We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly clean Inn.”
Review of Sea Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Front Inn
Ranked #10 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Templeton, California
1 review
“Great friendly clean Inn.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This is a wonderful place to hang your hat in this out-of-the way rain foresty location. Larry Smith, ex-pat owner is a fund of stories and useful information, having lived in Belize for 40 years. He'll also steer you to the best restaurant in town, which happens to be owned by his daughter, April.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Sea Front Inn. Larry and Karol are very knowledgeable about Belize and Punta Gorda, having lived here for the past forty years. They have many stories to tell. The hotel is a part of their lives and they love sharing with their guests. Please visit us again soon and know that we will do our best to make you feel at home!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    17
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
8
20
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife & I have just returned from spending three weeks at the Sea Front Inn. That was our third visit over the last ten years, so we were delighted when we were given a free upgrade to the beautifully hand carved and sculpted Penthouse! Once again, the owners Larry & Karol Smith made us feel very welcome & comfortable in, what we can only describe as the best hotel in Punta Gorda. The view over the sea from our high vantage point was magical! An ever changing picture on a daily basis and the perfect place to enjoy a Belizean rum & coke! The journey from Scotland seems to get shorter every time & we will be back to enjoy our trips up jungle with Wildthing Wild Adventures. Should you find yourself in Punta Gorda, do not miss the chance of a lifetime! Find Roberto Echeverria at The Snack Shack on town. Incredibly knowledgeable guy who does more high quality tours, both land and sea, than you can shake a stick at! We wouldn't have travelled there three times from Scotland & done tours every second day ... if it wasn't one of the best holidays we've ever had! Enjoy folks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squatsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
To the Squatsman, Thanks for your great review of the Sea Front Inn. Sounds like you truly had a wonderful time in Belize and we thank you for spending it with us!!! Maybe we can use your review for an advertisement!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed the penthouse, it is a beautiful apartment! Larry and Karol used a great deal of imagination, local art, and wood to make it very lovely and unique. We are thrilled that you took advantage of the tours and much that Punta Gorda and Toledo has to offer. We look forward to having you return!!!!!! Thank you again for reviewing the Sea Front Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We have stayed at this delightful hotel once or twice a year for many years. They always have clean and comfortable rooms that are quiet and secure. The coffee is superb and the breakfast is delicious. The new verandas make for a great view of majestic sunrises on the ocean side---wonderful photo-op. Easy walk to town or nearby restaurants. Larry, Karol, and staff are attentive hosts and capable of planning your fishing or jungle excursions. Great value!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeG236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Your review is appreciated!!!! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you visit again. We are proud to be a one of a kind place and love to share our little bit of paradise with you!!!! Thank you for your time and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Larry and Carol provided excellent hospitality. We had a comfortable room and enjoyed several delicious meals. Sitting on the terrace just off the dining room and overlooking the water was a terrific way to relax. The location is coveniently close to the main part of town. We'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thanks for your review of The Sea Front Inn and your recommendations. It is a joy to serve people who really enjoy themselves. We love to have folks stay and go away with great memories and satisfaction. Come back and visit us again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sea Front! Delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and Larry and Karol made us feel like family! Great sunrise views and good times on the new veranda overlooking the ocean. We will be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to mention if you have trouble with stairs. There are rooms available on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concho222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Sea Front Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!!!!! The seemingly continuous construction can be a problem for some but it is a sign of continued improvements. The new verandas are going to be a great asset and we are so glad that you got to enjoy it!!! Thanks for sharing and HURRY back!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a great place to park oneself! The feeling of the rooms are quiet luxury with an air of cozy. We loved it. The bed was super comfy and the continental breakfast is a bonus. Last night we lay out on the dock right across the street to listen to the waves and watch the stars. It was so private it was we were the only people that existed for that moment in time. An experience we won't soon forget. The staff and owners are gracious and professional. Definitely a place I would come back to. Hats off!

Room Tip: Manatee if you want a single, Angel Fish if you want more room. Both have private balconies, Angel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanks for a wonderful review...of course, this is what we love to hear. Everybody's taste is different but we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our main concern is our clients comfort, safety and enjoyment! We certainly do love our little spot in paradise and love to share it. Hurry back to see us, we strive to be in a constant state of improvement. Thanks for taking the time to review the Sea Front Inn!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed in the Sea Front Inn in November 2012 for 4 nights. Punta Gorda is not at its best in November (cool and gloomy skies) and during these 3 days we were nearly alone in the hotel. There was some major construction going on during our stay. We were not offered a different room in the 2nd building to avoid the majority of this. The whole front courtyard of the hotel had been torn apart and there were workers and pickups and construction materials around and it was even hard to walk into the hotel because of the scaffolding etc. I think during the regular season when there is no construction it would be a lovely place to stay. There was a breakfast every morning in their (empty) restaurant, coffee and some kind of bakery item and fruit. Nothing very impressive. At night there were weird sounds in the hotel and it felt kind of like security wasn't the best, although there was a guy who sat as a watchman for much of the night. Our room was nice (Manatee room), mostly clean and a good size, with a balcony and a view of the Bay of Honduras, which was beautiful and the ocean is right across the street. I say mostly clean because it seemed like some work had been done recently in the rooms and there was plaster and dust.

The rooms vary a lot in size so look at the rooms before you commit to one. We would probably stay there again but it was just not a great time to be at that particular hotel due to the mess of construction. I'm surprised they were even open. Also, the people at the front desk changed every day and none of them seemed to know anything about where to go to eat, catch a ferry or rent bikes. We had to ask other people after getting the wrong info from the front desk people every single day.

The location of the hotel is great. You are within about 7 blocks of the ferry, 3 blocks from a coffee shop, bus stop, and stores, and within 6 blocks of restaurants. There is no dinner or lunch service at this hotel, at least not while we were there, despite the restaurant on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Get one of the bigger rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worflar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatJanScott, Public Relations Manager at Sea Front Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
We are happy that you chose the Sea Front Inn as your place to stay in Punta Gorda!! Sorry that you didn't have better weather during your stay!!! We are also sorry that the renovations caused you discomfort and loneliness, but we are excited that things are improving for future visits. I feel sure that some of the dust and plaster was caused by construction. Did you mention it to the folks at the front desk? The second building that you mentioned is apartments and that is why it was not offered as "better" room. Safety for our guest is a priority and you can rest assured that you were safe and the night watchman was doing his job!!!! The restaurant is closed at the present time except for the continental breakfast. Hopefully, in the near future, this will change and other meals will be offered. Our front desk is usually very helpful with local information and everyone is friendly. Be sure that we will use your review as a reference to improvements. We hope that you will return to Punta Gorda again in the near future and will give us an opportunity to better serve you!!! Thanks for reviewing the Sea Front Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
4.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
262 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
36 reviews
6.7 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hickatee Cottages
Hickatee Cottages
#1 of 18 in Punta Gorda
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Front Inn

Property: Sea Front Inn
Address: 4 Front St., Punta Gorda, Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come, rest, relax and be refreshed as you enjoy the gorgeous sea view from our verandas, peaceful atmosphere, comfortable clean rooms, garden courtyard and amazing food at Boneville Cafe with fresh pastries, coffee's, burgers, market fresh menu and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sea Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Front Inn Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing