We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tofu in town!”

Gomier's Vegan Vegetarian And Seafood
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Punta Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: In accordance with our moto "HEALTH is WEALTH" we make wholesome and nutritious meals promoting local - garifuna, caribbean and international dishes. Using the best and freshest produce we have some unique dishes, all made in our homie ,full of love, kitchen: - vegan ice cream - vegan burgers - tofu / tofu balls - soysage - whole wheat bread THE BEST IN P.G - whole wheat cakes and muffins - vegan cheese cake and many more delicious surprises ALL AVAILABLE TO GRAB & GO COOKING LESSONS *coconut A-Z : cooking and making products: food, oil, skin care etc...... *Making natural fruit wine and vinegar *making tofu and soy milk and more..... NUTRITIONAL CONSULTATION CATERING SERVICE
Washington state
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best tofu in town!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Be prepared to wait a little while but it's worth it. Order what Gomier has going for the day and you won't be disappointed. My "go-to" was his tofu curry though - perfect amount, delicious sauce, excellent fried rice to accompany it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    44
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal tonight a Gomiers. Past reviews had intrigued me and being a long time Vege I was keen to give it a try - and I'm really glad I did.

My vegetable burrito (BZD10) was extremely tasty, hot, generous and well presented - good value menu I thought. The bread wholemeal and homemade, filled with veges and slices of soya burger. Other options included BBQ tofu, fried tofu curry, tofu burger, brown rice casserole, vege patties, pita and humous, and a range of fish options (including fish fingers). All meals came with salad and fries, rice or mashed potato. I was a bit disappointed with my drink (pineapple juice) which was sold as local fruit juice but didn't taste homemade and had no pineapple flesh in it at all. Maybe this was me.

Gomier came out to talk with me towards the end of my meal and to ask about my travels. He was very friendly and I enjoyed our brief chat - especially as I was the only customer, apart from a few locals at the bar.

What you make of Gomiers may depend what you expect. If you are looking for sparkling floors and table clothes you will be disappointed. If it's good and tasty food, made by locals, in a local-style restaurant - you might just have a great time!

Open 7 days a week, early until late

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatESUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yikes!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is supposed to be one of the best places in Punta Gorda but my God, it is positively frightening. All huge Rasta hair, completely unsanitary conditions, outside in a bunch of rough and ready plastic tables and chairs. I can't imagine what it looked like in the kitchen. Wife was sick next day and I can't link it directly but it is possible. On the other hand PG is such a scene of poverty and squalor and you have to eat somewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenka N, Owner at Gomier's Vegan Vegetarian And Seafood, responded to this review, 23 December 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our restaurant! We've been taking your feedback seriously and made some major changes and renovations both inside & outside. Hope you would like to give us another chance if you ever come back to Punta Gorda.

Blessings/ Mr. Gomier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good tofu, nice people”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I tried the fried tofu in curry and it was pretty good, but the highpoint of my meal was definitely the coconut rice (I could have eaten a whole plateful). Everyone there was very nice, and the meal was very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingbadger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The food was yummy, and the owner was very friendly. He visited our table and talked about all sorts of things. I had a great time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gomier's Vegan Vegetarian And Seafood also viewed

Punta Gorda, Toledo District
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
Punta Gorda, Toledo District
 

Been to Gomier's Vegan Vegetarian And Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing