We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid cost choice for staying in Punta Gorda”
Review of St. Charles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Charles Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here August 17th one night before joining the ReefCI team on Tom Owens Island. We stayed in room 3, two queen beds, refrigerated, hot shower and all importantly an AC unit. The room was clean, AC worked nicely and overall we had a good nights stay. This is not the Hilton or Marriott, but, it is not the EcoLodge of Budget Inn either. We payed $40US for the night, the room was clean, good beds, tidy and felt safe. Overall if you are looking for a good safe clean place to stay and don;t want to pay >$100 a day this is an excellent option.

Room Tip: Ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark_W_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am rating this hotel as compared to Belize hotels.

Located near the center of town, just a couple of blocks from the bus station, the water taxi and immigration dock, and the market area, the St. Charles is well-suited for a short stay or passing through town.

The room my wife and I had was small, with only a double bed, a table, tv, and a chair, but it was very clean. The fans worked very well and the a/c cooled the room off very nicely. There was also hot water. The room was also on the inside walkway and so it was quiet. Our room was the least expensive at $25US for the night. There is also a night watchman to keep an eye on things and to assist with any problems that might arise, i.e. starting the generator when the electricity went out.

Charles, the older gentleman/owner greeted us on his front porch and told us all we needed to know about the town, meals, transportation, and the local culture.

But you have to remember that this is not a Holiday Inn or even a Super 8. You are in a coastal jungle village in Central America. Go with minimal expectations and then be delighted when things are better than expected.

Room Tip: Choose an inside walkway room for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank drtomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Great inexpensive place to stay when your in Punta Gorda Belize. Centrally located to the main square. Clean rooms, clean bathrooms, A/C, plenty of fans in the room if you don't want the A/C, awesome staff, and yes iI can't stress enough it's a great deal for your money. Remember one thing. This is not a resort! It's a hotel in the downtown area. If you want a resort than go somewhere else. I just needed a room to stay in before and after my diving trip to ReefCI. I recommend them highly and check out their web site for more info on diving there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F8262NFchrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlo W, Manager at St. Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. My father and I enjoyed meeting you and we hope to see you sometime again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Yes, The St. Charles Inn is inexpensive, but there is inexpensive as in "I got a great deal at a great price" and then there is "cheap" as in "the place was a dump, but at least it didn't cost a lot." The St. Charles is that type of cheap. The rooms are fine, although the much touted air conditioning did not work at all and the wi-fi failed most of the time as well. The location is convenient if you wish to be in the heart of the town, but you will pay for the convenience with noise and dust. The hosts are non-existent when you need them and then annoying when you don't. If you travel to Punta Gorda frequently and just need a place to stay, it is a good choice. If this is a special holiday designed to build good memories, spend a few dollars more and stay somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlo W, Manager at St. Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

All our rooms at the St. Charles Inn is equipped with a air-conditioner with the option to rent the room with or without air-conditioning due to the fact that some people simply don't like A/C and would rather not pay the extra cost for something they will not use. In the case of this guest he said that he didn't want A/C therefore the power for the A/C unit was not connected for that specific room so obviously it would not work indeed. Our office opens from 8am-12noon and 1pm-5pm Monday - Saturday, and after opening hours there is always someone on site who can address the needs of our guests. In addition to that, the owner of the St. Charles lives in a building right next to the Inn and he is always available to listen to the needs of any guest. The comment about the wi-fi service being down is very strange because there is no way we can operate our hotel office without the use of wi-fi/internet, so we would know the very minute it would go off and would reset the modem or router immediately to turn it back on. There are occasions in the past whereby a guest would have trouble logging on, but 99% of the time its just due to a incorrect password or a setting in computer that just needed to be rectified. After a couple tries the guest would always eventually log on. We have never ever advertised our Inn to be a resort but this guest in particular seem to have evaluated us as such. There are many resorts in the outskirts of Toledo which is completely secluded in the jungle among howler monkeys and great wildlife with absolutely no noise. You can get a suit or cabana for $200.00US and up at those beautiful resorts. The St. Charles is a humble 12 bedroom Inn that gives true value for your money, it is centrally located and budget friendly. I would like to invite the readers to visit us when traveling to Punta Gorda to allow me to give you a tour of the Inn and view our rooms and then you can decide for yourself if it is a dump or not. The legendary owner of the Inn is Mr. Charles Wagner who is former Minister of the Belizean Government and a local historian. He built the hotel because of his love for meeting new people from all walks of life and sharing with them the history of our beloved Toledo District. The hospitality industry is not a job to us it is our life and we take every complaint seriously and will do our very best to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Centrally located...it is inexpensive but decent. You get free wifi, cable TV, and hot water. Not sure why it's considered a B&B because there is no breakfast. It is quite loud if you're room is on the street but I preferred the cost and location over noise.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ktwaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlo W, Manager at St. Charles Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review! We enjoyed having you staying with us and would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The location was great because it was very close to everything that I was needing to walk to. The owner was very welcoming when I checked in. The rooms were clean and you could get a room with AC which was very nice, although a fan would have been sufficient. There was free wifi which was also a plus. They took credit cards which was also nice. I didn't have a hard time falling asleep even though it got a little loud at times. I thought that it was reasonably priced, and the prices that you were quoted included tax, which was also nice.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

There was nothing special about this hotel, but it was clean and air conditioned.- a good value for about $40US. There is free wireless internet, which ran pretty fast. It was in a little bit of a noisy area, but the fan and AC drown out the noise. We had a room that faced the gardens, not the street, so that was probably helpful, too. The owner was great to talk to. Very friendly and had lots of stories. Even after we checked out, he was willing to lock up our backpacks in his storage closet for the day while we went out exploring. We also came back later (about a week) and asked if we could use his wireless internet, which he was happy to let us, even though we weren't staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a garden room, not one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smullen4677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
21.8 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 8 in Livingston
366 reviews
4.5 mi away
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
18.9 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#8 of 8 in Livingston
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
100 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 8 in Livingston
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Inn

Address: 23 King Street, Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £30 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Charles Inn Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing