We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit!”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

For a number of years we have been visiting the Toledo District as part of our annual vacation in Belize. We always look forward to staying at Hickatee Cottages. We can’t wait to get there and when we have to leave we are saddened. Is it because the hosts Kate and Ian treat you as family or is because of the peaceful tranquil setting or is because you never know what plants and animals you might see or hear (when the howlers cross the property) or is it because Kate’s meals are amongst the best you’ll have when in Belize or is it because Kate and Ian will make sure that you have all of your needs met, both at the cottages or planning tours.... I guess you can find out when you visit. I know it is a highlight each time we visit Belize.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IlovebelizeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at Hickatee Cottages. I cannot say enough about the genuine hospitality from their most gracious owners, Ian and Kate Morton. Without a doubt, our stay was perfect. From reception to checkout, everything was seamless. The travel tips and connections that Ian and Kate made for us were outstanding. They picked us up after a long bus ride, helped us get settled into one of the most adorable jungle cottages on their property and then made us feel so comfortable that it was hard to want and go out to see the sites. Kate can cook and bake and from breakfast to dinner, we were pleasantly surprised by the generous and tasty portions. Ian plays the waiter and bartender and even though he likes to take credit for the awesome food, we know it is all Kate's doing. The rooms are tasteful, comfortable and airy. Crisp linens, succulent towels if you can call towels succulent and coffee and tea delivered to your veranda in the morning. What more can you ask for? Wednesday nights, they have traditional Garifuna drumming lessons with Ronald Ray McDonald, probably the best drummer in Belize and even though, I was not very good at it, the show that Ray put on was fabulous. Ian is also pretty good at the drumming as well and you can tell that Ian has the utmost respect for the Garifuna traditions and can give you all the information that you will need to understand this special culture. I would highly recommend the Mayan Living Experience and a visit to the Maya Bag company. If chocolate is your thing....well....there is a lot of it and learning how it is made from cacao seeds to the finished product is all within the PG's town limits. Hickatee is only a mile from town and in a jungle setting, so you can have the best of both worlds. This place is all about sustainability and culture. Even though we ran at a jaguar pace to see and do almost everything PG had to offer, we still wanted more and so another trip is a must do. And where will we be staying....of course....at our home away from home....Hickatee Cottages.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacquelinefldmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels and none of then were better then Hickatee Cottages. Kate and Ian are GREAT. Coffee was served at 7am on the porch of the cottage (excellent coffee), every morning, even during a rain storm. Fresh bread, rolls, and jam every morning. They serve dinner at night if you let them know in advance. Everything fresh from the local markets. You can hear the Howler monkeys during the day. Watch hummingbirds and other birds. Hike in the jungle. You want a thrill, be in the jungle in the middle of the night in a thunder storm. Oh, listen, you might hear something grunting in the middle of the night, in the jungle, behind your cottage?????

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely delightful. A jungle experience in 5 star surroundings. The proprietor is extremely helpful and knowledgable. The grounds are spectacular and the accommodations first rate. Don't miss dining there as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlaWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Believe me, if I could give them 6 out of 5 I would! This place is more than excellent. By far the best place we stayed during our two week trip through Belize, Guatemala, and Honduras. Kate and Ian are fantastic hosts. Their place is spotless. We stayed in the Den for 3 nights and we loved it. We called Ian (one of the owners along with Kate) the day before we arrived and he told us that we were going to be the only guests. August is the low season, make sure you book ahead of time if you go during the high season. Upon our arrival in PG, we went to the Tourist Info Center, and the very helpful lady working there called Ian to let him know we had arrived. He picked us up and took us to Hickatee (their place is about 2 miles away from PG). Both Ian and Kate have a lot of information about all kind of things you can do around Toledo district. It is like having a tourist information representative right in the cottages! They called different places for us, and helped us with the local bus schedules. When we told them that we were going to Livingston after PG, Ian called the boat company to book our seats, all these free of charge. He even drove us to the pier (again, no charge) after we checked out. They also have free bikes for guests, we used them every day to go to PG. Also, within their property their is 2km loop trail through the jungle! Lastly, breakfast, included in the price, is very good. I've had the fortune to travel to over 40 countries so far, and I don't think I've ever had a better accommodation experience than at Hickatee.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeandroG_526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at Hickatee Cottages for a weekend between my dive weeks with ReefCI. After the activity of my first week in Belize staying at Hickatee was just what I needed to relax. The accomodation was spacious and of an extremely high standard. Breakfast options were great and the three course meal I had on the Sunday evening (cooked by Kate, one of the owners) was delicious.
Both Ian and Kate were perfect hosts, really fascinating people to talk to and great to see how they have adopted Belize as their home, and just how much they contribute back to it.
I cycled into Punta Gorda twice (with bikes provided by Hickatee) during the weekend which was a very pleasant way to see the sights. It would not be possible to do this in the evening though as it does get dark early - however taxis (use Miss Flo) are relatively cheap, and if you know where to go or who to call are easy to get hold of. It costs BZ$20 to get from Hickatee to Punta Gorda, which is approximately £7.

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to be of the same very high standard. The larger rooms do have hammocks on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulW00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hickatee is an amazing place to stay. The owners were incredibly helpful and very friendly which made our stay so enjoyable. The cabins were clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the setting was beautiful. Overall we would really recommend Hickatee to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, and very enjoyable place to stay in a very interesting part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Copal Tree Lodge, a Muy'Ono Resort
21.4 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 8 in Livingston
367 reviews
18.8 mi away
Dos Arboles
Dos Arboles
#7 of 8 in Livingston
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 8 in Livingston
101 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
281 reviews
2 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#11 of 18 in Punta Gorda
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range: £73 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hickatee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing