We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Apartments are a great deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Front Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartments are a great deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We spent two weeks with these nice folks in December and January. We were amazed by how large and comfortable our apartment was. Close enough to shops and restaurants to easily walk anywhere, the location is very good. Highly recommended.

We had the Penthouse apartment, which required climbing some steep steps, and does not have air-conditioning, which we never needed with the steady sea breeze.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravityTravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Thanks for your review of the Sea Front Inn. We were very happy to have you stay with us and happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Staying in the penthouse is a climb with the stairs but what a view!!!!! It is our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to having you return. Looking forward to the completion of our renovations and more improvements to come. Hurry back to see us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    16
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
180 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

First visual impression - outside unusal, interesting; inside somewhat funky and rustic. Pros: the staff were very helpful and friendly, bed was comfortable but a "small queen", A/C worked well and wasn't overly noisy but the ceiling fan did make more noise than you would expect. Included breakfast of juice, fruit bread, orange, grapefruit, banana and mango and coffee became monotonus after 2 days, but not really a con. Cons: room was small, poor lighting (very dark actually), bathroom tiny, no hot water at the sink but was in the shower. We went 24hrs. without any water, told a valve broke! The toilet was always slow, at times anemic! Lots of difficult stairs to climb, not good for older guests. Management was not only friendly but very helpful as we had a dead battery in our car and two flat tires to deal with and the need of a physician during our stay. I don't think the value was that great considering what you got.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
We do appreciate you for taking time to write a review about your stay at the Sea Front Inn. Sorry that you had problems with the water while visiting with us. Did you ask to change rooms? Any time that there is a problem and the hotel is not full, please feel free to ask for another room. We love the hotel and watched it grow from stones and raw wood into the unusually interesting and rustic place that it has become. There is so much beauty in this part of Belize and we love to share it. The hotel is a combination of all these things. We love that our employees are friendly and helpful and encourage that behavior! Please visit us again soon and let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay here better. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Highway in Belize
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Good Points:
Clean.
The mattress was comfortable.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful.
Great view from the communal verandas.

Disappointments:
As I said in the title there was NO fan, only a window unit air conditioner that rivaled sleeping next to a train for db noise. It did cool the room so...

The sheets were polyester. and shiny. (for $65 usd I expected at the least a lower thread count cotton) Shiny sheets are not comfortable to sleep on.(I'm not talking satin here...)

Opening the door I was hit by a wave of perfume that led to an air freshener that had to be ejected from the room it was so foul. Clean has no smell.

The room was at the corner of the stairs and there was a light that shone through an odd window by the ceiling that couldn't be covered lighting up the room.

There was also no deadbolt or security chain leading to the next issue...


At 2 am I woke to a man entering the room. He quickly stepped back out and shut the door when I yelled.( I think they were full so perhaps there was a room mix up???) There was a political party staying at the hotel, and I recognized him with the group the next morning.

In the morning there was a funky smell that explained the air freshener. The funky smell was less offensive however.

I had a look in other rooms that were being cleaned and they were both bigger, and better appointed with sheets that contained some cotton although I can't pinpoint the %. There was a funky smell in at least one of them confirming that it wasn't just the one room.

Room Tip: If they tell you you're in the Parrot Room, ask to change. (unless you're getting really dru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junebugbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Sorry to be so long in responding to your review of the hotel. We do apologize for your discomfort. At the time of your visit, the hotel was full and we are sorry for any inconvenience that you feel that you suffered. Anytime that you are staying with us and feel the need for different sheets or a fan for your room, you only have to ask the receptionist and someone will be glad to assist you. At far as the a/c, we are in the process of upgrading all the a/c units in all the rooms. The locks were also double checked after your review and apparently you did not lock the door correctly. If you visit again, check on that when you check in and someone will be happy to assist you in properly locking the door. Thank you for your review and if you come back our way, please let us know if you have any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Sea Front Inn is a cute hotel with a great water front view. The owner, expat Larry Smith, is very personable and knowlegeable of the area and has been in Belize for 40 years. We had a room with 2 double beds which was large enough to fit my wife and I along with our 2 teenage children. The air conditioning worked great and it was convenient to town and to the water. There is a small pier in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuateAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thanks for staying with the folks at the Sea Front Inn. We are so happy that you found everything all right. I have to say that we do have a lovely area and are so happy to share it with you! We look forward to having you back. At any time, let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had an amazing time at the Sea Front Inn. We were planning to take a boat from Guatemala to Belize and had no hotel reservations in Punta Gorda. We found the name of the Sea Front Inn the night before we left Guatemala and hoped that they would have room for us. We got to the Inn at lunch time and the office help was on lunch, so we were helped by Carol & Larry (the owners). They were very kind and helpful. They treated us like family and introduced us to April and Beto, their daugter and son-in-law. We ate at April's Snack Shack for lunch, where she shared their own lunch because we wanted to try some authentic Belize food. It was Awesome! Beto, was great in trying to find us a boat to go snorkeling. Although on such short notice it was impossible, he was able to give us many other options on things to do. They even gave us a bus ride around town and showed us where we could go for dinner that night. The family atmosphere that they have is so inviting! The rooms were clean, the air conditioning worked, and the cinnamon rolls at breakfast were delicious. We felt very safe and comfortable walking around at night and had the best views in town from our hotel room. It was great to hang out in the hammock and enjoy the sea breeze. Also, a great place to swim right across the street from the hotel. What more can you ask for? Our family is already planning on going back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks so much for sharing your visit to the Sea Front Inn with us. Sounds like you had a very enjoyable time and that certainly pleases us!!! It was great that you were able to meet up with Larry and Carol, as well as Aprill and Beto!!! The Snack Shack is a wonderful place to catch a meal and meet up with all kinds of interesting people. We love hearing from folks like you and knowing that we had a part in making your stay in Belize more memorable. Hurry back to see us. We are looking for bigger and better things in the near future and hope to see you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Our stay was great here the rooms were clean food was great and the atmosphere was pleasant. If you are looking for a great place to stay this is it. We also took a boat trip that can be arranged through the front desk Beto was a great boat guide and his wife April has a snack bar that is also one of the best. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrieiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sea Front Inn. We aim to please! Also glad that you got to go on the trip with Beto, he is usually available for trips to the Cayes, birding and kayaking about the local area. Aprill can make lunches for you to take on your day trips, as well as her usual menu at the Snack Shack!!!!! So hurry back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Sea Front Inn is a welcoming, refreshing venue in Punta Gorda. The sea breeze from the ocean revives guests and the hotel layout maximizes the ocean views. Hotel decor is unique with murals and sculptures and each room has a theme. The food is outstanding, and security is excellent. It is clean, and staff is very helpful. Wifi was very good! Easy walking distance to town and restaurants.

Room Tip: We have stayed in various rooms, and they have all been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the Sea Front Inn. We feel that we do have a wonderful location to share and want your stay to be the best that it can be. We value your opinion and look forward to having you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
4.3 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Charles Inn
St. Charles Inn
#6 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kiskadee Lodge
Kiskadee Lodge
#8 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
8.3 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Front Inn

Property: Sea Front Inn
Address: 4 Front St., Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, rest, relax and be refreshed as you enjoy the gorgeous sea view from our verandas, peaceful atmosphere, comfortable clean rooms, garden courtyard and amazing food at Boneville Cafe with fresh pastries, coffee's, burgers, market fresh menu and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Front Inn Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing