

Great to hear that you both enjoyed your stay at Sabal Beach! Hopefully our paths will cross again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just Wow! What a relaxing holiday...David and Wayne are perfect hosts and the property is as advertised: well away from any sign of "civilization"! Restful walks on the beach, reading in the hammock or in a chair, watching the birds from the "cabana in the trees"...nothing could be finer! Bring your own quiet amusement and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0nna14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Great to hear from you and very glad you both enjoyed your time at Sabal Beach! We hope our paths cross again although it will have to be summer if we are heading north. The pictures of your spring snowstorms are too much for us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We loved every moment at Sabal Beach from the breathtaking views, long walks on the beach, kayak adventures, lessons in coconut extraction to our nightly cocktail hour on the dock with David and Wayne. We slept like babies with the mix of wind, waves and peaceful jungle noises. One of the biggest highlights was our trek into Punta Negra where we had lunch made for us on the beach by a local woman. The meal was divine and her children were super entertaining. This place is just what we needed to recharge, connect and relax a few lazy days away.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sbilmer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It was great to have you here. Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about Sabal Beach. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

David and Wayne couldn't be more considerate and helpful hosts, helping us with the arrangements on how to get to Sabal Beach and looking after us when there (including chasing lost luggage, arranging a fishing trip and lunch at the point with neighbours on Christmas Day). The location is an isolated, beautiful palm fringed beach. Accommodation is simple, bed good, although there is nowhere really comfortable to sit especially in the evenings. Nevertheless it would have been pretty close to paradise had we not been tormented by biting sand flies (which apparently are prevalent when the weather is still) making the dock the only place to hang out in the day. We also think it is expensive compared to other special places we've stayed in the region.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed joining us for Christmas lunch in the village, had fun on the fishing trip and liked the natural beauty of the location.

As we are in a very remote location nature has a large influence on one's time here. Unfortunately your stay spanned an unusually calm period where there was very little breeze. The calm, coupled with a sensitivity to sand flies, can be an annoyance to some people. We recommend out guests bring a light pair of pants / long sleeve shirt for those times but the airlines losing your luggage negated any preparation on that front unfortunately.

I am glad we were able to have your luggage delivered and waiting for you for the next portion of your trip in Honduras so hopefully you were more comfortable there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

None of these glowing reviews are hyperbole and neither is this one. Sabal Beach is worth the travel to reach it, stunning in it's beauty, and a very unique experience all around. David and Wayne were impeccable hosts, they walked the fine line of being available without being obsequious impeccably. Of special note is how knowledgeable and engaged with local issues they are - very concerned with the overall health of the area from an environmental, economical, educational, and community oriented point of view. And they extend the same kind of engaged care to their guests. Jason, our guide on the excursions we took, grew up nearby in Monkey River Town and was an excellent source of scientific as well as anecdotal information. The natural beauty of Sabal Beach is beyond words - my advice - buy the local rum, turn off any glowing screens, and go with someone you adore. You will have an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on your time at Sabal Beach. It was great having you two here. I am happy to report we are still seeing a lot of shooting stars but you were definitely good luck on that count as not as many as on your visit. Hope to see you back in Belize in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We live in a busy, crowded, touristy city. When I was mentally planning my last minute vacation I wanted to find a place that was completely opposite of the place we live. I wanted remote, quite, peaceful, and relaxing, and I found exactly what I was looking for when I landed at Sabal Beach. It is remote, only accessible by boat, quiet and peaceful with breathtaking views. There are no restaurants, shops, or people nearby. Since it is a bit off the beaten path, all arrangements to get there from Belize City (including a stop in town to get food and drinks) were organized by our hosts, David and Wayne. They are amazing. They provided the perfect balance of being accessible and helpful with giving space to us as guests. Upon arrival, they greeted us and helped unload the boat. They showed us around, gave us a tutorial on how to crack a coconut - a highlight for my husband- and then let us be. The next day, while relaxing out on the pier, Wayne arrived with a plate of chocolate chip cookies. David organized an adventurous fishing excursion for us. There are many options for excursions, but truthfully for me, I just wanted to spend my vacation unwinding with my husband. The cabana is clean, comfortable, and well stocked with everything you need to cook a meal! In the event that there's something you inadvertently forget, for example, flour - just ask David and Wayne! They were always checking in to see if we needed anything and were quick to deliver when we did! Overall, we had the trip of a lifetime. We continue to talk about our trip to Belize and our hosts, David and Wayne, who made the experience all the better by joining us for conversations and drinks at happy hour on the pier! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

You two were a lot of fun and we enjoyed your company. We are both still impressed that you jumped into the boat to go fishing like professionals!! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Sabal Beach and hopefully we will see you again either around DC or in Belize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Sabal Beach is truly a unique spot. It is not that easy these days to find a place that is uncrowded, restorative and gorgeous. We came for a week with the idea of 'roughing it' a bit but the cabana exceeded our expectations. Bedding was comfy, the cabana was clean, the breeze was fantastic, the view unbeatable and everything we needed was there and waiting for our arrival.

David & Wayne were great hosts and gave us plenty of privacy but were very easy to deal with if we needed something, wanted to schedule a tour or had any questions.

We took a tour of Monkey River that was really great since we were able to beat the normal tourist crowds up the river from Sabal Beach and the snorkel trip to the reef was superb. Saw tons of aquatic life and had the boat to ourselves for the day which made for a very relaxed day. I have been on other trips with 20+ divers / snorkelers and felt rushed. Definitely was not the case on the tours we took from Sabal Beach.

I would highly recommend Sabal Beach to anyone looking for a relaxing beach get away!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabalBeach, Owner at Sabal Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about Sabal Beach! We always love to hear from people that enjoy Belize as much as we do and are glad you enjoyed your time here. The Monkey River Tour really is great and I am glad to hear you two enjoyed it and the snorkeling.

Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo District hotels
0.0 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Farm Inn
The Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 18 in Punta Gorda
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Beach

Address: Sabal Beach | Punta Gorda, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Toledo District
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Toledo District
Price Range: £69 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Beach eco-retreat provides guests with an opportunity to truly get away from civilization and reconnect with themselves and nature. Located two miles north of Punta Negra in the Toledo district of Belize we are on one of the few remaining totally undeveloped beaches along the coast of Belize. If you like the sea, sand, sun and nature without throngs of tourists this may be the right spot for you.Sandwiched between two national parks, the Port of Honduras Marine Reserve to the front and the Paynes Creek National Park to the rear, Sabal Beach sits on 8 acres with 340′ of pristine beach which is only accessible by water.We are in an ideal location for those that enjoy fishing, diving, snorkeling, birding, kayaking, river tours or simply sitting on the beach under a palm tree and swaying in a hammock.At Sabal Beach we pride ourselves in providing lodging for travelers truly looking for an off the map experience while maintaining the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sabal Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabal Beach Belize/Toledo District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing