We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise”
Review of Hickatee Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hickatee Cottages
Ranked #1 of 18 Punta Gorda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caye Corker, Belize, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Back again after a year, this time dragging along my husband, because 'you just HAVE to experience this place!'. Yep. He agreed. Magical. The trails make you feel like a big tough jungle conqueror - without actually getting you lost, scratched or bitten! The naturally gardenia-scented plunge pool is more relaxing than a swedish massage, the cottage was roomy and very well appointed, and the meticuloulsy maintained grounds are like a botanical garden. And the food! Delicious, interesting, healthy and there was LOTS of it! Cocoa liqueur, premium beer, fruity rum punch helped top off a perfect evening. If you could bottle up the peaceful essence of Hicaktee Cottages, Zoloft and Xanax would be out of business!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
204
40
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hickatee is slightly distant from the town but there is so much to do there that we would have been more than happy to stay there for several days. It is an absolutely beautiful setting in the jungle, with immaculate wooden chalets set apart from each other; with a little plunge pool in the centre. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the food is fantastic.

What really set Hickatee apart for me though, was the fact that Kate's information on the internet and in the local paper IS the 'travel guide of the South'. It was on Hickatee's website that we read the bus times between Belize City and Punta Gorda and the flight schedules. She is also responsible for much (or all?) of the local paper that prints the bus timetables for the local buses into the Maya villages and the ferry timetable for boats to Guatemala. We really couldn't have made our trip to the South without her. Thank you Kate and Ian for the fantastic hospitality. We hope to see you again one day. Apologies for the year late review!

Room Tip: If you are staying at Hickatee, then you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjontookbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Ian and Kate have created a very beautiful, clean, comfortable, interesting and unique place. We loved our stay. The room was lovely, clean, nicely appointed, spacious, cool, bug free (which is not at all easy in this location). Ian is very enthusiastic and engaging. He is interested in everything and loves to share his fascination with the guests, be it a new species of butterfly that he has found or his joy in playing the local Garifuna group. The hotel is a ways from town so you need a taxi to get anywhere. Ian is very helpful in making arrangements. We loved go to the butterfly farm which Ian organized. I wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We loved our stay at Hickatee in 2012 so there were no surprises this time - wonderful welcome, terrific customer service and attention to detail, great jungly surroundings (walking stick bugs! howler monkeys!) and an unexpected upgrade from the charming little Den to the opulent Honeymoon Suite.

We stayed 4 nights so had 3 full days: 1) a local bus trip to the Lubaantún Maya site followed by a visit to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm, 2) a day devoted to hiking the trail system from our cottage and a bike trip into Punta Gorda Town to explore the market and the coastline, and 3) a tour of Blue Creek and a swim into the Ho'keb Ha cave with José who works with/for Bruno Kuppinger. All terrific! Since our stay this time didn't include a Wednesday, we didn't get in on Garifuna drumming lessons with Ray McDonald but caught up with him at Da Lazy Fish in town on Friday night, performing with his dad and 2 aunties.

There are links to our photo sets and blog posts here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/staceyholeman/collections/72157643680687265/

If we felt that Kate and Ian treated us like friends last time, they proved it this time around. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent 3 nights at Hickatee in March. Comfortable accommodation, well maintained with thoughtful touches. Ian, Kate and the staff looked after me so well during my stay - great advice on the area, on day trips and the flora and fauna. Excellent dinner too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We just returned from a family trip to Belize. Took our 10 year old and 12 year old. Spent 5 days in Punta Gorda and stayed at Hickatee the whole time. Ian and his staff were wonderful hosts. Clean and comfortable accommodations. The little dipping pool was great for an afternoon attitude adjustment on a very hot day. Ian provided great advice and assistance with arrangements for our daily excursions. They had lots of good info and relationships with many different tour guides. Referred us to a fabulous local place for breakfast at the Saturday market. Never would have found it otherwise. Loved the early morning coffee/tea delivery and the fresh bread. Coffee was excellent! Also really liked the breakfast options. Heard Howler monkeys almost every day. Magical. Also impressed with the hand built trail system on the property. If there weren't so many cool places to visit in the world, we would definitely go back. Punta Gorda is a super cool, laid- back town with lovely people and great food. My only suggestion to Hickatee would be to get more bikes for riding to town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Punta Gorda was a huge disappointment to me. Hickatee Cottages took some of the sting out of the disappointment but still, driving to the site from town past the squalor, dead dogs, burning garbage along the road was tough to take. Not their fault of course but I'm not sure how to see past the grime and grinding poverty of a place like PG. We had an excellent cottage (Wilby) which was finely crafted, large and beautiful. Everything worked (power, water etc.) which for an ecolodge is darn good. Food at the lodge was superb and service, like coffee to the cabin at eight was fabulous. Hosts were totally charming and a pleasure to chat with. Grounds were great and guests are guaranteed to hear Howler Monkeys at night. Felt a little uncomfortable with the Wednesday night Garifuna drumming. I love the drumming, but somehow it felt mandatory (with a tip for something I didn't ask for) to attend and we simply couldn't so I feel I let them down. We were the only guests in the place and I think they came out all the way down the rough road to entertain us. We had to go into town to eat (no dinner on Wednesdays) and the drumming was between six and seven. Anyone would be out of their minds to go into PG in the dark so we ate just before six and couldn't be there before seven. As a result we left the next day (our scheduled departure date) feeling a little uneasy about the whole thing. (Not to forget my wife was sick from something she encountered eating in town.)

Room Tip: We had the Wilby Cabin. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Gorda
5.2 mi away
Belcampo Lodge
Belcampo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Punta Gorda
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral House
Coral House
#3 of 18 in Punta Gorda
172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
Chaab'il B'e Lodge & Casitas
#5 of 18 in Punta Gorda
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Cotton Tree Lodge
Cotton Tree Lodge
#4 of 18 in Punta Gorda
271 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Front Inn
Sea Front Inn
#9 of 18 in Punta Gorda
71 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Lodge At Big Falls
The Lodge At Big Falls
#1 of 1 in Big Falls
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hickatee Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hickatee Cottages

Property: Hickatee Cottages
Address: Mile 1.5, Ex-Servicemen Road | (Aka Boom Creek Road), Punta Gorda ..., Belize
Region: Belize > Toledo District > Punta Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top-rated jungle B&B, just one mile from PG Town in southern Belize, Hickatee offers Caribbean-style accommodation, bar-restaurant, plunge pool, morning coffee delivered to your verandah, free bikes, over a mile of nature trails on site, and free visits to Fallen Stones Butterfly Farm. Family-run, we offer friendly service, a comfortable relaxed atmosphere, excellent value for money, and a great base from which to explore the offshore southern cayes and Toledo’s many inland attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hickatee Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hickatee Cottages Hotel Punta Gorda
Hickatee Cottages Belize/Punta Gorda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing