We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for setting the bar so high, Hickatee!”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband and I had been considering a trip to Belize for a long time before we finally made it. As we normally do for big trips, we had done exhaustive research on where to go, how to get there, etc. Hickatee was a place that had jumped out immediately as a unique and special place, and a place that we just kept returning to when trying to decide where to stay. We chose it not only because of the number of good reviews, but because of the locale (close to some interesting attractions-but more on that later), and the incredible communication and help in planning that the owners Kate and Ian provided to us.
They were very prompt in answering all questions directly and they even provided suggestions for activities (and made arrangements for us once we arrived) through learning what we were interested in doing. In travelling to a foreign country it is a luxury to have the type of help and direction that Hickatee provided.
So about the accommodations. Hickatee is an eco-conscience lodge meaning that the owners operate the lodge using sustainable energy (solar) and other environmentally friendly practices. Therefore, if you are habituated to having all the lights on while drying your hair with the TV blaring in the next room, this may not be the place for you… If you are looking for an off-grid experience (without sacrificing some creature comforts-hot showers, electricity, Wi-Fi, etc.), personal attention to your needs, hiking trails through the jungle outside of your door, an amazing wildlife experience, culture, great company, incredibly prepared food and drinks (we enjoyed the little black dinner menus – just one more small touch that shows their dedication to detail), rooms that are beautifully decorated and very comfortable, and a great launching pad to the best of Southern Belize then look no further than Hickatee.
We spent some of our time lounging in the hammock on the porch while reading/listening to howler monkeys and birds; and other time cave exploring, hiking the cacao trail and having lunch with the locals in the jungle; as well as other activities. All of our activities were arranged by Hickatee. We just told them what we wanted to do and when we wanted to do it and they made it happen. If you’re not 100% sure what there is to do or how to do it, the owner’s local knowledge of the area (and the country) was indispensable including their knowledge on activities that may or may not be possible based upon current conditions (rain, etc.). Also, if you are an entomologist or are just interested in insects and other aspects of nature, Ion is an excellent resource on all things that crawl/fly/scurry around Hickatee. They also have a good stock of reference material on mammals, butterflies, insects, fish, culture, and other pertinent information as well as other good reading material. We were able to observe several species of reptiles, insects, giant blue land crabs, birds and other wildlife.
As previously mentioned the rooms are well equipped, well decorated, elevated, and very comfortable. However, the grounds of Hickatee are INCREDIBLE. You are surrounded by lush jungle foliage, bridges over creeks and other water features, and meticulously kept paths throughout the property (there is even a pool). The grounds truly provide an environment where you can truly relax, enjoy yourself and unwind.
It is also worth mentioning that we tend to seek accommodations where we have a good deal of privacy. Hickatee is not a large hotel or lodge and it provides an environment where you can have some good interaction, but it is also a place where you can do your own thing at your own pace without any questions and minimal interaction with anyone. If you feel like socializing, there is a main structure which serves as a gathering place for meals, aforementioned reading, listening to music or enjoying rum punch which was served at one point by the very entertaining and delightful Fubu.
If it sounds like a gushing review, it is. We could not have had a better time at Hickatee and plan to return soon. We were spent some time travelling to other parts of the country but every other place was held to the highest standard due to our very special time in PG at Hickatee. Thank you, kind hosts, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnowyNMountainPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Hickatee Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for seclusion, natural environment plus great service, Hickatee Cottages is the place to stay in Punta Gorda. Located on the outskirts of town, the property consists of several well appointed and comfortable cabins equipped with ceiling fans. Guests can relax on the veranda, take a dip in the spash pool, or hike along the well marked trails through the forest that abuts the property. Numerous birds, insects and other wildlife, including a resident troupe of howler monkeys can be seen regularly.

In addition to being a superb host, Ian loves to share his vast knowledge about the local flora and fauna. He also is a great resource for arranging tours and other activities in the area.


  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you want a secluded jungle experience (with few or no bugs), or just a peaceful get-a-way in Nature, I highly recommend Hickatee. It's several modern cabins tucked away just a few minutes from PG tucked in the middle of the jungle right off the main road. So during the day and at night you are serenaded with the sounds of frogs, insects and who knows what else. Butterflies and hummingbirds frequent the many fliowering plants on the grounds. They even have their own jungle trail you can walk to get a real feel for the rainforest (saw a family of Kotamundi's while walking it) Ian is very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and was also very helpful in arranging tours. Even on very hot days I was able to stay cool with the cottage ceiling fans or just hanging out by the splash pool. It's probably 10 degrees cool under the canopy of shade trees he has. It's no problem getting a taxi to PG so everything is readily accessible. The morning bread and coffee is the best I've had anywhere and their dinners are truly gourmet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rik I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Kate and Ian were wonderful hosts, kind attentive and thoughtful. Kate's bread is to die for and the cottages were a joy to be in. The setting is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Great great stay, thank you so much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredCruiser-edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I knew when we first started the email conversation that I was going to really like the place. The cottages each have the jungle at their back door and are just far enough apart to feel like you're all alone. Nicely appointed, clean and cheerful, our cottage was a great home base for a few days. We arrived at the beginning of the Toledo District Chocolate and Wine Festival so the Punta Gorda area was busier than it might be at other times, but with Ian and Kate's guidance everything was close to perfect. And to top it off, they came to my rescue after leaving the most important document you travel with in the cottage. Bless you, Ian.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hickatee cottages is the perfect little getaway place! the cottages are cute and clean, Ian and Kate are the perfect hosts. I couldn't have been happier with my stay there. I stayed in the Willby cottage and it was very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and well kept with lots of natural flora that attracts lovely butterflies and birds. I heard howler monkeys too! Awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catdance62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Having read the other reviews, it is difficult to work out what original insights I could offer about Hickatee -- it just invites superlatives. Ian and Kate are the most welcoming of hosts - nothing is too much trouble, in fact they go well beyond this to ensure that your needs are actually anticipated. They just looked after us so well, helping us to experience the most we could in PG and delivering outstanding hospitality. We loved our cottages -- we stayed twice, either side of a dive week, so we had the opportunity to experience two beautifully prepared and above all comfortable cottages set in atmospherically landscaped grounds. The unearthly sounds of the local howler monkeys just added to the atmosphere! The Hickatee experience is personal without being intrusive -- we loved talking to Kate and Ian about life in PG, benefiting from their wealth of social, cultural, botanical and zoological knowledge, all delivered with a generous slice of British humour. Kate's cooking should not be missed - we had a delicious meal on the verandah, looking out over a subtly lit garden while sipping cacao liqueur. Breakfast is a similar treat! We miss them already and felt exceptionally lucky to be there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hulamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
174 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
91 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hickatee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing