We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. You have to like off the beaten track, down a very bumpy road kind of places, which we do. The cottages are very comfortable, the owners friendly and helpful, and there are many interesting and unusual things to do there, like visiting a chocolate farm, swimming in a cave. There's no beach on the mainland; you have to go out to the islands, but the snorkeling there is great.

Room Tip: come prepared for bumpy roads. Part of the charm for some...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeantToBe521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Hickatee Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

I just got back home from a "study abroad" school trip with Dr. Sylvia Vitazkova (the woman who collaborates with them on studying their black howler monkeys). Dr. V, myself, and 9 other students invaded Hickatee for a week.

Ian and Kate were incredibly flexible, helping us rearrange some plans when our flight from Miami to Belize was canceled so that we wouldn't miss on any educational experiences.
Not only did Ian and Kate arrange many local tours for us, but Ian was basically a second instructor. He took us out in the evenings to look for amphibians or tarantulas (their cats following us - they're great guard cats in the jungle), showed us how to tell a species of bat from their "signature" on an ultrasound recording, and provided hands-on learning experience in the form of a citizen science projects studying orchid bees. His patience is extremely evident, since he was able to tolerate my incessant questions and sarcasm and all-around wackiness all week!

They somehow never ran out of food for such a big group - and they made us vegetarian food (at our request) every night without making the same thing twice! Kate is an amazing cook, and made us things like quiche, lasagna, cohune cabbage, homemade veggie burgers, and even made a birthday cake for one of my classmates who turned 21 while on the trip. Although Kate stayed behind the scenes much of the time, I really enjoyed the few moments I was able to speak with her in Charlie's Bar. She is fantastic!

I could go on and on for hours about how much I loved staying at Hickatee. I don't think I could have possibly learned more considering I was only there for a week - which is why I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We spend a few days at Hickatee in April. Arrived after dark and was not impressed with the lack of signage to find the place. Beautiful grounds (mild walking trails) with gardens including tagged plants. Lovely cottages and great breakfasts. The 'hiking' trails were very short and sweett. Not going to far other than round n round. Great trails for seniors or real city slickers wanting to get the Jungle feeling without going to far.
Watch Faulty Towers? Basil must be Ian twin. Ian, a very knowledable chap really got under my skin. HIS resort has quite a few RULES and Although i enjoyed Faulty Towers on TV, Basil at breakfast, was a little too much for us. So we were happy to sleep at the cottages then leave quick after breakfast to avoid listening to ian stories. Never met the lady, but the breakfast was great. anyhow. A lovely place, but the owner was not a personality match for me so prefer to not return.<

Room Tip: lovely cottages, check the ceiling fan for squeaks before movin in. :-)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank deeb e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We recently had the great fortune of staying at Hickatee Cottages in Punta Gorda, Belize. We first met Ian,who knows so much about the great nature surrounding the cottages and is so willing to share that knowledge with anyone interested. He also makes a great pot of coffee every morning, delivered steaming hot to your front door. We finally had the pleasure of meeting Kate on our second day there, as she is so busy cooking and baking our fresh continental breakfast and daily dinners (with prior reservations). We never had the pleasure of enjoying one of her dinners but they do vary by what is locally available which is always a surprise. I think the great success of Hickatee Cottages belongs to the wonderful personalities of Kate and Ian. By the end of our visit we felt we had just left great friends.The cottages are understated and beautifully decorated with hardwood floors.They also have the very best shower in Belize.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

It was close to perfection and the whole family (I was with my wife and my daughters, aged 16 and 20) loved it. The food, the deep knowledge of nature by the hosts, the friendliness, the efficiency of planning trips. Not cheap, but excellent value for money overall, if you can seize the opportunities to learn and to relax and to support a more sustainable form of tourism.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucCamille57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I don't know what I can add to all these wonderful reviews about Hickatee Cottages except that my husband and I stayed 2 nights in the detached cottage last week and we loved it so much that we never left the grounds except to go out to dinner on the one night that Kate did not cook. The cottage was beautiful , dark wood, hot water, spacious room, tasteful linens, very clean , lots of luxury for us since we had stayed the night before in a small Mayan village with no electricity.Ian was the perfect host, always present , always polite and smiling, always helpful but very discreet. We had every intention to go and explore Punta Gorda but felt so relaxed at Hickatee that we shared our time between the hammock on the verandah and the plunge pool, enjoying the lovely landscape and wildlife surrounding us.Ian always had coffee ready at 7am, and kate had fresh baked bread at 730am; the coffee is local, made in a French press and you can have as much as you want, very much appreciated.We found tranquillity at Hickatee Cottages, and the $95.00 a night which was a splurge for us was money very well spent, loved it! Thank you Ian and Kate

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evelyne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

It's too bad Tripadvisor only allows five stars. Our overall stay and the service we received at Hickatee was priceless.

1) The service: The owners, Ian and Kate, are two of the most fun and personable people I've ever known. They truly love to entertain and it shows in everything they do - they make you feel like a guest, not a tourist. They anticipated every need before we did. We never had to want for anything. They arranged personalized tours for us, served us coffee every morning on our porch, provided trips into town, and anything else we needed - all for no extra fees. We left feeling that they were friends. Not to mention, Ian makes the best rum punch I've ever had and Kate is an excellent chef (see "food" below)!

They deeply and honestly love and care about the jungle, the environment and the community they live in. They have an excellent excitement about, understanding of, and desire to protect native plant and animal species and actively work with scientists to understand and protect native species.

2) The room and grounds: We stayed in the honeymoon suite. Large, beautiful bathroom with soft fluffy towels, nice atmosphere, everything was very clean, the screens kept all insects out (we did have one small gecko that lived with us and kept to himself - it IS the jungle after all), beautiful sustainably-harvested wood floors in all rooms, nice large and private front porch with hammock, chairs and table, and a nice private garden in back, movies to watch, and drinking water filled every day.

There are several miles of jungle trails around the area, well-maintained without losing the wild of the jungle. There have been jaguar sightings, howler monkey troops living in the area, many bat, bird, and insect species, blue crabs, frogs, lizards, snakes...etc, etc...all the beautiful diversity that one travels to the rainforest to see. Ian and Kate have a small library for guests to help you identify and read about the plants and animals in the area. There are also bikes at your disposal (free) to ride into Punta Gorda.

Keep in mind that this IS rainforest and you are here for this reason (even though it is worth the trip just for dinner!). This means there ARE insects and rain (depending on the season), and jungle sounds may keep you awake at night. Because Hickatee relies on solar and limited generator power, occasionally the lights or hot water may shut off for a few minutes. Still, this is THE highest-class jungle experience I've ever had, and for all that you get out of it, worth every cent and more.

3) Food and drinks: in summary, who knew one could find such gastronomical delight - and in the middle of the Belizean rainforest of all places??

First, they offer to deliver coffee or tea every morning to your porch. Then, you have free continental breakfast every morning including local coffee (or tea), fresh juice, butter and jam and fresh-baked bread and muffins - and one day we even had crepes (call them English pancakes if you like). They also offer other breakfasts for purchase. There is a staff break between noon and 5:30.

In the evening, one can drink Ian's not-for-the-weak rum punch (fresh juices of course, and three kinds of rum). Later, dinner consists of three courses: some combination of soup/salad/bread, then the main course: an artist's presentation of the freshest local and seasonal ingredients (two choices for mains, and they can accommodate any dietary restrictions with some notice), followed by coffee/tea, local dark chocolate, and if you're lucky - Ian will break out the locally-made coffee liqueur, a combination to die for.

I think that pretty much covers it...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ms_Anthrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
91 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hickatee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing