We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Ranked #5 of 17 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hard to beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Unable to call ahead, we rolled in at the Tranquility Lodge around 5 in the afternoon during low season but owners Sheila and Rusty received us warmly and offered us their best room at a reduced, low-season rate. We were the only guests and were treated like royalty. Super breakfasts included in the rate and a fridge stocked with cool drinks that runs on the honour system was a nice addition since you're so far away from civilization. Choice of air con or fan only rooms and the only complaint I have is the teeny tiny shower with a crappy shower head and little pressure. But that's easily overlooked and certainly overshadowed by everything else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter42France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

If you want a "real" Belize experience, begin your adventure at Tranquility Lodge in the Toledo District in southern Belize near Punta Gorda. Sheila and Rusty Nale are the BEST when it comes to make you comfortable, helping you get around, find guides (ask for Celiano Pop -- the best guide EVER!), and places to eat. We spent five days here and the thatched casitas were my favorite experience. Falling asleep and waking to the sounds of the jungle....Tranquillo! The grounds are awe inspiring, the trails an adventure and the food amazing...Can't wait to go back~!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurstonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We had a wonderful five night visit at Tranquility Lodge. We spent a few nights in a lodge room to acclimate with some AC then moved out to a thatched casita. Both rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. It was relaxing to fall asleep to the sounds of the jungle and wake up to the chirping of birds. Rusty and Sheila are very welcoming and take great care of their guests. We had delicious breakfasts every morning with great company. They provided a lot of information about the local area and the country of Belize. Sheila set us up with a local Mayan guide to explore the local villages. Be sure to ask Rusty to tell you his chicken joke!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenna_bella_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We arrived at Tranquility Lodge late and weary from our travels. Our hearts lifted as Rusty and Sheila met us at our cars, Sheila with her apron on, telling us that dinner was ready! And what a dinner it was! With our bellies full, we retired to the very well-appointed and clean rooms. The unusual jungle sounds lulled us to sleep. Each morning we were greeted with hot coffee and a sumptuous breakfast. Every meal prepared by Sheila, Rusty and their staff was as good, if not better, than offered at any 5-Star hotel in the States. The grounds are lush and full of exotic foliage. What a treat it was to stay at this beautiful lodge and to meet Sheila and Rusty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamiswanson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had a long travel day and arrived late. Sheila and Rusty were outside waiting for us when we arrived. Sheila had on her apron and dinner was waiting. How wonderful. We felt like family and the food was absolutely terrific. Sheila and Rusty Nale are terrific hosts. Sheila is a fabulous cook and Rusty is social and friendly and made us feel like we were at home. Even his jokes are funny! The rooms are clean, well-decorated and welcoming. The upstairs dining area is screened in with a view of the jungle. We loved the Tranquility Lodge and the surrounding jungle - complete with a swimming hole! We recommend the Tranquility Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We had a wonderful time at Tranquility Lodge - It has beautiful surroundings and a rich bird life. If you love birds you have a wonderful chance to see some new ones. Just sitting and watching gives you the possibility to see some beautiful hummingbirds, parakites and woodpeckers. Besides that it has a great location and some nice hosts. So if you want to relax and enjoy the nature this is definitely the place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stumbled upon Tranquility Lodge late in the evening, and were very pleasantly surprised. A large room, very nicely decorated, in a small lodge in the jungle near Punta Gorda. We were the only guests and the hosts Sheila and Rusty made us feel at home. The lodge is set in a lovely garden with many species of orchids.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murfettj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
22.9 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
24.9 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.8 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 17 in Punta Gorda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beya Suites
Beya Suites
#10 of 17 in Punta Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas

Property: Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Address: Jacintoville, Punta Gorda 00000, Belize (Formerly Tranquility Lodge)
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful, secluded setting on 20 acres of lush tropical gardens and jungle, Chaab'il B'e Lodge and Casitas is the best choice for nature loving travelers to Southern Belize. Use the lodge as your base for exploring the cultural, archaeological, and eco-adventure activities of Toledo District. Afterwards, enjoy great food, hospitality and pleasingly rustic yet oh so comfortable accommodations. Take the trail less traveled... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaab'Il B'e Lodge & Casitas Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing